We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a ball!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Yorkshire Meatball Co - CLOSED

The Yorkshire Meatball Co
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: As one of Harrogate's most unique restaurants, our speciality Meatball and Craft Beer Bar is leading the fight against average, tasteless meatballs. Our meat, fish and veggie Balls are hand-rolled in our kitchen, using only the freshest and tastiest locally-sourced produce, and our beers are brewed just down the road by like-minded folk! This is Proper Food, Proper Drinks... No Fuss! ...And with a majority of our menu GF-friendly, there really is something for everyone and without breaking the bank.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a ball!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We had seen this restaurant online and were intrigued by the concept so decided visiting during our holiday in Harrogate. We were very pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff and cosy atmosphere. The concept is brilliant and the balls great. My husband particularly loved the dessert balls which were truly delicious. Would visit again if we were in the area again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maiken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    99
    37
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good but in the end these are just meatballs”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We came here right from the railway station as this place was nearby - and it had also been recommended to us by a friend as one of the must-do's in Harrogate.The service was excellent, with the menu fully explained and all our questions answered. My mother absolutely loved the lamps made of kitchen utensils. The food was very good - we had traditional meatballs (very good) with mash and caramelised onions, and fish balls (these tasted like fish cakes from Sainsbury's) on the bed of salad. Yorkshire puddings were amazing but sadly the caramelised onions thingy had very little gravy so we had to have them almost dry. Coffees were very good. Overall, we enjoyed our meal but the 'wow-factor' was somewhat lacking in terms of food - probably because, in the end, these are just meatballs!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artloverinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Back for more balls!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Following a first visit on my own, when they managed to fit me in despite being very busy, I decided to return with my daughter a week later, after extolling the virtues of this restaurant to fiends and family. The staff are very friendly, attentive and knowledgable, the food excellent, and despite the name of the place, a vegetarian would be very happy with their 'fake balls' (chickpea and coriander). The 'cheesecake balls' desert was great too. But the icing on the cake for me was the great selection of bottled ales from local micro breweries, ranging from a refreshingly hoppy IPA to a rich dark porter. With so many restaurants serving generic gassy lager, its great to see locally produced ales being promoted here. Looking forward to my next visit already.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyH6450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second visit as brilliant as the first...if not better!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Our second visit was eagerly anticipated at the end of a great week spent in Harrogate and we weren't disappointed.
The specials of buffalo meatballs were amazing and we were really glad we opted to try them.
The staff are fantastic. Very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and nothing was too much trouble.
Can't wait to make another visit when here on holiday again.
Thanks to the whole team.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 142MaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Solid nice restaurant”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Food was good, wine was a little expensive, dessert was tasty, staff were friendly but did not check on me during my meal and took some time to clear the table. A good restaurant but won't be in a rush to return. That said I would recommend to someone in the area looking for a nice meal.

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yorkshire Meatball Co also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing