We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ash Grove Guest House
Ranked #38 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I decided at the last minute to book a weekend away in Harrogate as I've always wanted to visit.
I found this Guest House last room remaining so I booked it straight away.Very happy with the communication that I recevied and very happy that I was able to check in too the Guest Hosue before 16:00 which was very help as I was arriving in Harrogate at around 13:30pm.
Within walking distance from the bus station,very close to all the lovely eateries and histrorical places of interest.
I found Ash Grove Guest House to be very well presented and clean.The owners of the guest are a very nice family,Tabs being very knowledgeable and recommending places to visit.
Look forward to visiting again !!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sisterslegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I especially booked Ash Grove because it was advertised as 4*. What a disappointment! In all fairness the staff/family were very helpful and very nice. However after my first night, went back to my room later in the day, to find the towels draped over the towel rail, just as I had left them. In all my years travelling around the world staying in 5* - 1* hotels & B&Bs, I have never not found the towels folded even if they are not changed. When I pulled back the duvet, the bottom sheet was not even straightened - this was also the case in my friends room. The breakfast was O.K. but the first morning I had hard bacon. It improved when I mentioned it. There was one packet each of butter, marge, strawberry jam, blackcurrant jam and marmalade each morning per person. No variation, no extras. When I asked for a second cafetiere of coffee, it was nearly the colour of the local water - which tasted much better.Certainly wouldn't stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank FrankieG999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabs J, Owner at Ash Grove Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Hi Frankie
This review comes as no surprise as seen as you aired your views in front of the children.Who quite happily adhered to your travel requirements. Calling their dad at work to find out train offers & then running up to the train station....I hate tit for tat however we work on the principle that unless the towels are thrown in to the shower to be changed we drape them on the towel rail to air. Regardless of your many travels we do not fold damp towels. Regarding the bottom sheet on the bed, Frankie you & your friends stayed three nights.Why was this not mentioned the 1st day you came down for breakfast?We pride ourselves on breakfast.When we take breakfast orders it is also a chance for guests to be able to say how they would like the breakfast cooked.For each guest we will put out 1 butter, 1 marg, 1 marmalade 1strawberry & 1 blackcurrant jam tho sometimes we have apricot & raspberry jams. Should you want more or something different all you have to do is ask. We use these jams because we find they are most popular! You know Frankie, I honored this booking at a later date because you fell ill when you were suppose to come.I did this out of the kindness of my heart because I know these things happen.I didn't need to & some accommodation providers wouldn't have. They would have charged you for the cancellation but I didn't. I moved the booking & in return you left me this glowing review. Many Thanks Tabs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

You couldn't ask for more helpful and friendly owners and the breakfast is delicious, especially the spicy omelette.

The location is very convenient to the bus station and the shops, restaurants and attractions of Harrogate. I came for two nights to watch le Tour de France and certainly wasn't disappointed by the Yorkshire and Ash Grove welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoyagerNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I was attending a large conference at the conference centre and our party had taken over Harrogate! I was in Room 2 which was lovely and overlooking the street. Nothing was too much bother for the hosts and the room was spotless as was the en suite. The prime question at the conference was 'where are you staying?', colleagues who had booked more expensive hotels ended up disappointed with the quality and value so I felt pretty smug. A quick and easy walk to the town centre and I could come and go as I pleased. Breakfast was superb. To those who have left negative reviews - get over yourselves, this is a 4 star B&B but could easily achieve 5 stars. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 2 is at the front with a big bay window, would want this one again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've been to Harrogate many times for conferences, and stayed in a different place every time, and I must say Ash Grove ranks among the best. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating...would definitely stay here again. Thanks!! Phil & Lyn

Hospitality - 10/10
Cleanliness - 10/10
Food - 10/10
Location - 10/10
Facilities/ Room - 10/10

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had one night here and honestly I am glad. There was no hot water in the tiny shower at the night time and the morning disappointed as how can this be right ! The room was small and furniture a little dated. Spent some time of the night awake listening to others on the landing up and down in the night going to the toilet and doors slamming. Breakfast on the other hand is fab and faultless and the hostess was lovely and helpful. The room did I felt need updating and refreshing. The ensuite is also very tiny.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 298LANCSLASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabs J, Owner at Ash Grove Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

I've already replied to this review you posted on another booking site however felt after a lot of deliberation that it is only fair that I respond to this review as well. What guests have to bear in mind when booking is that we are a guest house. Our rooms are probably the same size or even smaller than what you may have at home. The bathrooms are of standard size. As much as we would like to we don't have large bathrooms. Our aim is to try & make all guests stay as comfortable & pleasant as possible. Once you walk through our doors we have gone through the house thoroughly. Things in rooms are checked & checked again. Where ever possible we don't want negative feedback so you are right that it is not right that there was no hot water whilst you were trying to have a shower in the evening. But surely before you tried again in the morning you could have told us? Funny thing is, we only knew about the 'hot water in the tiny shower' after reading the reviews you posted. You were booked for one night in the middle of a busy conference & yet no-one else who stayed in that very room before or after you ever mentioned the water problem to us or in there review on the other booking site. And that is a big thing not having hot water! I agree the bathroom does need doing up & it is due in December 2014 but everything in it is as good & in working condition as all the other bathrooms in the house. The bedroom was decorated in the last year so that's not an issue more of a personal preference that you found it dated though looking at the wallpaper you can tell it's not really!We take on board the noise you may have heard from other guests. Apart from asking guests to consider other people in the house whilst coming in or going out there's not much else we can do! Unless it's extremely disruptive then we would intervene. These famous words lovely & helpful hostess. I beg to differ otherwise you would have come to me on the evening your shower was not right & I could have solved it straight away . That's why I'm here or at the end of a phone.As for the breakfast it should be fab & faultless because it should compliment a good nights stay which you unfortunately did not have. Thank you for taking the time out to post this review. Kind Regards Tabs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had such a great weekend the Ash Grove. Everything was perfect and the owners are so friendly. It is a nice informal setting, you can ask for all kinds of different breakfast (I recommend the spice omelette) and the rooms look lovely (especially the bathrooms look freshly renovated and great). I would recommend to ask for one of the back rooms as the street is quite busy.

Thank you so much for making our anniversary so special. We will be back!

Room Tip: Back room - busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Dragon House
Dragon House
#45 of 98 in Harrogate
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Franklin
#67 of 98 in Harrogate
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#9 of 98 in Harrogate
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#73 of 98 in Harrogate
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shannon Court Guesthouse
Shannon Court Guesthouse
#21 of 98 in Harrogate
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#7 of 98 in Harrogate
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Guest House

Address: 72 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: £65 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ash Grove Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Ash Grove, a traditional Victorian property ideally located directly opposite the Harrogate International Centre, just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre and Harrogate's many shops and restaurants. Ideal for both business and pleasure. Here at Ash Grove we are focused on providing a high quality service and customer satisfaction. Here are some of the things that make us who we are: Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation, Our rooms are individually decorated to an high standard at competitive prices, Locally sourced breakfast cooked to order/continental brekkie, Complimentary WiFi throughout the House, Free Parking, A fully non-smoking establishment, designated smoking area outside, Centrally situated to nearby attractions and the Yorkshire Dales. A great sense of Yorkshire humour!! Look forward to welcoming you soon Tabs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ash Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Guest House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing