We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No faults” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No faults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed for 1 night, rooms were clean & good size. Check in was at the bar which was unusual but the staff were friendly and the meals were very good in the restaurant?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minniememe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    70
    27
    11
    10
See reviews for
50
74
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I have driven past the The Pine Marten many times on regular business trips to Harrogate but have always elected to stay in the middle of town, but on my most recent trip I decided to give The Pine Marten a try. And what a pleasant surprise it was!

OK, the room wasn't large but perfect for one night's stay. It was clean and well decorated with a good size shower and everything worked. And for £66 including continental breakfast it was good value.

I ate with a colleague in the restaurant and service was prompt and attentive and the food more than adequate. Two mains, two desserts, beers and a decent bottle of red came to £65. Again very acceptable and good value.

The hotel is a couple of miles outside Harrogate but is a good location for RHS Harlow Carr which is a short walk away.

All in very good and I will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Unless you have a logistic need to be able to walk to Harlow Carr RHS garden, which we did. The place is bigger than you might think, and is clean. It is very popular so must be doing something right, but not for us. We stayed two nights and concluded that we could have done much better. There is a saying that you only make one first impression, and the Australian (?) guy on the bar should realise that by ignoring us, then fiddling endlessly (quite a few minutes) to pull a better pint of beer before handing the task to another member of staff, then not apologising at all and finally being slightly gruff is just not on. Then the room. DO NOT ACCEPT ROOM 9. There is nowhere to stand up straight except just inside the door. each side of the bed is under a slope, and then a huge beam makes you dip even lower to get to the foot of the bed, then the same again past the other side, then wind through a pokey 'dressing' area (where the mirror is unsuitable for make-up I am told), and then into a quite large and well equipped bathroom. If you need the toilet during the night it would be a tricky journey unless the car-park floodlight outside the window stays on!! We did not eat there, but descending the stairs there was plenty of aroma of food. There are lots and lots of better places to stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We had a weekend break in Harrogate and was looking for a quite out of town hotel. Lovely building but backing on to an industrial estate. First impression was not good. However, inside the hotel is very nice and the room we had was extremely quite being double glazed. The corridor had its fair share of creaking boards due to the age of the building and the doors were squeaky as well. I can imagine that if the other guest were late night revellers you would hear them at night. We were lucky and it was quite. The room was very comfortable with a very good bed and quilt. Pillows were feather. Bathroom was well appointed with a very powerful overhead show and no bath. Towels were of good quality. After the first reservations with the trading estate out back we were pleasantly surprised with the overall quality. We did not eat in the restaurant but it was busy and the menu looked good. If you want to visit RHS Harlow Carr then this is the place to stay as it is in walking distance being just over the road from the hotel. The included breakfast is continental but for additional cost there are other cooked options. The continental included a bowl of fresh fruit salad that was very good with cereals and some very nice bread and croissants. I could not fault this as it was all quality. I would recommend this hotel for a short break and would return if I am in Harrogate.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I called to make a booking for a large party and was dealt with by a rude and dismissive member of staff. Will absolutely avoid this place in the future

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Old building with modern decoration but very nicely done. Rooms are a good size and are very comfortable. Food is very good quality and reasonably priced. The location is a little out of town but is perfect for the business park. I stay here regularly for work and ask for it as a first choice whenever I go to harrogate.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was my third visit to The Pine Marten and it has yet again delivered to a good standard. The rooms are decorated in a modern/ traditional way and most importantly for me they are clean.

We stayed for 2 nights, the first evening we enjoyed the bar and restaurant in the hotel which have warm and comfortable surroundings. The menu is varied and the quality of food is excellent. The service throughout our stay was friendly and relaxed but always attentive.

Continental breakfast is included in the price of the room which is more than adequate with a good selection of cereals, fruit, breads and everything else you would expect. Cooked breakfast is available for an extra charge and we did treat ourselves to it on our departing morning and delivered to a good standard.

If you're looking for a friendly comfortable hotel close to the centre of Harrogate (£5 in a taxi - it was raining) then I think you would struggle to beat what The Pine Marten has to offer for £90 per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo- E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
4.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
2.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
2.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
Address: East Park House East Park House Beckwith Knowle Otley Road | The Pine Marten, Harrogate HG3 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the Yorkshire Dales or visiting Harrogate Conference Centre, where better to stay than at an historic hotel in Harrogate?Tucked just outside town in Beckwith Knowle, this characterful lodge is a listed building that puts you right at the heart of some of England's most beautiful countryside. If you book a room here you can enjoy one of the best food-pubs in the area. Expect fresh, seasonal cooking and wood-fired pizzas complemented by a great wine list.Enjoy the blooms and greenery of RHS Harlow Carr Gardens, tuck into the legendary afternoon teas at Betty's or simply admire the sweeping hills of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Harrogate is also great for shoppers and art lovers, with a bustling town centre and a range of intriguing exhibitions at the Mercer Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pine Marten (Innkeeper`s Lodge) Hotel Harrogate
Pine Marten Innkeepers Harrogate
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing