We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Oliva

La Oliva
Ranked #47 of 433 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Oliva is North-Yorkshire local authentic Spanish tapas bar and restaurant. When dining out in Harrogate whether for lunchtime food, evening meals or just a quick snack. Whether you need a birthday restaurant, couples restaurant or a family restaurant we provide the best traditional Spanish food in Harrogate. Close to all of our ingredients come directly from Spain. Don't miss out the opportunity to try out our authentic spanish food! La Oliva will be pleased to see you soon!!
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We visited the tapas bar last night. There was a fantastic atmosphere, buzzing and lively. The food is truly mouth watering. Cooked to perfection and very well presented. A superb find and well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Deanomalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    80
    31
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“beautiful food + outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We've just had a great Spanish meal at this great little find in central Harrogate. The waiter provided outstanding service - he was so friendly and extremely attentive throughout the evening. The tapas was just gorgeous - a mix of simple quality foods and inventive dishes - the black pudding with apple sauce was particularly memorable. Gluten free options on the majority of dishes makes such a pleasant change from the heavily restrictive choices normally on offer in many other restaurants. The wine was just beautiful - smooth and rich. We will definitely return again, thank you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bauhaus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashurst, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

After a tiring day watching the Tour De France, we came upon this restaurant by chance waiting for our return journey.
What a find it was!!
The Tapas menu was amazing such a variety of food to experience beautifully presented and really great staff who, although busy, couldn't do enough to make our meal a delight.
Will be visiting Harrogate again and will definitely be making an effort to visit this restaurant it is a must visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“T'riffic tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Really good tapas, delivered at just the right pace. Had their recommendation of chilled dry sherry with mine, which was excellent. Bar stools at chunky tables but comfortable enough and a real buzzy atmosphere. Seats outside too for pre-tapas drinks on sunny evenings. Don't leave without trying the manchego cheese, however full you are..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Magnifico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

One night in Harrogate, where to go? Celebrating a business deal, my husband was taking me to dinner and we were sent to La Oliva on the recommendation of a top Harrogate restaurant manager. Super from start to finish. The authentic Spanish staff are working hard to give you a memorable experience and offer friendly, professional service. But the food.......divine. Go, just go. Book it now.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jollykaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Oliva also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to La Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing