We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 23:00
Save
Review Highlights
Sunday lunch

After the last great lunch we decide to come again with the in-laws. Once again the food was... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
243paulg
,
Harrogate
via mobile
Best ribs I’ve ever tasted!

Second visit here, lovely bar & restaurant. Staff really friendly and helpful. I have to say I’ve... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
beth6198
,
Wakefield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 403 reviews
  
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
272
69
26
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
272
69
26
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch our waiter the pub lamb yorkshire pudding booked a table north rigton lovely meal portion size cooked to perfection bar area evening meal large party main course high standard the kitchen be visiting again
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Friendly greeting, excellent service throughout, comfortable seating in attractive surroundings and good food at sensible prices. Just wish the menu mains weren't so "masculine" - sausage and mash, fish and chips etc.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Springs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thanks for posting your positive review. What favourite dish would you like to see on our main menu? Let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Delicious meal, such a great place had drinks outside diluted by meal in as it was windy. The menu is limited on a Sunday to mostly roasts but it was all very tasty.served by Scarlett who looked after us very well.

Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for visiting us for Sunday lunch - and for posting a review. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Had been recommended, so thought we would give it a try and were delighted. Requested Angostora and tonic, and although our waitress Tilly did not know what it was, she searched it out, brought the bottle and then was very interested in learning all about it.
Food and service great and nothing was too much trouble.
Would go back in a heartbeat, if only we did not live 200 miles away

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank charlottem236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your visit. 200 miles is a long way to travel - and we are glad all went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely evening at the Square and Compass, starting with chilled rosé outside in the sunshine. Really enjoyed my Artisan platter, and the service by Magda and Imogen was as friendly and efficient as ever!

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are pleased your get-together went well. Many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped off after a drop off to leeds bradford, we shared the meat sharer off the starters menu, it was nicely presented the chicken just a bit dry. We both had decent mains , mine the fish with chops three ways, my partner had the roast corn fed chicken. Which was just a little over cooked, the service was attentive but discreet and the portions were very good .With a belleni and a coke the whole bill came to 45 pounds. In summary it's a nice place good food and decent value.

Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your first visit to The Square & Compass. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews