We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must experience!”

The Orchid Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Orchid Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 442 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$45
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Singaporean, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Harrogate
Description: The eponymous Orchid Restaurant, Harrogate at it's inception was one of the first pan Asian restaurants in the UK and is now well established in the North Yorkshire region and beyond.The menu at Orchid Restaurant draws heavily on the influences of true oriental flavours in a modern style. Created by Bokmun Chan, this special setting has been recaptured not only through the menu, but also it's mango and dark wood interiors, separated by Japanese lattice style screens. The brigade is managed under the watch of Kenneth Poon, former Michelin Head Chef of the Dorchester Hotel.The Orchid opened in Harrogate in May, 2001 and has since won many awards and accolades for it's cuisine, presently holding 2 rosettes.The Orchid has become synonymous with excellent quaity pan-Asian cuisine and professional service for many years. Why wait, come and enjoy the experience...
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must experience!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Studley Hotel and booked in at the Orchid as we had read previous excellent reviews and they weren't wrong. This was the best food we had all weekend and we are planning to return as soon as possible.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tower4dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    870
    200
    53
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with excellant food”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My partner and I booked to stay at the Studley Hotel and dine at the Orchid following a recommendation from my daughter.
From the very first moment we were made to feel welcome and we retired to the O bar to partake in a predinner cocktail. The barman is very accomplished and mixed two wonderful drinks for us ... a mojito and a cucumber fizz. Very nice.
We then took our seats in the restaurant and we were looked after like regular customers returning again to a favourite place even though it was our first visit. We felt very comfortable and the table was dressed with both chopsticks and knife and fork so no embarrassment admitting you can't use chopsticks.
The menu is extensive with some additional spring specials and we enjoyed everything we had. There is food from Singapore, Thailand, Hong Kong and japan and all dishes are well described and the staff will give more information if needed.
I would recommend the weeping tiger which I had and my husband enjoyed his special wok fried seafood dish. Everything was delicious and we also had puddings - creme brulee for me and mini custard tarts for my husband.
The 3 course meal for the two of us with the cocktails, a couple of beers, large wine and a liquer coffee to finish was just over £100. Not cheap but a really great evening.

I will certainly go back and there are lots more things on the menu I would like to try.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great mix of far Eastern food”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Really pleasantly surprised at this restaurant. Stayed in the hotel & eat here twice. Would definitely think of staying here again just to visit the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Food good and service good and good value for money

Helpful?
Thank JRiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonerful place to eat”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The food served here at lunch time is consistantlyof such good quality that we eat here at least once a week. When so many places now serve freezer fare with no interest or anything to make one want to return, its such good place to be.
Its not just us that like the place. On the way out there are more restaurant awards on display than I've ever seen for one place.
Try it you will not be disappointed and with two courses for £9.95, your wallet will like it even better.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isobarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orchid Restaurant also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing