We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality food”
Review of The Wharf House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wharf House
Ranked #3 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Top quality food”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We visited for a light lunch on a Saturday. The atmosphere was calm, staff were attentive but not overly so, which made it quite relaxed. The food was superb, everything made on the premises and the quality was excellent, and it was beautifully presented. I really enjoyed the nice touch of tiny taste-size desserts with the coffee after the meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    57
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
20
118
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our room smelled of sh... it was dusty , no drawers to put clothes in just had a wardrobe, the toilet needed a good clean. The stairs was full of stains it was really quite awful for the price, the breakfast was adequate and most days nothing was laid out you had to ask for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lg_hall8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I am very sorry if any aspect of your stay was not to your satisfaction. I am most confused that over 4 days no issue was ever raised with any of the staff and no opportunity was given for us to solve any issues for you. There was most definately no smell in the room before or after your stay, and we receive extensive praise for the brilliant work our cleaners do in providing imaculate rooms for our guests - anything that was missed (it does happen sometimes - we are all human, but we are not aware of anythign on this occassion) would have been immeidately put right if at any point in your stay you had made any comment to any member of staff. We always strive to resolve any issues that guests bring to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We went for the vegetarian taster menu - all food was delicious and beautifully presented. In particular we loved the mini filos with goats cheese and red onion. The main course was a little disappointing - a big filo pie with a kind of ratatouille filling which was quite bland. We were given two desserts, one of which was a lemon mousse, I'm not usually a big lemon dessert lover but this was outstanding. The restaurant was really quiet with just two other tables of six, this unfortunately made the atmosphere a bit soulless. Prices were also very high.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyHelenJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
very pleased you enjoyed the Vegeterain Tasting Menu, and hope to see you again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stopped here for two nights mid week in Sept 2013
small quaint & very good, If you dont know its owned by the canal trust not a big chain and all profits go to the trust, Food was amazing, not big portions but superb quality so we ate there both nights, and because the place is quite small its very personal. friendly staff
would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattBlack666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Very many thanks for the lovely review, pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLCHESTER
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We needed somewhere to stay before driving from one side of the country to the other. We just happened on The Wharf House after asking about places in a nearby farm shop (also to be recommended) They were very welcoming, the room was well appointed and a big plus they also did food which was excellent. A very good find.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadicnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Many thanks for lovely review - glad the Farm Shop recomended you, normally they act in a very helpful role of directing those who have got lost so are used to directing people to us! pleased you enjoyed your stay and dinner and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Clean, well finished family room, accommodating and helpful staff, good breakfast, problem was noise from road and then from extractor we think, only solution was to unplug room key which takes off all power to lights etc so lots of stumbling in dark, also lack of individual lights made it difficult for one of family to read whilst others slept.

Room Tip: Steep stairs and road noise side and front of hotel, need to be aware and discuss when book if likel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We would highly recommend a stay here. We stayed over the bank holiday when the boat festival was taking place there. Enjoyed every moment there. Hotel & room very clean and comfortable with lovely jacuzzi bath and body products to use.
But best of all was the top class food. We had the taster menu and every course was superb. Everything tasted freshly made and was so perfectly cooked, couldn't fault anything including the cooked breakfasts both mornings.
Some of the best food we've had in a long time, keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boothmelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay and the Tasting Menu and hope we may see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,127 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
618 reviews
1.2 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
625 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf House

Property: The Wharf House
Address: Over, Gloucester GL2 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wharf House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA Red Rosette 4 Gold Star Restaurant with Rooms serving quality freshley prepared produce. 7 lovely ensuite rooms of real character with views of the Canal or River inclucing one ground floor room with independant access which is suitable for dogs and is fully accessable. We would strongly request and advise advance Reservations for the Restaurant. Signature dishes such as Venison rolled in Walnut with a sauce of red currants with a hint of Dark Chocolate and vegeterian and fish dishes that show imagination feature.Please note that we do not have a childrens menu but welcome young diners who will not disturb our other guests and wish to experience the normal a la carte menu. Our menus are designed as three courses, with side dishes available for those who wish, but the option to choose less courses if you wish less. We also offer both an Original and Vegeterian 7 course Tasting Menu. We would recomend bookings at least 48 hours in advance as some dates can be booked weeks in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your The Wharf House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf House Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing