We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageously expensive”
Review of The Wharf House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wharf House
Ranked #2 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gloucestershire, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outrageously expensive”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Last minute decision to go for a meal to celebrate family (four adults, two children) birthday. Staff efficient, food mediocre (very small portions) and bill unbelievable...three course meal for six, three glasses of wine, four soft drinks....£222.00!!! Included discretionary service charge (staff decision...not ours) of 10%. Pity...if priced more realistically, we might have gone again. Very disappointing ..felt taken advantage of so sadly, won't be going back.

Room Tip: Did not stay over
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karlos0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
We note from your other reviews that you appreciate 'two meals for £10' at a chain carvery - if that is what you wish then fine - we don't serve that, have no wish to and never will.

I am sorry that you turned up on spec without doing any research and chose completely the wrong establishment to visit. When you saw the menu and the prices you should have realised it was not the place you wished and left.

We would request that customers look at our website before visiting us. All our menus are online with prices.

Please don't blame the restaurant when you clearly chose the wrong place to visit, that is not fair to the team who work very hard to produce quality. It you want cheap chain pile it high please go to those establishments don't come to us and then slag us off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    56
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
20
117
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed here overnight and had to re-arrnage due to the weather in January, they where so accomadating and changed the dates no fuss!

Arrived Sunday eve after a days shopping and was met with a friendly smile and taken to our room... WOW what a room

Big double bed with lovely fresh white sheets, sumptous bed very comfortable

Views over the canal outside fantastic, even better in the summer no doubt, especialy when you can sit outside on the veranda!

The bath... well it was one of those "spa baths" forgive me if ive got it wrong... well very relaxing and the shower well... i was looking for it found the controls and was shocked when it came out of the ceiling ...

Over all we couldnt fault the Wharf House... thoroughly reommend and cant wait to go back

5 star comfort at a reasobale price!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluedave789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
very many thanks for your lovely review, good to hear you enjoyed your visit! Indeed the terrace is lovely in the summer and hope that you may get to enjoy it on your next visit, nothing better than breakfast overlooking the river.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We chose this overnight stay for my husband's birthday treat, and we needed dog friendly accommodation so Rush could come too. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we decided to have lunch in the restaurant before looking around the area. We were very glad we did, as the the quality of the ingredients was superb at a very reasonable price for a freshly prepared meal. The bedrooms were very comfortable (kingsize and twin), and the dog friendly room is in an annexe, so you can easily access the outside as required. There are several walks directly from wharf house, including access to the town along the cycle path, and a long walk along the canal towpath. Wharf House is on a junction, so there is some road noise outside, but nothing too bad, and the rooms and restaurant were certainly quiet. We would certainly recommend this stay and will hopefully be back ourselves some day.

Room Tip: There is one dog friendly room, which is in ground floor annexe and has a kingsize bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GowerEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review, and are very pleased that you and Rush enjoyed your visit. The annex room really is perfect for our four legged friends and we expect to see a lot more over the summer! Thanks for your king comments and look forward to seeign you and Rush again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Firstly the staff mixed up the booking date. On arrival asked to fill in breakfast form for next morning (this is a complaint that appears to have been ongoing for over a YEAR, take note). Room was stifling at 26 degrees (complaint going back OVER A YEAR BY OTHERS). Found manager???, asked him to fix it. 45 mins later discovered him drinking in bar having done nothing. He tried twice to fix to no avail. Agreed discount and that he would tell staff so no problem at checkout. They knew nothing next morning and agreed paltry £12.99 (initial offer £10) after making a phone call. Breakfast service hopeless: young girl counting money at till OUT LOUD, chef/waiter brough hot croissant but took ages to get butter or jam. Then louched all over girl at counter with waistband from underpants clearly visible. Staff seem utterly unaware of anyone but themselves. Very misleading location description as it looks to be a lovely canalside but in reality is more about being beside a busy dual carriageway. And when the room is 26 degrees all night window open and incredibly noisy. Take your £85 and spend it elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the twin, it's 26 degrees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Having visited the restaurant for the 6th time.... My wife and I are still not bored of the beef carpaccio. A fantastic starter pleasantly laid out. We followed this with homemade fresh bread, oil and olives, followed by a glass of Spanish red.. Roja (from a wide selection of various wines (local and international)).

My wife decided to try the rack of lamb, while I went for the fillet of beef. Both dishes were cooked to perfection.

For dessert I tried a ginger and treacle tart, while my wife had a fantastic plate of cheese and biscuits.

Best restaurant in Gloucester.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The cheerful young staff always give us a grand welcome at this small and friendly hotel and it was lovely to return there again. The food and wine were superb, and the bed amazingly comfortable in a room full of little extras. We lingered after breakfast and read all about the restoration of the Hereford & Gloucester canal in the Wharf House's Visitor Centre. And we found a few seasonal extras in the intriguing range of goodies in the shop. It is both a relaxing base for visiting the area and a conveniently placed pitstop, overlooking the Severn, to break a journey.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Glad to be back for another visit. As always, the happy, young and friendly staff provided a welcoming family atmosphere. Our meals were delicious, with interesting and inventive details and fully justifying the restaurant's award of an AA Rosette, and we had a blissfully comfortable and peaceful night. Lovely!

Room Tip: We've stayed in several of the rooms and all were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.4 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
1.0 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
616 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf House

Property: The Wharf House
Address: Over, Gloucester GL2 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wharf House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA Red Rosette 4 Gold Star Restaurant with Rooms serving quality freshley prepared produce. 7 lovely ensuite rooms of real character with views of the Canal or River inclucing one ground floor room with independant access which is suitable for dogs and is fully accessable. We would strongly request and advise advance Reservations for the Restaurant. Signature dishes such as Venison rolled in Walnut with a sauce of red currants with a hint of Dark Chocolate and vegeterian and fish dishes that show imagination feature.Please note that we do not have a childrens menu but welcome young diners who will not disturb our other guests and wish to experience the normal a la carte menu. Our menus are designed as three courses, with side dishes available for those who wish, but the option to choose less courses if you wish less. We also offer both an Original and Vegeterian 7 course Tasting Menu. We would recomend bookings at least 48 hours in advance as some dates can be booked weeks in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wharf House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf House Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing