We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Cost saving measures everywhere, fire hazard by locking stairs at night, secure night entrance open all night to anyone, make-up mirror designed by a man, shaving mirror designed by a woman, no butter at breakfast, narrowest double bed I ever saw. Not again for me Thankyou.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InningsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    76
    31
    13
    12
See reviews for
55
85
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We were attending a family event in Harrogate and The Pine Marten was recommended based on the good food and location. Despite providing all relevent information on booking (there were to be 3 of us - 2 adults and a child - staying in a family room) staff had difficulty determining which room had actually been allocated.
When we finally made it to the room and had a quick look around, we noticed that there was no extra bedding supplied for the sofa bed and no towels for a 3rd person. We then saw that the cups and cutlery appeared not to have been cleaned properly - there was a 'tide mark' round the cups as though they had been rinsed but not actually washed. When we looked more closely at the toilet this too appeared not to have been cleaned properly as there was again a 'tide mark' round the water level and you could see urine stains round the fixings of the toilet seat.
That was the room.
We were told that if we were returning to the hotel after 11pm we had to enter via the fire escape using a Key Fob. We did return quite late (early hours), let ourselves into our room and when we switched on the lights, the electricity 'tripped' and all lights went out. There was an 'emergency light' in the middle of the ceiling which immediately came on and which could not be switched off. We immediately referred to the Hotel Information leaflet which provided an out-of-hours Mobile telephone number - the instruction was to use the hotel room telephone to call this number if required. In reality and after several attempts, we realised that the only way you could in fact use this telephone was if you had purchased a pre-paid telephone card from Reception. Fortunately we had a Mobile phone with us........unfortunately despite 6 attempts to reach the 'person on call' our calls were ignored and we failed to reach anyone.
Our family event was the following morning and due to the emergency light directly above our bed we had very little sleep that night. This in itself was very annoying and spoiled our trip - but more importantly, if any actual emergency had taken place, we would have been unable to alert a member of hotel staff. Access to the downstairs or the main entrance was impossible as the adjoining door was locked.
To 'add insult to injury', when we complained to the only visible member of staff on checking out, there was no apology, no explanation, just a glib comment to say "I know exactly who's responsible for that' - with a wry smile.
We would certainly not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Disapp0intedGlasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Booked a room at the Pine Marten through a fantastic offer on Facebook, we had a night including breakfast for only £20 for the two of us. However after staying there, I would definitely pay full price to stay there another time, as it was fantastic and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The room was large with a table, sofabed and large bed, inc tea and coffee facilities and toiletries. Had a great view of the garden of the hotel with fountain and pond from our room. The room was very clean, and the bathroom although didn't have a bath, had a fantastic large shower. The surroundings were rustic but luxurious. The pub itself was really nice, great decor, and fantastic friendly staff. Could not fault any of it to be honest

We decided to have dinner in the restaurant and had a delicious asparagas, feta and beetroot salad, definitely recommended. The food it a touch on the pricey side compared to usual pub food but the choice and quality is also much more than that of a 'usual pub'.

Had an amazing night's sleep and breakfast in the morning was great, opted to have the buffet though a cooked breakfast can be available for extra, I believe. High quality and tasty choices for breakfast and again fantastic service from the staff.

Will definitely be back and will recommend to friends and family,

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorks121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Firstly, we suggest you read the website of the Pine Marten to see photos and menus.
1. Top second floor rooms are just 3 attic rooms. Adequate. Double beds are not King size. Quiet nights because no overnight traffic noise even with open windows.
Good heating radiators with switchable control.
Great LCD TV freeview reception.
Good bathroom freebies, towelling and coffee/tea facility.
Window curtains torn and stair carpets need replacing.
2. Only room No 6 on first floor has a bath in addition to a shower of the total of 12 rooms.
Public toilets are also on the first floor which have 2 access fire doors so can be noisy until the bar and restaurant close.
Week-ends and functions would not be pleasant for nearby early-to-bed guests.
3. Situated on the Otley Road junction at the entrance to a technology park. Some obvious youngish Suits drink here after the daily efforts of the local office. Quite rowdy if not drowned by muzak.
4. Bus stop opposite. No 6 (every 20 mins) route into town (Harlow Hill Cemetery stop stage ) next to the parish church. Route through some local housing, but only a few minutes.
£2.60 current cost return journey to town central bus station. Town parking is costly so why bother to drive? Buses are clean and door to door.
5. Nearly opposite, and about 10 minutes walk, are the famous RHS Harlow Carr gardens.
A UK delight. You need to view their website. Royal Horticultural Society.
Admission £7.50 or ask bus driver for Heritage Voucher for price reduction. It is at Crag Lane, one stop beyond Harlow Hill Cemetery. See above.
6. In addition to the buffet breakfast there are outstanding cooked options as extras which are not typical in IKL premises. The Pine Marten also provides freshly warmed breakfast loaves of bread. Nice touch of the above average.
7. Some delightful female staff who engaged with guests, but rather impersonally managed.
8. Housekeeping excellent. Unseen heroes. Hope they get a share of tips.
9. The food. Mainly excellent trained presentation, cooking and surprisingly fresh ingredients.
Some lapses. Casual kitchen labour?
Bar drinks are expensive. This is not a pub.
10. In summary the Pine Marten is a mid-range budget hotel with a superior priced catering operation.
It provided us with superb value and excellent food.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Pine Marten, Harrogate.What a super experience! From checking in to checking out, this hotel was faultless. The staff were incredibly polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, the room was perfect and the breakfast surpassed expectations. For £60 a night this hotel was an absolute steal! Will definately recommend and return!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stainless083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
u.k.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

this is a nice innkeepers lodge with good food but a bit out of town . the rooms are average for this type of lodge and clean too . i little tip .. if you like to see the kitchen roof as your view, book room 2 . p.s. bar seems to close early .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Had 3 nights at this hotel in August 2010 staying with my family. Hotel is excellent and restaurant is even better. Food is top draw, but maybe a little pricey for what you get. Had the ostrich steak on the first night and it was awesome. Rooms are a of a good standard. Only down side was on 2 of the 3 nights, the people in the neighbouring room were very noisy at about 3am, but this can happen anywhere.

Staff were very freindly and always helpful, and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeaky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
2.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,407 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
Address: East Park House East Park House Beckwith Knowle Otley Road | The Pine Marten, Harrogate HG3 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the Yorkshire Dales or visiting Harrogate Conference Centre, where better to stay than at an historic hotel in Harrogate?Tucked just outside town in Beckwith Knowle, this characterful lodge is a listed building that puts you right at the heart of some of England's most beautiful countryside. If you book a room here you can enjoy one of the best food-pubs in the area. Expect fresh, seasonal cooking and wood-fired pizzas complemented by a great wine list.Enjoy the blooms and greenery of RHS Harlow Carr Gardens, tuck into the legendary afternoon teas at Betty's or simply admire the sweeping hills of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Harrogate is also great for shoppers and art lovers, with a bustling town centre and a range of intriguing exhibitions at the Mercer Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pine Marten (Innkeeper`s Lodge) Hotel Harrogate
Pine Marten Innkeepers Harrogate
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing