We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamb and Flag

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamb and Flag
Ranked #76 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked late and stayed for two nights. Ensuite had bath which was nice as normally only get shower. Room was fine. Hosts very friendly. Food was excellent Ate in Pub second night of stay only regret was that we went elsewhere to eat first night, was nicest pub meal ever had real quality food excellently cooked! Breakfast was lovely too again excellent quality and lovely not to have to eat at set time so appreciated being able to eat at leisure in room. Will definately be returning and recommending to friends. lovely village.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    12
    4
    0
    8
See reviews for
8
37
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

stayed for 2 nights in the fountains room... very comfortable and we were lucky enough to have some sunshine to enjoy the small outside patio area. The pub food was lovely and we felt very well looked-after. We appreciated the breakfast provided in the room-fridge - worked very well for us. good position with easy access to Ripon, the races and Boroughbridge. would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happydays19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
232 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Our friends had booked overnight accommodation at the Harlow Carr Hotel (formerly Harrogate Arms) in Harrogate as we were en-route to the Lake District. Well, arrived and it had closed down. A visit to the T.I.C in Harrogate and we were found two rooms in The Barn at the Lamb and Flag pub in Bishop Monkton, near Ripon. What a result, we had a twin and a double between us, both en-suite. Evening meal at the pub was smashing (especially aubergine + walnut bake) brekky is a d.i.y job, as each room has a fridge, so plenty of cereal, fresh fruit, bread and fruit loaf for toasting, ham, cheese and preserves, yogurts and beverages. Delicious and a very civilised way to start the day - breakfast in bed! The king-size room has the advantage of a private patio, lovely. Will definitely return and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Absolutely loved it! I took my dad on Father's Day for a nice Sunday lunch! One of the best roasts we have had!
Didn't expect such a nice quality of food from pub! And of course beer was excellent ! Defenately will come again!
Thanks to wonderful service! Made our day!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feebee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

The Fountains roomhas a lovely sunny patio for breakfasts in the sun. The hosts are keen to make your stay enjoyable. It is a country pub with good food, good beer and a friendly atmosphere.
The offer of gluten free food is a welcome addition to a range of quality local food and drink.

Room Tip: The Fountains room is large and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our two night stay at the village pub in the Rievaulx Room was lovely.The room was spacious with lounge, lounge chair, desk, coffee table, large double bed, bedside tables & wardrobe, & modern bathroom with good shower. Beaut exposed beams, & very clean.
Everything as we like. Exceptional value for money, & lovely genuine village pub with good ales & tasty well priced evening food.
Continental style breakfast in room (in fridge) worked really well for us
Highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: Spacious Rievaulx Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozgreynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We booked a stay because of the great reviews given, we were a little surprised that the place did not live up to them. Were we unlucky? The room was small it looked like a single room with a double bed put in, a single wardrobe and bedside side table. Bathroom was nice and a good size, spotlessly clean?.....well the grouting going black around the bath which was looking a little yellow. The breakfast was as stated and plenty to eat but again had to eat on your lap as only place to sit at the table/desk...the couple were friendly enough and gave us no concerns, the food we had in the pub was cheaper enough, but saying that it was also very ordinary. The village was a delightful,peaceful and had everything you needed....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
8.0 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
6.6 mi away
Sophie's B&B
Sophie's B&B
#59 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#23 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#57 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chequers inn
Chequers inn
#55 of 104 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Wellington Inn
The Wellington Inn
#29 of 104 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Flag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Flag

Property: Lamb and Flag
Address: Boroughbridge Road | Bishop Monkton, Harrogate HG3 3QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lamb and Flag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Flag Hotel Harrogate
Lamb And Flag Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing