We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meal @ Lucia's Wine Bar and Grill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucia Wine Bar & Grill

Lucia Wine Bar & Grill
Ranked #41 of 433 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Mediterranean, European, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned restaurant serves Italian, Spanish and Mediterranean dishes with world class cocktails in a holiday type of feeling at our cosy indoor and outdoor space.
Rosyth, Fife
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meal @ Lucia's Wine Bar and Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We visited Lucia's on recommendation of our hotel staff. We called and booked a table for the Sat night of our trip. Arrived at Lucia's to be told they do not take bookings for groups of less than 10 and do not take bookings for weekends (from what we saw their busiest time)! Couple in front of usnhad same experience.
We were offered a table on balcony if we wished to wait which we accepted. Half an hour & couple of glases later we were shown to our table. Meal served pretty quickly considering the place seemed to be working flat out. Well cooked and presented and staff very cheery. We had wine with the meal but one of Lucia's specialities is cocktails which appeared to be very popular on our visit (my wife and I not keen on cocktails).
Overall a good experience from a relatively new eaterie and bar. TIP: CHECK when calling for a table that you CAN actually book or be prepared for a lengthy wait. My view is that not all staff answering the phone know about bookings etc.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals.
We are sorry for any confusion our booking system may have caused. We operate a walk-in policy on Saturday nights so as not to have to turn any guests away. Unfortunately this means a slight wait for a table but we guarantee all our guests to get seated. For every other night of the week we only take bookings for large parties of 8 or more.
We will look in to the situation with the staff answering the phone and apologise for the misunderstanding.
We hope this hasn't put you off coming to visit us again.
Lucia wine bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    254
    90
    59
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port talbot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great meal in a chilled environment ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Had a 10 min wait for a table but wasn't a problem , was nice to just chill and have a drink.
We ate outside , lovely surroundings , staff were so friendly & helpful , service was met with a smile ,nothing was to much trouble .
I ordered the the burger & my with had the chicken burger , superb quality and very tasty.
Thanks again to the staff , always accommodating and made the experience of eating there a pleasure ,
Will be back again

Helpful?
Thank Dippydash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for the the kind words. Our staff work very hard to ensure guests have an enjoyable, relaxed experience and we are always pleased to hear when customers have left happy.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Lucia wine bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stopped here for a couple of cocktails, great atmposphere, excellent priced cocktails, wish we could have eaten but we didnt book and was a long wait for a table!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chloelouise1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your cocktails. For future reference, we don't take bookings for parties of less than 8, we operate a walk-in service so we don't have to turn any guests away. If there isn't a table available straight away we will put you on a waiting list and guarantee you a table. It's worth the wait! Do come back and try us again.l
Lucia wine bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ups and downs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Went for a drink on our first night and enjoyed the ambience, cocktails and general feel of the place. Tried to call to book for food the following night and rang around 7 times but each time the call was not answered. Ended up eating in our hotel. Disappointing that no one picked up the phone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank trekkerayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your cocktails with us and we are very sorry you were not able to get in contact the following night. We apologise that nobody got round to answering the phone, we are not sure why this happened. We hope this hasn't deterred you from trying us again next time you are in Harrogate. For future reference; we only take bookings for large parties of 8 or more, Sunday- Friday. We operate a walk-in service and try and have all our guests seated as soon as we can. So if you chose to dine with us again there is no need to make a reservation.
Hope to see you again soon
Lucia wine bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Harrogate's finest new place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Lucia is in a great location, the staff are super friendly and go out of their way to be helpful, and the food is delicious. Sitting outside on the terrace on a summer evening is just sublime.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUCIAWINEBAR, Public Relations Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanks for the lovely feedback. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and superb location. Do come back and try us again soon!
Lucia wine bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucia Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lucia Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing