We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mid-week dinner, good company, five hours!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Mid-week dinner, good company, five hours!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We came here with my Aunt one Wednesday in October. She chose the restaurant as she lives in Harrogate and wanted to take us out when we visited. Consequently I do not know what the bill was. When we entered it was early (a bit after 5 p.m.) and the dining room was mostly empty, and my Aunt was concerned perhaps the business was not doing well. But by the time we left, almost five hours later after multiple rounds of coffee and wine, it was full. So we early birds picked a good spot. In fairness to the wait staff, we did keep ordering things and they did not pester us or hover at all despite our lengthy dinner. Food was very good, cannot remember what we ate exactly as we were still a bit jet lagged - all in all a pleasant time. I liked the environment - I was told by my Aunt that at one point there was a pool under

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Pine Marten . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    71
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
51
78
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a family meal here. There were 11 of us after we had been to a funeral. Really nicely fitted out with plenty of space. Excellent choice of meals and great service. Innovative food at decent prices. Will definitely return

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megellans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Pine Marten on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Boutique charm without the hyped charges of Harrogate Hotels.

Ideally located within walking distance of the town centre & RHS Harlow Carr, the Pine Marten is comfortably relaxed with a warm atmosphere and attentive staff. We recently stayed in room 5 which is a smart family room with double bed, sofa bed, and separate shower room. Half an hour after the bar/restaurant closed at 11pm everything was very peaceful and we slept easily. If the front door directly below the room and plumbing from rooms above were dampened, it would have been better.

Food at the Pine Marten was Fab and really good value.

All in all, a really good comfortable stay and great value.

Room Tip: Room 5 suffers from being above a slamming front door and from having noisy pipework hidden in the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark74UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Pine Marten, Innkeeper's Lodge, Harrogate . We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level Contributor
75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our first stay at the Pinemartin/Inkeepers. We found it an excellent location (close enough to Harrogate to walk in if you're feeling energetic, and opposite Harlow Carr gardens). The staff were efficient - just the right balance of being friendly and professional. We were also initially impressed with the room (5), but there were one or two issues - it was quite noisy as it was immediately above the bar door, which continually banged shut (the spring on it might need adjusting?). We also had quite a bit of noise from someone having (very lengthy!) showers and toilets flushing. We couldn't turn the radiator in the room off, which made the room very stuffy and hot, so we had to have all the windows open (some road noise). On the positive side though, the bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was amazing! We ate at the Pinemartin and thought the food and service was excellent. We would definitely go back again, but would avoid this particular room due to the noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to The Pine Marten, Innkeeper's Lodge, Harrogate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have never stayed at the Pine Martin, but regularly visit for drinks and occassionally eat at the restaurant.

The Pine Martin used to be quite unwelcoming, but in recent years (I assume new manager) it has become really friendly. The food is delicious and the staff are helpful.

I have always visited with friends or family (teenage), but I have noticed children in the evening and babies in the daytime. The layout of the building is such that noisy children do not disturb other customers.

Food prices are quite high (not crazy, but maybe kept for an occassional treat). Drink prices are reasonable, especially given the table service.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank E_2013_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Pine Marten and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
698 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have stayed at the Pine Marten before and usuallly have one of the attic rooms because they contain lots of character. But on this occasion our stay was impromptu and we were left with a choice of rooms 2 or 7.

We were recommended room 2 by a member of staff but having got into the room, we didnt like it. It has no view at all (other than the walls of surrounding buildings which can almost be touched they are that close). And there is a roof top generator outside the window which is very noisy. So we asked to be moved and was moved to room 7, slightly smaller, but a much nicer room overlooking the large garden at the rear. NOTE: On sunny days the garden gets busy with diners and drinkers, but it is not so noisy as to be distracting in the room.

There is a separate entrance to the hotel for residents, so you can come back late after the pub has closed. And there is loads of car parking so no issues there. Harrogate town centre is a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (West).
Best regards
Innkeepr's Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We were travelling as two adults and one child aged 9. SERVICE - is very poor and staff misrable and rude. ROOMS - small for family room. Very noisy can hear main door banging everytime someone enters or leaves hotel. Can also here everytime the person upstairs flushed the toilet. Room had iron and hairdryer. Complimentary toiletries were nice. CLEANLINESS - dirty and gruby, mould in shower very bad mistake to have cream carpet in rooms when clearly cleanliness is not a priority. Carpet on stairs and hallways needs replacing as it has holes in it. FOOD- way over priced. My husband had the stake which had no taste. We chose to have three startes for lunch which cost £32. breakfast was ok your basic cereal, yoghurt, fruit, toast, coffee etc. Have to pay extra if you want something hot. Breakfast finishes at 9.30am. Overall beautiful building, lovely beer garden but due to service, rooms and cleanliness would not stay here again. Will book premier inn next time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsofstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Harrogate (West) Beckwith Knowle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
4.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
2.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
2.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
Address: East Park House East Park House Beckwith Knowle Otley Road | The Pine Marten, Harrogate HG3 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the Yorkshire Dales or visiting Harrogate Conference Centre, where better to stay than at an historic hotel in Harrogate?Tucked just outside town in Beckwith Knowle, this characterful lodge is a listed building that puts you right at the heart of some of England's most beautiful countryside. If you book a room here you can enjoy one of the best food-pubs in the area. Expect fresh, seasonal cooking and wood-fired pizzas complemented by a great wine list.Enjoy the blooms and greenery of RHS Harlow Carr Gardens, tuck into the legendary afternoon teas at Betty's or simply admire the sweeping hills of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Harrogate is also great for shoppers and art lovers, with a bustling town centre and a range of intriguing exhibitions at the Mercer Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pine Marten (Innkeeper`s Lodge) Hotel Harrogate
Pine Marten Innkeepers Harrogate
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing