We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real masterclass in hospitality”

Franklin View Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Franklin View Guest House
Ranked #56 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed here before and once again found the warmth of welcome and quality of the accommodation outstanding. Forget your boutique hotels, Jennifer sets the benchmark for proper good old fashioned bed and breakfast excellence. Everything is top notch, from the well decorated large room, the comfortable bed, thoughtful accessories and lovely bathroom; The hospitality tray is generous and there is real attention to detail - down to the powerful hairdryer and super-generous hospitality tray. The provision of glasses, a corkscrew and a fridge on the landing for guests use is typical of the care and cosseting shown to guests. Her breakfasts are simply superb, generous, beautifully cooked and using quality local ingredients. Jennifer we salute you as a shining beacon of excellence and a truly lovely hostess.

Room Tip: We like Nevis - its large, well laid out and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hypercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Jennifer is a lovely landlady, serves super breakfasts, Our room was really comfortable, scrupulously clean, very well decorated, best we have had, and thanks to her for taking such an interest in our chorus convention which is not noted as a trip below.

Room Tip: Very quiet location. Not far from Harrogate centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have stayed at Franklin View a number of times . It is a B & B we look forward to coming back to. The rooms are spacious and fresh and the breakfasts are delicious. Jennifer is the perfect hostess. It's a pleasant walk into town for dinner.

Sharon and Joe

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Thanks to Jennifer our marvellous hostess who made our two night stay a real pleasure. The room was immaculate. The breakfast was delicious and very filling. The next time we are in Harrogate this will be the only place we will be staying at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just had our first experience of staying in Harrogate. My husband and I stayed at Franklin Guest House.

We were warmly met by Jennifer the proprietor, and we immediately felt relaxed and comfortable. The bedroom was large and airy and the en-suite was a very good size. The shower was also larger than normal.

The accommodation was SPOTLESS, and needless to say the breakfast was plentiful and absolutely delicious.

Thank you soooooo much Jennifer for helping to make our stay in Harrogate so enjoyable. We will most certainly visit you again, hopefully for longer next time.

I hope your Mum keeps well. Take care.

Lesley Ewing. Xx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LESLEY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Beautiful home. High quality furnishings and spotlessly clean. Attention to detail. We were made to feel at home straight away. Really comfortable with everything you could want. Incredibly welcoming hostess. Fantastic food. Peaceful and quiet location. Easy stroll to town centre - Betty's only 20 minutes relaxed walk away. What more can you ask for? We will be going again. Jennifer has nailed it. First class.

Room Tip: Only saw our room but it was spot on and expect all were the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveK19601231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The flawless presentation of this late Victorian house in a quiet residential street,also a short distance from the city centre, proved to be ideal for our brief stay.
This was equalled by the friendly and hospitable hostess, accommodating in every respect.
It naturally followed that the Breakfast offerings were first class in variety and quality.
This B&B now ranks in our World Top Class of three,which includes,Edinburgh and Christchurch(NZ). This from the choice of many in the home countries, W.Europe,Canada,USA and Australia.
The two night stopover enabled us to enjoy a full visit to the RHS gardens at Harlow Carr, a short distance away.
Ivan L

Room Tip: Obvious for older visitors,Rooms on the First Floor have fewer stairs to climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
293 reviews
5 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin View Guest House

Address: 19 Grove Road, Harrogate HG1 5EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Franklin View Guest House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing