We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and a lovely stay”
Review of The Wharf House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wharf House
Ranked #2 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just got back from an overnight stay at this hotel. Room was everything you could hope for - even homemade biscuits in the room. The evening meal was fabulous. We really enjoyed every course and were very full by the end of the meal. Very attentive service and staff were pleasant. Breakfast was lovely too. Highly recommended and we would not hesitate to go back

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms would be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Room was lovely, food excellent, staff friendly except woman who checked us out. She was very abrupt which was an unfortunate end to a good stay. We went on a voucher for taster meal and service charge was 10% of original meal price (before voucher discount) which was a bit of a shock at the end as we hadn't realised this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSmith16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stopped off here when passing through Gloucester, and had an enjoyable, if rather expensive lunch . The restaurant is light and pleasant, the tables well spaced and the waitress was friendly and pleasant, making us welcome,and seeming genuinely pleased we were enjoying our lunch.
We agreed just to have a starter, but the portions were too small to be a light lunch, even with bread. My daughter had a chicken terrine that was delicious, but there were only three little slices. I had scrumptious scollops, slightly smokey, on a strange bed of pulverised carrot. We agreed that we should not last until Oxford unless we had a pudding. This was a good decision, and we both enjoyed treacle tart and cream. A cup of tea each, with tiny, perfect petit fours completed a very good meal. We enjoyed watching the courses of the tasting menu being served to some diners nearby. With six courses, the tiny portions made sense in that context. The river was hugely flooded and quite spectacular. Nice visit, that cheered us up after a long mornings drive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We spent one night at the Wharf House in Over near Gloucester during a recent visit to Gloucestershire. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed. It was also well equipped to support all our electronic devices and had a strong wi-fi signal. Both our dinner and breakfast in the hotel’s restaurant were excellent. The hotel’s location was very convenient, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We visited for a light lunch on a Saturday. The atmosphere was calm, staff were attentive but not overly so, which made it quite relaxed. The food was superb, everything made on the premises and the quality was excellent, and it was beautifully presented. I really enjoyed the nice touch of tiny taste-size desserts with the coffee after the meal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our room smelled of sh... it was dusty , no drawers to put clothes in just had a wardrobe, the toilet needed a good clean. The stairs was full of stains it was really quite awful for the price, the breakfast was adequate and most days nothing was laid out you had to ask for it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lg_hall8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

I am very sorry if any aspect of your stay was not to your satisfaction. I am most confused that over 4 days no issue was ever raised with any of the staff and no opportunity was given for us to solve any issues for you. There was most definately no smell in the room before or after your stay, and we receive extensive praise for the brilliant work our cleaners do in providing imaculate rooms for our guests - anything that was missed (it does happen sometimes - we are all human, but we are not aware of anythign on this occassion) would have been immeidately put right if at any point in your stay you had made any comment to any member of staff. We always strive to resolve any issues that guests bring to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We went for the vegetarian taster menu - all food was delicious and beautifully presented. In particular we loved the mini filos with goats cheese and red onion. The main course was a little disappointing - a big filo pie with a kind of ratatouille filling which was quite bland. We were given two desserts, one of which was a lemon mousse, I'm not usually a big lemon dessert lover but this was outstanding. The restaurant was really quiet with just two other tables of six, this unfortunately made the atmosphere a bit soulless. Prices were also very high.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyHelenJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WharfHouse, Manager at The Wharf House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

very pleased you enjoyed the Vegeterain Tasting Menu, and hope to see you again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.2 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
395 reviews
1.2 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
670 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
912 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
377 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf House

Address: Over, Gloucester GL2 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range: £75 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wharf House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA Red Rosette 4 Gold Star Restaurant with Rooms serving quality freshly prepared produce. 7 lovely ensuite rooms of real character with views of the Canal or River including one accessible ground floor room with independent access which is suitable for dogs. We would strongly request and advise advance Reservations for the Restaurant. Signature dishes such as Venison rolled in Walnut with a sauce of red currants with a hint of Dark Chocolate and vegetarian and fish dishes that show imagination feature.Please note that we do not have a children's menu but welcome young diners who will not disturb our other guests and wish to experience the normal a la carte menu. Our menus are designed as three courses, with side dishes available for those who wish, but the option to choose less courses if you wish less. We also offer both an Original and Vegetarian 7 course Tasting Menu. We would recommend bookings at least 48 hours in advance as some dates can be booked weeks in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wharf House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf House Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing