We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 20:00
Review Highlights
INTERESTING AND FUN DAY OUT WITH YORTOURS - ALL CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL

We booked as a couple a full day out to explore the TV locations of the current series of All... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
lozhawksworth
FANTASTIC DAY OUT WITH NICK - ALL CREATURES GREAT & SMALL TV LOCATIONS

We booked a full day tour with Nick, YorTours to visit the TV film locations of the All Creatures... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Hannahlpercy
Read all 233 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
232
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
232
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour guide yorkshire dales full day tour york minster thought of everything lake district fantastic tour nick smith knowledge punctual itinerary bronte interests tailor creatures homes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2023

Nick Smith of YorTours is highly recommended as a professional and knowledgable tour guide. He brought us to York from our previous destination in Southern England. He showed us around the area at many principal sites with expert discussion on historic details and context. We modified one particular day to see Hadrian’s Wall and it was well worth it. Alnwick Castle was also very memorable, rich in a history laid out by Nick with genuine enthusiasm. If you’ve never had a private tour guide when visiting a new country, give it a try. England’s historical grandeur is well served by Nick. Also to be noted is his attention to detail, service, and flexibility. We were also presented with a nice sampling of various local wares along the way. (What these are I leave for you to find out and experience.). He went above and beyond in returning a lost item to us.
Cheers to Nick for a great experience of England!

Date of experience: June 2023
1  Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick S, Owner at YorTours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2023

Thank you both for your interest in England and in your multi day tours which I was delighted to provide experiences for you. Clearly you enjoyed yourselves and what we were able to offer in this stunning part of Britain. Thank you for your most detailed summary and for sharing with other potential visitors. Most kind. Nick Smith - founder, YorTours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2023

Our family had an amazing day touring the scenes from All Creatures Great and Small and the Yorkshire Dales! Nick was extremely polite, friendly, great with the whole family, but most importantly extremely knowledgeable. He explained the scenes from the show as well as the Dales landscape and history. He engaged well with the kids as well as my wife and I. We visited York specifically for this experience and were delighted with our choice of guides.

Date of experience: July 2023
1  Thank Mcnaasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick S, Owner at YorTours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2023

Delighted to host this special day for you all and what an experience we all had too ! I'm really pleased you so enjoyed your family day together and that this was one of the key highlights of your extended vacation across Europe. Thanks again . Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2023

Over the years we have experienced many private tours. This was our first '4-hour walking' tour. Nick Smith is simply the best. Our time with him was well beyond the 4 hours and he would have spent more time had we not needed to go onto other personal business. Nick's knowledge of the area, history and personal stories was so much appreciated.
Nick picked us up at our hotel on time (actually early) and presented us a gift bag of local fare. We then proceeded to discuss what to see and off we went from there. He went beyond by taking us through our tour of York Minster and pointing out so much of the history that we would have missed had we gone on our own.
A one-in-a-million tour guide.

Date of experience: June 2023
1  Thank Craig-T-Coffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick S, Owner at YorTours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2023

I must say how grateful, excited and delighted to hear of your most detailed feedback on your recent experiences with YorTours. A delight to host you both for our short time together, your interest made it so much easier for me to provide an experience you clearly enjoyed too ! Looking forward to hosting your next visit to England. Thank you. Nick .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2023

Nick is really something special. We were traveling as a family of 5, with three children under twelve, and they loved him as much as we did! Nick is knowledgeable, kind, thoughtful, and goes above and beyond. He never rushed us, even with the kids, and shared so much information and local perspective. We left him feeling as if we had made a close friend in the Dales, one that we would/will try to see/hire again when we are next in the area! I HIGHLY recommend Nick, as your friendly key to exploring Yorkshire… he was truly exceptional. We had another tour guide later in our trip, in another area of England, and it only highlighted how wonderful Nick was- I can’t say enough!

Date of experience: April 2023
1  Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick S, Owner at YorTours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2023

I am honestly blown away with your kindness, what a delight to host you all in Yorkshire. Luck played its part too, with the weather and some great luck! Yorkshire welcomes you back with a heart the size of this county itself. Thank you . Nick,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2023 via mobile

Nick is above and beyond. We’ve done many many tours, Nick called us the evening before to set everything up and make sure we got in alright as we took the train to York the night before, he met us with enthusiasm to drive us in a lovely car with water, tissues, whatever we needed and added some sites and stops in on our way to Thirsk. He was incredibly knowledgeable about Alf Wight (James Herriot) about his life, the books and the TV show and even filming locations. He recommended our hotel- The Grand York which was nothing short of excellent. He recommended some lunch spots and we chatted all through getting to know each other and about his life in Yorkshire. He provided an incredible gift basket tailored to us with a book about the filming of the new All Creatures Great and Small, Yorkshire pudding beer, local chocolates and tea, and some research on James Herriot and the Chocolate history of York along with some prints and postcards of the famous vet. He waited for our train with us and made sure the luggage was stowed. You will get 5 star plus service with Nick who will tailor your tour to your interests! We would love to tour with him again if we are back this side of the pond!

Date of experience: April 2023
Thank DrMeow23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick S, Owner at YorTours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2023

Well what can I say ; let me start with a heartfelt "thank you". As a professional & qualified Blue Badge Tourist Guide - this means so much , not just to myself but to our profession too. You made my task to provide you both with a day by being both "interested" plus "interesting" visitors; allowing me to assist in opening the wonderful delights to experience before you. Thank you so much. Nick, Business Founder/Owner YorTours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews