We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend trip”
Review of The Phoenix Rooms

The Phoenix Rooms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Phoenix Rooms
Reviewed 16 July 2014

excellent place to stay .central for everything. clean,spacious ,en-suite apartments. only problem guy on 1st floor wanted to talk on is mobile out side on is balcony at midnight while we wanted to sleep.(selfish idiot). other then that would stay here again.

Room Tip: all rooms over look the main road. bedrooms at the back so not to bad noise wise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had booked this apartment for the weekend and were told that we had to be there by 6:00pm Friday to pick up the key from the hair salon reception on the ground floor (owned by The Phoenix Rooms), otherwise we'd have to phone for someone to bring us the key if we arrived later. Upon arriving at 5:50pm, two employees were leaving the salon and locking the door. They obviously didn't know anything about our arrival because a) they were leaving earlier than 6:00 and b) they asked us which suite we had booked so they could give us the right key! So, not a great start. We were in the room at the top which meant lugging luggage up 4/5 flights of stairs - worked off our lunch anyway! The apartment was fine, very contemporary, but I'm a stickler for hygiene and was disappointed that there was no mattress cover, just a sheet (ick), and the bed was so shoddily made it actually looked like it had already been slept in. The pillowcases had some kind of grease marks and again, no pillow protectors. Cutlery was provided but it and the drawer weren't very clean, and there was no tea-towel or dish cloth to wash up or dry with, although there was a dishwasher for more than a few items. The ceiling in the bedroom had wires hanging down (presumably for a light fitting?) and inside the fridge hadn't been cleaned (food crumbs etc, pretty gross). What topped it all was that both nights a load of people in the apartment below sat on the outdoor fire escape and talked and laughed really loudly until about 4:00 in the morning. As they were literally steps down from our bedroom we didn't sleep well at all. The positive points were Tim, the manager, who was very friendly and helpful, the location which is right in town and close to everything, good shower, and we managed to get free parking around the corner on Victoria Street. We really enjoyed Harrogate - beautiful little gem - but unfortunately we would try alternative accommodation if we returned. I believe The Phoenix Rooms has teething problems since the renovation and I wish them luck in fixing these points and hope they do well in future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Audbridg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim T T, Manager at The Phoenix Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We are sorry that none of these items were brought up during your stay and that you were disturbed by other guests, unfortunately we cannot control this but have in the past dealt with noise if notified.
Your comments have been noted and will be actioned up where relevant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend spent the weekend here in the green room and it was absolutely fantastic! The decor is gorgeous and facilities where more than expected! Lovely view from the large bay window in the sitting room. Perfect location with a huge selection of shops bars and restaurants only mins walk away. Could fault nothing apart from the fact that I wish we had stayed longer! Did not want to leave. The terrace coming off the bedroom was perfect to chill out in the sun. Perfect! Would recommend to everybody! X

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cutiepie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

3 Ladies travel to Harrogate for 24 hour escape from children and chores to relax, chat and giggle and celebrate the oldest's 50th Birthday. We wanted somewhere central, contempory (as i'm rather fussy) and enjoyable to stay in. Well we definatley found it, no hotel rooms for us as fun was to be had whilst getting ready for a night out right through to returning back and sharing a night cap. The Phoenix rooms are delightful, easy to find and from the begining to the end of the stay the owner was ever so helpful. This is a 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment with nice big lounge and kitchen. You can stay for just 1 night which is a rare find for an apartment and its central location is fab. It is plush and comfy inside with plenty of room for dancing (and hula hooping - which we were rubbish at) tastefully decorated in a contempoary manner. There is little you need to take as it is well equipped, just a hair drying missing,which the Phoenix beauty lounge just below lent us anyway) and a bath mat. This is great for friends or family, is spacious and nothing is too much trouble for the owner. I hope your stay will be as amazing as ours was.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenKarl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
350 reviews
6 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Rooms

Address: Prince Albert Row 73 Station Parade, Harrogate HG1 1ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced apartments in the centre of town, featuring en-suite accommodation and roof terrace ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Phoenix Rooms Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing