We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfect accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cold Cotes Guest Accommodation & Gardens
Ranked #16 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute perfect accomodation”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I'm spending my holidays in England for over 10 years now and I visited quite some B&Bs, but this one certainly makes the top three I've ever stayed in. I can't find anything that isn't simply perfect.
I booked one of the premium rooms, and so I had a nice sitting room next to a good sized bedroom and spacious bathroom. The armchairs were as comfortable that I really regretted that I don't have one of them at home.
There were fresh flowers and fresh fruits and some sweets in the room, and checked/changed regularly.
The views from the room and the breakfast room were into a big garden, which was fun to walk through.
It's absolute quiet there and just the sounds of nature can be heard, as the main road is quite some yards away.
There is ample private parking.
On arrival, you're offered tea and cake. The staff is more than just friendly. There is a huge collection on games, DVDs and books available, and there was a DVD-player in the room. You also have free internet access.
For breakfast you could chose from the menu between different starters and main courses, and everything I tried was simply delicious.
For the evening, you can order a sandwich, salad or soup for rather small money, and it will be delivered to your room at the time you agreed upon.
So, in short, as soon as you arrive at this B&B, you can relax, as you are pampered and cared for and can just enjoy your holidays.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BG_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
152
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Beautifully restored and refurbished rooms - ours included a large bathroom and lounge/den area with TV...lots of little extras including biscuits, ground coffee, fresh fruit, and tea and masses of cake on arrival. Local pub the Wellington serves excellent dinners.
Despite it proximity to the austere and spooky RAF (USAF/NSA) Menwith Hill listening station, this B&B feels remote and completely relaxing. The gardens are spectacular and are worth a visit on their own merits. The staff are helpful and friendly but not over-intrusive.
Breakfast was lovingly cooked and presented, a stand-out was the gorgeous home-made marmalade and a large menu to select from.
Unfaultable.

Room Tip: worth looking at Alistair Sawday's guide
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roathbuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Easy to find and situated in the Yorkshire Dales, lovely views and very well presented. Welcome by our hosts made you feel at home. We stayed two nights in Room 2 which was very homely and the little extras provided by our hosts i.e. fruit, chocolates etc made it that little bit extra special. We had booked to stay in Room 6 on our final night, the transfer of luggage etc. was all so simple. Nothing was too much trouble for Penny and Ed. Room 6 was outstanding. Breakfasts were fantastic, little extras also provided by dishes being presented with fresh flowers from the garden. These extra touches made it even more special. Hosts even recommended local hostelries to eat at, these were also of a very high standard and excellent prices. We felt that everyone who worked at Cold Cotes worked as a team and everyone was willing to 'muck' in. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. Would highly recommend this to anybody.

Room Tip: Room 6 is by far the best room to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psimmons178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

A countryside setting and the main house is surrounded by beautiful gardens. Quiet and very relaxing. Fantastic breakfasts and very charming owners. Tea and cake - homemade - on arrival.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnywynny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights at Cold Cotes in early May. We loved it! On our arrival our host, Ed, served us tea and cakes in the sitting room, a nice way to unwind after a drive. We then walked the beautiful (and extensive!) gardens; Cold Cotes is also a working nursery. I really enjoyed Ed's poems that were highlighted in each section of the garden. Later, we ate dinner at a charming pub recommended by our host.

The location of Cold Cotes is very central yet is out in the country. It is close to York, Harrogate, Fountains Abbey, and the moors. Lots of great exploring and walking here!The homelike atmosphere is very relaxing. We stayed in the main house in a two room suite overlooking the gardens. It was spacious with a separate sitting room with TV, all the mod cons and a nice bathroom. We woke up to beautiful sunrises over the adjacent farm. I don't want to forget to mention the delicious and healthy breakfast served. You have several choices of mains in the morning, from a full English breakfast to yummy French toast. I would love to return someday!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artandlisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We loved the attention to detail in the furnishings, the accessories, and the food. The beautiful Yorkshire dales setting and romantic garden coupled with the warm welcome from Ed and Penny make this a very special place to stay. Good value too for what you get!

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berengaria_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

One overnight here was a xmas gift from our daughter so we decided to make it a full weekend break. What a lovely place to stay. The whole place is relaxing and the family can't make you feel more at home. In fact Joanne said this is your palace while you are here; do what you like. We will certainly be back, in fact we plan on treating our in-laws as a Xmas present; we will come with them of course.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razzle49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
5.4 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
5.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
137 reviews
5.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
1,599 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cold Cotes Guest Accommodation & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Cotes Guest Accommodation & Gardens

Property: Cold Cotes Guest Accommodation & Gardens
Address: Cold Cotes Road | Felliscliffe, Harrogate HG3 2LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of Nidderdale in the picturesque Yorkshire Dales. We aim to provide you the highest level of bed and breakfast accommodation for a comfortable, relaxing and refreshing visit. Our guests say, "This is a special place to stay, tranquil setting, beautiful and comfortable rooms, excellent food, an inspiring garden, with service second to none." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cold Cotes Guest Accommodation & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cold Cotes Guest Accommodation & Gardens Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing