We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back on form”
Review of The Black Swan

The Black Swan
Ranked #105 of 386 Restaurants in Harrogate
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A Village Pub and Eating House with beautiful Gardens and surrounding. A warm Friendly atmosphere with real fires in the winter and sunny relaxing gardens in the summer. locally soured seasonal menus always available.
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We've not been to the Swan for a while & a sunny Friday lunchtime seemed an ideal time to visit the large quiet beer garden to try it out again. Not at all busy inside despite a good number of cars outside so we found a big table in the rearmost garden area.
The style of menu & it's content looks rather 'chain pub' but the food is actually far better than that. We went for the £7 meal options (masham sausages & mash, chicken & bacon, feta & olive tart) & these plus 4 drinks & 1 pud came to £36.
The garden was always a great advantage of the Swan, I'm glad to say the food is now back on form & it's worth visiting again for a casual lunch with friends or family.

Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPPY_11, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review,glad you feel that we've bounced back Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Popped in a few months ago - they had a new chef but weren't serving food at the time - had a look around and thought yes we will look forward to going back.
Went in this evening, car park was busy - good sign, thought lets get a drink and decide on our plans.
Shocked is the only way I can describe the outrageous price we were then charged for drinks. £1.70 for a soda and lime! You don't even get charged that in the West End!
If you have a venue that generally requires guests to have a driver in the party it is unfortunate that you can not get the revenue from expensive drinks - I can understand that, but charging such an astronomical amount for lime cordial (cost price about £0.05) and water (free!) is pathetic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Simon_Oe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPPY_11, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review it 's important for us to get an accurate balance of what our customer views are about our business. i'm sorry you feel this way about our pricing structure but you obviously have over looked several point that arise to us charging what we do. Could you please advise as where you can get free water as I've yet to find it. complementary water on our bar is welcomed by many guests as this is normally charged for by many establishments and our £7 menu is considered by many people that visit us as the best value around. i'm sorry that we haven't won your approval on this occasion but rest assured having been here for over 10 years and serving our community well we will en-devour to do so for many more years to come.
Kind Regards

Mark Hopkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Landlady is very friendly and helpful.The place has been transformed for the better. Food and service excellent,been several times and never been disappointed.

Thank paulineworrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Booked a table as had friends visiting from Barrow. Very welcoming and pleasant staff. There were 6 of us in our party and we all ate something different, food was delicious, excellent service, good choice of beers and wine (I had a few pints of Timothy Taylors Landlord which was very nice. We all had a brilliant evening and will definitely return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A bit late with this review as it was about a month ago that we called for lunch at the Black Swan, Burn Bridge. We were greeted with a big friendly smile from the young lady behind the bar, selected a table and ordered food. My wife selected the "small" Gammon dish whilst I went for the Cheese and Roast Pepper Tartlets. We were then approached by the chef/landlord - was something not available ? - no, he suggested I might like to try the Specials Board Tartlet as well ; I did, and the food was excellent. I shudder to think what the regular gammon dish looks like as the "small" offering was enormous. Thanks for a pleasant lunch break, Black Bull, we will return at some point,and I would recommend to anyone passing to call in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank groovyxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing