We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, great!”
Review of Murray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murray House
Ranked #33 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Once again, great!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Set in an excellent location for Harrogate centre, we have used this BB twice for sons parades at the AFC which is 5 minutes away. The welcome is warm and nothing appears to much trouble for the owners. The rooms are a good size and clean with the best shower I have ever had! The breakfast menu is comprehensive and tastes great. The parking is on street but vouchers are issued to avoid the clutches of lurking traffic wardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malleability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
51
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Murray House as it is located on a quiet street in a busy town. The house is a short walk to shops, restaurants, and bars. Our room was on the top floor and was very spacious and clean. When I had a problem accessing the internet the owner offered the use of his iPad. There was a nice selection on the breakfast menu and it was cooked to order. My husband was there on business, so I took the day and walked around the city. The owners were very accommodating, allowing us a late check out and letting me keep our bags in the house until we were ready to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As part of a group that regularly work on event in Harrogate, we once again opted to stay at Murray House. Once again we were left amazed by the lengths that all of the staff go to to ensure our stay is a fabulous as possible. Exceptional hospitality and an unending desire to please means we'll be back.
Great quality of breakfast with a great selection.
Many many thanks

Chris

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris-Showpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We arrived at 9.30am and the Landlady allowed us to check in before we went off to explore the town. The Landlady recommended a walk we could do and we ended up spending the rest of the day in the park and at Harlow Carr. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was exceptionally clean the beds were comfortable and there was lots of choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallycanwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The owner was the most helpful person and always went the extra mile. She knew I was there on business and allowed me to use the room until 1.pm in order to get changed for an interview. The room was exceptionally clean and very well maintained. For us however it was the service that made it extraordinary.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful owners, lovely, spotless room in a quiet tree-lined street a few minutes' walk from the town centre and exhibition halls. The breakfast was excellent, the shower really powerful and the wifi free!
This was our first visit to Harrogate and we have no hesitation in recommending Murray House to anyone planning to visit for business or pleasure.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastanglian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Very friendly and accommodating proprietress. Nothing was too much trouble for the landlady. Rooms very comfortable, great beds and powerful shower. Good choice at breakfast. A qiiet location but still only a short walk to the town centre. Would recommend to anyone looking for an affordable, good quality guest house. Paul, Cheryl, Gill and Shaun.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#65 of 99 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Geminian
Geminian
#18 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wynnstay House
Wynnstay House
#23 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#6 of 99 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray House

Property: Murray House
Address: 67 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Murray House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Murray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray House Hotel Harrogate
Murray House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing