We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lamont house.....service with a smile!”
Review of Lamont House

Lamont House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lamont House
Ranked #38 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lamont house.....service with a smile!”
Reviewed 26 February 2010

I recently spent 2 enjoyable nights at Lamont House. Mike and Helen were both friendly and helpful hosts. My room was very clean and modern, as was the dining room and the entire accomodation was tastefully appointed. The breakfast was faultless and I would have no qualms in returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywanderer456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    20
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
43
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
TAUNTON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We came to Harrogate for a few days owing to a family funeral. We were very pleased with our accommodation, our hosts, the cleanliness, our food and the friendliness of our hosts Mike and Helen. We wouldn't hesitate in booking Lamont House again. Thank you for making our sad occasion more pleasant.
Melodie New and Terry Quinlan

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13HOLIDAY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We arrived to a very warm welcome from the owner Helen, who showed us to our room, which was lovely, big double bed (very comfy), en-suite and tea/coffee & biccies, she recomended places to eat and drink which we went to and they were all fantastic. The choice for breakfast was wonderful, cereals, fruit juices, fruit, toast, full english or any combination you fancied, smoked haddock, eggs benedict and they even got some crumpets for me, all served with coffee or tea.
Parking was never a problem as the owners give you a parking pass to use and as it is so central you can walk into town in 2 mins, train and bus stations are in the centre of town so Lamont House is a perfect base for exploring Yorkshire.
Helen and Mike made our stay there so relaxing, they can even lend you an umbrella which you will probably need, an excellent Bed & Breakfast, highly recomended, Thank you both.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petalrose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We had the miss fortune to stay at this guesthouse. If you have poor eye site you will need your glasses as you will not be able to see the TV in your room as it is so small.

We did not have ensuite in our room and had to go down the corridor to get to the bath room if you could get in as other guests decided they would use it as well, no lock on the door so it opened to every one, it was so small you put your arms out and you could reach both sides of the room. The shower cubicle you had to open the shower door to wash your feet it was so small.

The bed should have been sent to the tip it was so lumpy.

Breakfast was a good choice, but if you don’t order toast with your breakfast i.e. scrambled eggs you don’t get any and if every one came down for breakfast at the same time you would not get in 5 bedrooms 4 tables in dinning room.

One positive it is clean.


Also full amount of money taken off your card when you book.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnydipperUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LamontHG2, Owner at Lamont House, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
I cannot contact 'SkinnyDippers' personally, as I can only guess their identity. I am sorry that they did not mention their unhappiness on departure or earlier.

New TVs are certainly on our 'to do' list, although when making our selection we will be very mindful that we are a guest house and not a cinema. Unfortunately, creating larger shower rooms is not possible, that is one of the disadvantages of owning a Victorian property where en-suite and shower rooms have had to be created.

I cannot understand the comment about the lock on the shower room door, there is a lock - and it DOES work. All of our other rooms are en-suite and I may have had one of these available had our guests checked. Although obviously at peak times, e.g. Great Yorkshire Show, Bank Holidays etc, this may not be possible.

Full payment is only ever taken from a card if a) I am advised to do this by a customer on booking the accommodation or b) they book very late, i.e within hours of staying and we feel maybe they won't turn up! We do appreciate that some of our guests may wish to pay using other methods or a different card.

The comment about lack of toast at breakfast I do find bizarre. Wholemeal and white toast is served with or without a cooked breakfast and our guests are always offered second helpings. Even in a recession toast is still a commodity we can afford to be generous with!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Mike and Helen were wonderful hosts, the house was warm and clean, managing to provide plenty of space without losing its cosy atmosphere. The breakfast provided was delicious and the perfect start to each day in Harrogate.

I'd definitely recommend lamont house to anyone considering a visit to the area and my friends and I will certainly be back.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_Monks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I had to come up to Harrogate from London on a business trip at the Confrence centre, and I must say, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Lamont House. The rooms are nice and homely and the Eggs Benedict were a great start to my day!

Lamont House is in the perfect position. It is literally 2 minutes walk from the town centre and is on a residential street, so it was nice and quiet- a nice change from London! I would definitely go back here when I visit Harrogate again. Thanks to Helen and Mike for making my stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This Guest House was exactly why landladies have a poor reputation., we found our host, uncaring, unfriendly and everything seemed too much of an effort for her. The Guest House itself is dated and dull, ensuites were too small, and in desperate need of refurbishment with wallpaer peeling of f walls and ceilings. Tthe towels were over wahed grey and harsh. The overall facilites were poor. An overpriced experience not to be repeated.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finethings63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LamontHG2, Owner at Lamont House, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
After sleeping on this very disappointing review, I rang the family concerned the next day to express my regret and sadness about their unhappy stay with us.

I said that I wished their dissatisfaction with the accommodation had been pointed out at the time, as I could have possibly changed their room. I did not apologise for my choice of neutral decor, but i did however take note of some of their other comments and have acted accordingly where required.

As for the very personal comments about myself, I am sorry we did not have a better rapport in the short time we met. After 30 years in the hospitality trade I do still always try to 'go that bit further' for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dales Guest House
The Dales Guest House
#40 of 100 in Harrogate
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrogate Luxury Studios
Harrogate Luxury Studios
#8 of 31 in Harrogate
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Parade
Royal Parade
#12 of 31 in Harrogate
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#7 of 100 in Harrogate
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamont House

Property: Lamont House
Address: 12 St. Marys Walk, Harrogate HG2 0LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lamont House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing