We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Sunday lunch!”
Review of Square and Compass

Square and Compass
Ranked #2 of 23 Nightlife in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in beautiful countryside just outside Harrogate, The Square & Compass is a welcoming and stylish pub that offers good food, excellent service and a great range of beers and wines. Private dining available for up to 32 people. Meetings and special occasions catered for.
Reviewed 25 August 2014

No stranger to decent sunday lunches...and this one was well above average! Excellent service from Tyra, superb food and a really relaxed atmosphere. Meat was very good quality and perfectly cooked, stunning yorkshire puddings and well cooked veg so very happy there. Very child friendly which was lovely and the toffee and cherry ice cream was a triumph! Only constructive comment would be the sticky toffee pudding was a bit short of the delicious toffee sauce, but then i'm sure if we'd haven thought to have asked for more it would have been forthcoming!!! Definitely one to return to! Thank you! :-)

Thank rachyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thanks for your lovely comments. And you are right - just ask for 'extra' and we will do our best to oblige.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 313 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Friendly greeting, excellent service throughout, comfortable seating in attractive surroundings and good food at sensible prices. Just wish the menu mains weren't so "masculine" - sausage and mash, fish and chips etc.

Thank Springs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thanks for posting your positive review. What favourite dish would you like to see on our main menu? Let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Delicious meal, such a great place had drinks outside diluted by meal in as it was windy. The menu is limited on a Sunday to mostly roasts but it was all very tasty.served by Scarlett who looked after us very well.

Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for visiting us for Sunday lunch - and for posting a review. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Had been recommended, so thought we would give it a try and were delighted. Requested Angostora and tonic, and although our waitress Tilly did not know what it was, she searched it out, brought the bottle and then was very interested in learning all about it.
Food and service great and nothing was too much trouble.
Would go back in a heartbeat, if only we did not live 200 miles away

Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your visit. 200 miles is a long way to travel - and we are glad all went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely evening at the Square and Compass, starting with chilled rosé outside in the sunshine. Really enjoyed my Artisan platter, and the service by Magda and Imogen was as friendly and efficient as ever!

Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are pleased your get-together went well. Many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Square and Compass also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Square and Compass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing