We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful change”
Review of The Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having come here for a drink now and again, a friend and I were very much impressed by the changes the new owners had made since taking it over in April. So much so I decided to bring my wife one Sunday in May to try the food.
We were very pleasantly surprised. The quality and quantity of the food was excellent at prices hard to find these days. I tried the sweet (pudding) special of the day and had a pavlova that turned the heads of the other customers. The service was also very good and the meal was made even better by the fact that it was a rare sunny Sunday, so we were able to eat outside.
The new garden furniture on a decking next to a stretch of unused canal, made for very pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank bryan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wmgroupkate, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Ship. I'm glad you enjoyed the Pavlova - I will be sure to let our chef know so we can put this on our specials again!

We look forward to welcoming you at the Ship again soon.

With kind regards
Kate
The Ship Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 96 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

What a beautiful setting, that's the first impression you get. Positioned on a disused part of canal in rural Gloucestershire, it's quietness and peacefulness is wonderful. We were lucky with the weather too as it was lovely and warm so we sat out to eat our meals and take in some of the local ale and enjoy the surroundings.
The interior was freshly decorated as there was a faint hint of paint but that will soon vanish.
Our meals were first rate and had generous portions, both my wife and I were very impressed and not only that there was no thud,thud,thud of a jukebox.
The staff are very pleasant and friendly and I cannot think of anything that I can say in criticism.
All in all it's a wonderful little hideaway and just perfect.
I would not hesitate in recommending this establishment and I can't wait to go back at some stage when next on holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiggerums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wmgroupkate, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Many thanks for your recent review. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely visit to the Ship and enjoyed our beautiful setting.

Please do come and visit us again when you're next on holiday........we promise the smell of fresh paint has now vanished!

See you soon!

Kind regards
Kate
The Ship Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We ate here on May 17th 2014. This pub has been under new ownership since April '14 and the new owners have completely refurbished it to a very high standard. If you've been here previously, leave your preconceptions behind and visit again. What you'll find is a fantastic country pub with fabulous food. The whole place is stylish and welcoming from the decor to the staff. The food we had was first class and would be difficult to beat elsewhere.
The Ship at Framilode is a top venue for anyone looking for a superb meal, great wine, a warm welcome and a great atmosphere so, treat yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wmgroupkate, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at The Ship Inn and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

With kind regards
Kate
The Ship Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
4.9 mi away
The Frocester George
The Frocester George
#1 of 1 in Frocester
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saul Farm Bed and Breakfast
6.8 mi away
Spalite Hotel
Spalite Hotel
#3 of 22 in Gloucester
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#5 of 5 in Frampton on Severn
81 reviews
6.8 mi away
City Lodge Guest House
City Lodge Guest House
#12 of 22 in Gloucester
26 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Mulberry House
The Mulberry House
#1 of 22 in Gloucester
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Upper Framilode, Gloucester GL2 7LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range: £38 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing