We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pub for miles...!”
Review of Lamb and Flag

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamb and Flag
Ranked #82 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best pub for miles...!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I've been a regular visitor to the village of Bishop Monkton for over 4 years now and I'm never dissappointed by what has to be one of the best traditional pubs in Yorkshire... The landlord provides great well kept beers and his wife serves up fantastic food, their Sunday lunch carvery isn't to be missed and the quality during the week is equally as good - the fish & chips are my favourite... In the winter months there's an open fire to keep warm by and in the summer plenty of seating & tables out at the front. It's well worth a visit!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyWicky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    12
    4
    1
    8
See reviews for
8
37
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at this delightful pub for three nights and I must say we really enjoyed our stay
The accommodation was just right,was reasonably priced, the room nice and clean and
we loved the idea of having a breakfast on tap in the room.
We dined three nights in a row here and had something different each night.
The food was top notch and we both enjoyed our meals especially my other half who took delight in the puddings.
We found both Carol and Trevor very friendly and accommodating and we had a lovely time here. I would personally recommend this B&B to friends etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muttley65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights over the August bank holiday, booked all 3 rooms, rooms very spacious and clean. Good variety for continental breakfast which is in the room.
Would certainly recommend this b and b.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Don't usually write reviews but felt compelled to after reading some of the negative ones. Had a lovely two night stay here and couldn't have been better looked after. Everyone very friendly and we really enjoyed "Friday Pool Night"! Super base for the races, Food lovely, didn't feel the need to drink or eat elsewhere. Champers on ice as we arrived, bliss! Love the breakfast in the room idea, no pressure to be up and out! Fountains room lovely Thanks to you both of you, if we're ever up there again we will be calling in!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoncasterPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We were staying in the campsite out the back, so cannot comment on the accommodation. However, we had an evening meal which was fabulous! And very cheap. Would def go back to the Lamb and Flag.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackbird10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I booked a room here for my friend and I as we were going to a wedding nearby. I assumed it would be 'cheap and cheerful' however we were pleasantly suprised. The pub itself is quite traditional and we ate a great value lunch here prior to checking in to our room.

The rooms are in a seperate block out the back and were very well equipped, beautifully decorated and more than spacious with a modern and clean bathroom.

Carol was very helpful and went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed.

The bed was very comfy and I had a great night's sleep with the exception of being woken early by the couple in the room next door, who were clearly having a good time!

All in all a great stay in a beautiful village setting and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The room next to ours had a private terrace which looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We didnt stay here but in the cottages next door.
We didnt eat here we ate at the Masons Arms (very good).

We did drink here though a couple of nights.
Yep the Landlord is a grumpy git but in the natural style of an English landlord. His Mrs was much more polite and helpful.

It does get hot in this pub especially when they are serving food, nice seating area out front.
He kept a good pint but his prices for some of his shorts were a little steep.

Worth a visit just for the Landlord experience.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fourtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrogate
11.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,239 reviews
4.3 mi away
The General Tarleton Inn
The General Tarleton Inn
#1 of 1 in Ferrensby
367 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
1.9 mi away
The George
The George
#30 of 100 in Harrogate
55 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blackamoor Inn
Blackamoor Inn
#7 of 19 in Ripon
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Flag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Flag

Property: Lamb and Flag
Address: Boroughbridge Road | Bishop Monkton, Harrogate HG3 3QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamb and Flag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Flag Hotel Harrogate
Lamb And Flag Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing