We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very friendy owner, nice place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The farm buildings are in Yorkshire stone and date from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The farm buildings are in Yorkshire stone and date from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
There's plenty of room to eat in the kitchen The red bedroom has a super kingsize bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The farm buildings are in Yorkshire stone and date from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
There's plenty of room to eat in the kitchen
The red bedroom has a super kingsize bed
The beamed sitting room has masses of space and character
A fire adds atmosphere, but isn't really necessary since we installed biomass heating.
Table tennis and snooker are available in the adjoining barn by arrangement
This table can seat eight for a gracious dinner party.
Hartwith is a peaceful setting with lovely views
Most families take their children to Brimham Rocks almost every day because it is so near
The barn has a large private area of garden
Roses on the barn
The entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Harrogate, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SilviaM70...
1 review
“Very friendy owner, nice place to stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The owners are very nice, the place is located in a beautiful spot. The house is spacious and has lovely interior. It's quite close to Brimham Rocks.
There were problems with the Internet. You can find dust in some corners.
The children can run around, even if its rainy, the house is spacious enough. Playing table tennis was fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space, friendly owner, great area
Liked least: dust in the corners
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spurriers
somerset
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy barn conversion in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We rented this cottage for Christmas to be with our family and near extended family in Ripon. It was ideal for us - well-equipped and comfortable. We enjoyed eating in the farmhouse style kitchen and the large sitting room with woodburner was very cosy. We used the dining room on Xmas day. My sons and husband enjoyed using the snooker and ping pong tables in the outer part of the barn. As I cooked a Christmas dinner for 8 I found the cooker was a bit small but overall everything was generously provisioned. The owners were helpful and friendly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyLim
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family friend fun”
Reviewed 24 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A roomy 3 bedroom apartment with access to a snooker table and table tennis, on a farm, just over a biomass boiler, with views over the owner's farm, and the expansive fields of Yorkshire. We felt like family being welcomed by Diana. The accommodation is comfortable and roomy with plenty of games, not including the snooker table in the adjoining barn and the table tennis table upstairs of that barn. Within 5 minutes of the Brimham Rocks and 15 minutes of Fountain Abbey. Absolutely fabulous, especially because the lack of WiFi meant the teenagers had to engage in the family activities!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to games / snooker / table tennis / attractions
Liked least: Lack of WiFi, but they don't advertise it.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O
Turlock
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dales delight”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The property is nicer than it appears on the website. The views of the surrounding fields are superb and the property itself spacious with everything you need. Diana, the owner is friendly and helpful and you are well located for Harrogate, Ripley and Fountains Abbey. Walks are possible from the back door. Thoroughly recommended. The lane you enter to find the house is labelled Cow Cross Farm (not barn) so can be a little confusing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and comfort.
Liked least: Poor wifi service.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul a
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Ideal location between the Dales and Leeds / Harrogate so all bases covered for various weather outcomes.

Diana was very helpful, but the barn has everything you need for a relaxing stay, and is much bigger than the photo's suggest.

Highly recommended !

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fmorris89
1 review
“My dream home”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The owners are very accommodating. I went with my mum, toddler and twins, the owner provided a cot, travel cot and highchairs for me which was very useful as it meant I didn't have to pack so much. The property is a lovely barn conversion with gorgeous interior. There was plenty of room for the children to play in the property and was very child friendly. All the rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. My stay at the cottage was lovely and I will be going back. I highly recommend this holiday cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing