We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not disappointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountains Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fountains Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Having read many positive reviews of this guest house we booked via a booking agency for a three night stay. We were not disappointed, it was all that other reviews had said. A warm welcome and help with the bags as we were on the second floor. The room was very nice, the only minus was that it was on the front of the house and although it was fine when we arrived on a Sunday, the next morning the traffic noise was such that from then on we could not have the windows open. We will definitely stay again but will request a room on the side of the house over a quiet side road. Breakfast was excellent, a wide choice and all warm items cooked to order and made from local produce. Lindsay was chatty and helpful and with the guesthouse being only a short walk (about 8 minutes for us older folks) from the town centre, we could not have found anywhere better.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Floatingtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    37
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
156
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was by far the best guest house we have ever stayed in. The rooms are a very comfortable size, pleasing to the eye and with all the extras you would expect in a hotel. Lindsay and John, our hosts, could not have been more hospitable. They provided excellent information about the local restaurants, where to shop and where to cycle. Private parking was available at the rear of the property together with secure garaging for bikes. The breakfasts were excellent and plentiful, which set you up for the day. Lindsay and John ensured we had a memorable stay over the hectic Tour de France weekend - thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely guesthouse in June for 2 nights over the weekend and cannot fault anything. Lindsay was very helpful with any requests we had. Rooms were spacious and clean and also immaculately looked after. Breakfast was great, loads of choice and variety and all freshly cooked. Location from centre was a 3-4 minute walk which was ideal for us. Car parking on site was good and very useful. If we were to visit harrogate again we wouldnt have to look for anywhere else to stay as this would be our number one choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stretford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

what do you want from a guesthouse, nice hosts, clean room , tasty breakfast, friendly staff. you get it all here. Lindsay was very friendly and helpful. as was Therese. The lounge was like being in my own front room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akumal, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved the location and overall feel of The Fountains Guesthouse. Lindsay is a wonderful hostess. The place is very clean and the breakfast is outstanding. There is a great selection of breakfast foods with much of it locally sourced. We'd return with pleasure.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room not facing the street. Traffic can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveinKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This guest house is really welcoming. Lindsey was a great host making us feel at home right from the front door. The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice, though for me it has to be the full English which offered a Masham sausage, lovely bacon and all the rest. The hosts don't confuse quantity with quality either: there was just enough. Anyway, you can always eat more fruit, cereal, toast and lovely jams and marmalade.
The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a pleasant view over a green area. It had a good ensuite. The bed was very comfortable.
The guest house is perfectly situated for exploring Harrogate being about a two minute walk from the exhibition centre. And Harogate itself is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I am a very fussy and hard to please person so rest assure this review is all the more relevant to those who are of the same nature.

What can I say, from the moment we stepped over the threshold to the second we left we had a very comfortable and pleasant stay. The owners of this establishment should be very proud of themselves and what they have achieved.

The décor is in keeping with the building however they have modern aspects which make the environment come alive and all the rooms we entered were light, airy, well maintained and most importantly clean.

The room we stayed in was on the ground floor with more than adequate space to meet our needs. The bed was comfy, extra pillows were available and we were told where these were on arrival. The addition of an iron and ironing board was a very welcomed added bonus. Complimentary tea and coffee was plentiful, I especially liked that the owners go to an extra length of providing fresh milk in a flask available from the communal lounge, much better than the UHT pots. A very nice and impressive touch.

The shower room was clean neat and tidy and came with fresh soft bath and hand towels. The cleanliness impressed me especially as the hand basin they chose cannot be the easiest to keep clean as it is a glass bowl.

The handbook was full of information relevant to the guest house and the local area. WIFI password was readily available which is included in the price of the room not an added charge. This was important to us as this was a business trip and checking emails is a priority.

We came to visit Harrogate as we were attending the Hearth & Home show and stayed for two nights. The local town is bustling with people day and night, we had a lovely stay and enjoyed the local bars and restaurants.

The breakfast menu had a lovely selection of hot food to choose from along with cereal, yoghurt, jams, fresh fruit and fruit juices. Tea and coffee were offered throughout and the breakfast itself came out hot and was plentiful. The English breakfast looked amazing on the plate, tasted great and most importantly was not covered in excess grease. The room again was clean, neat and tidy. Tables were laid with linen cloths and cleaned down and relaid after each sitting.

The owners were both attentive, pleasant and jovial. They keep a very well maintained guest house with faultless customer service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Harrogate. It is close enough to take a leisurely stroll to the town yet far enough away not to be kept awake by passers by making their way home after a night out.

The communal living room situated at the front on the house was again clean, neat and tidy. Leaflets were available for local attractions, a shelf with books to read also available and they offer a swap service on this which will keep the collection fresh. There was a mini fridge with a selection of beverages available and a tin asking for a minimum contribution which I thought was a great idea and shows that the owners truly have thought about the wants and needs of all their guests.

Our business trip is an annual one and we will be making sure we book early for next year.

Don't just take my word for it, book a room with the knowledge that your stay is in good hands.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room at the back of the house on the first or second floor as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.0 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#12 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#4 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#6 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#3 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountains Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountains Guesthouse

Property: The Fountains Guesthouse
Address: 27 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fountains Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fountains Guesthouse in Harrogate, North Yorkshire, is an elegant Victorian building dating back to 1891. At the end of an imposing terrace situated on the King’s Road, tastefully and smartly restored and retaining many of its original features, The Fountains is a 10 bedroom all en-suite family run business which is be a great place to stay for both holidaymakers and business trips.We are situated just two minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre and five minutes from the many bars, bistros and boutique shops of the famous Harrogate town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Fountains Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountains Hotel Harrogate
The Fountains Guesthouse Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing