We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 20:00
Save
Review Highlights
INTERESTING AND FUN DAY OUT WITH YORTOURS - ALL CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL

We booked as a couple a full day out to explore the TV locations of the current series of All... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
lozhawksworth
FANTASTIC DAY OUT WITH NICK - ALL CREATURES GREAT & SMALL TV LOCATIONS

We booked a full day tour with Nick, YorTours to visit the TV film locations of the All Creatures... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Hannahlpercy
Read all 233 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
232
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
232
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour guide yorkshire dales full day tour york minster thought of everything lake district fantastic tour nick smith knowledge punctual itinerary bronte interests tailor creatures homes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2023 via mobile

Nick is above and beyond. We’ve done many many tours, Nick called us the evening before to set everything up and make sure we got in alright as we took the train to York the night before, he met us with enthusiasm to drive us in a lovely car with water, tissues, whatever we needed and added some sites and stops in on our way to Thirsk. He was incredibly knowledgeable about Alf Wight (James Herriot) about his life, the books and the TV show and even filming locations. He recommended our hotel- The Grand York which was nothing short of excellent. He recommended some lunch spots and we chatted all through getting to know each other and about his life in Yorkshire. He provided an incredible gift basket tailored to us with a book about the filming of the new All Creatures Great and Small, Yorkshire pudding beer, local chocolates and tea, and some research on James Herriot and the Chocolate history of York along with some prints and postcards of the famous vet. He waited for our train with us and made sure the luggage was stowed. You will get 5 star plus service with Nick who will tailor your tour to your interests! We would love to tour with him again if we are back this side of the pond!

Date of experience: April 2023
Thank DrMeow23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick S, Owner at YorTours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2023

Well what can I say ; let me start with a heartfelt "thank you". As a professional & qualified Blue Badge Tourist Guide - this means so much , not just to myself but to our profession too. You made my task to provide you both with a day by being both "interested" plus "interesting" visitors; allowing me to assist in opening the wonderful delights to experience before you. Thank you so much. Nick, Business Founder/Owner YorTours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2023 via mobile

I booked a full day tour for myself and partner; to follow the filming sets & locations of the TV series "All Creatures Great & Small " . Wow what a brilliant day we had with Nick of YorTours. He gave us a genuine warm welcome at our hotel in York and "whisked us off" to Thirsk in his fabulous Mercedes . He gave us such a great insight on the way; he knew all the film locations "inside out" and the best places to stop for photos - and anecdotes. I won't tell you more - you just have to go out with Nick for what will be the best day you can imagine. Thanks - you gave us so much .

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank MicHan102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick S, Owner at YorTours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

I'm delighted that you both had such an wonderful day, from "Darrowby" as the key film location and many more which you recognised so enthusiastically too ! It really was such a pleasure to host this special day for you both and look forward to your return again to "experience" and "taste / breathe in " Yorkshire .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2022

We spent five days with one the best and most sensational guides you could ever imagine. Nick checks all the boxes. He is extremely knowledgeable and designed an amazing itinerary for us to explore a section of Great Britain. As you travel with him you soon realize that he has a wonderful wit and a remarkable knowledge of the history of Great Britain. He shares this information with such skill and enthusiasm that you become immersed in his accounts of these past events. Nick has unlimited energy and it is evident that he truly enjoys and loves what he is doing.
You consistently feel comfortable with Nick because he has an attention to detail that makes you acutely aware that you don't have to worry because Nick has it covered, and he does!!! He is always thinking ahead to make sure that your needs are met. He has a kind nature, adapts to any situation and at all times he is thinking of you and your best interest as his first priority. His motto is that you are “on vacation” and he is going to make sure that he does everything possible to help you enjoy your holiday.
As you are planning your trip and hoping to find that tour guide who will make your trip memorable and worry free then you should contact Nick Smith.

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank chrisfV9348HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick S, Owner at YorTours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2022

Well, what can I possibly say to thank this couple for their detailed, carefully worded review of their experiences in UK over the 5 days. I was assisted in delivery by my fellow Blue Badge Tour Guide John McFerran; who delighted and exceeded their expectations in Chester, Port Sunlight and the Lady Lever Art Gallery. The Lake district, Hadrian's Wall and Rosslyn Chapel never fail to inspire and delight. Thanks to those who contributed to make this a success. Thank you both so much for making our task so much easier and clearly inspirational .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2022

Nick’s meticulous attention to detail was reflected in every aspect of our five days with him. We had a number of requests. Not only did he meet those, he interpreted our interests, offering new insights and richness to our stay. He was across everything, answered and expanded on our questions and placed historical details in their context so we Australians felt included in the grand scheme of things! Nick is a lively and charming companion who knows the best places for afternoon tea, among other things.

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank Coasting10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick S, Owner at YorTours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2022

Thank you both for your most comprehensive review which will be of such interest to travelers considering a multi day 5 or 4 day tour experience with YorTours. You made it enjoyable for myself as your professional Blue Badge driver guide; so I was able to share more with you during each of those 5 days. I hope to remain "lively" too ! Thank you again . Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2022

Nick runs an excellent service for all our clients who have used his services during their stay at Harrogate Lifestyle Luxury Serviced Apartments. Whether he is helping them with an airport transfer and peace of mind check-in/out or on the FANTASTIC tours he operates around the area. Nick is always my first point of call whenever guests are asking about tour guide excursions as I am confident that his customer service is second to none. He always goes the extra mile (excuse the pun) for all my guests and is so knowledgeable about the tours he offers his service is first class.
I have personally had the pleasure of a car tour of Harrogate testing out his services and knowledge before and was so pleased with the complete experience. His white rose is a truly lovely thoughtful touch.

Date of experience: October 2022
1  Thank Explore451450
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick S, Owner at YorTours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2022

Thank you for taking the time out to review our services. This will be of great help and interest to potential travelers to the UK . Nick Smith - Owner/founder YorTours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews