We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Gloucester
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great Travelodge. Very clean and comfortable. Brilliant bed and pillows. The air con was very welcome in the 30 degrees heat! We had no complaints at all. We are Travelodge fans, and wish all were of this standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    185
    108
    33
    34
See reviews for
125
219
42
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level Contributor
255 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have to admit when my husband said he had booked us into a Travelodge I turned my nose up. I don't mind Premier Inns, but Travelodges are usually not so nice..... except this one! It was spotlessly clean, modern, comfortable and the staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble.

We paid just £99 for three nights and it was a bargain.

The only bit I could pick at would be the bar/restaurant - it's more like a roadside cafe crossed with a school canteen, with a couple of Ikea sofas thrown in. Not the nicest place to sit and have a drink, but the point is, there IS somewhere you can sit and have a drink if you would like one. We chose not to eat in there so cannot comment on the food, but people on the next table did have a nice looking meal.

The lodge is above the Gloucester Quays outlet shopping centre and this is the car park you use. It is a case of getting the lift right down to the ground level, coming out of the shopping centre, into the lodge and getting the lift back up to reception. It a bit messy, but at least there is a car park. It costs £6.00 per day at a subsidised rate through the lodge.

We didn't get our room serviced (out of choice) but we did get left a little package with fresh towels, extra toilet roll and refreshments outside the door. Have never come across this in a TL before so it was a nice little extra.

Would definitely return, worth every penny and more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozintheshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay on a room only basis for a pre-booked £21 a night!Tremendous value. This is an up to date Travel Lodge just by the newly developed dock area of Gloucester and attached to a shopping centre with designer outlets for M&S and Next and other shops such as Lakeland and Cotton Traders. The docks area has plenty of cafes/restaurants and on the day we were leaving there was a brilliant food fair with cookery demonstrations, a live band, and stalls selling quality wines, beers and cheeses. The Waterways Museum is well worth a visit and only a 15 minute stroll is the centre of Gloucester with its magnificent cathedral. As for the hotel, it's modern with 3 floors of rooms above a mezzanine floor housing the reception area and a very pleasant cafe/bar with pleasant views. The rooms are not large but all have very comfortable beds and more importantly, when we stayed, air conditioning units which were absolutely essential on the days when temperatures reached 28-30C. The colour scheme was modern, bright and cheerful and as far as I am concerned it is the best Travelodge I have ever stayed in. The staff were excellent and the food and drink in the cafe/restaurant very acceptable for a budget hotel. Highly recommended. The nearby spa town of Cheltenham is also well worth a visit as are the stunning views at Symonds Yat only a 40 minute drive away.

Room Tip: St Ann Way is a busy road so the higher the room the less noisy. The hotel has 2 lifts to all floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very comfortable and clean room and bed. Room air conditioned which was excellent. Hotel centrally situated for town and restaurants. Great value for money and idea for an overnight stay en-route to our holiday further south.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent 3 days here and have had the best nights sleep than in any other hotel! Air con fab, bed so comfy, clean room, and the staff superbly friendly! Close to shopping centre and the Quay. Thank you, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelwuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The first problem we encountered was the car park situation. Clients are directed to the multi-story car park adjacent to the shopping mall. On leaving the car park, we followed the signs to the hotel until we got to the lift. After leaving the lift (in the shopping mall), there were no further signs to the hotel. This could and should be easily addressed by Travelodge.

After arriving a little early, we asked if it would be possible to leave the cases in our room. Unfortunately, we were politely told by a female receptionist that check-in was only from 15:00 and if we wanted to leave the cases a surcharge would have to be applied.

We returned (for a third time) to the hotel reception in order to check-in shortly after 15:00. We checked in and made our way to the room. It was at this point we discovered that the air-con wasn't working (and this on one of the hottest days of the year). Since there was no phone in the room, I returned to the reception to ask what the problem was and ONLY THEN (AFTER CHECKING IN) i was informed that it wasn't working. That actually would of put me off staying the night and I’d of looked for alternative accommodation. I asked why it was working in reception but not in the rooms and was told that it was a separate system. As a building services engineer, I have my doubts about that statement. Anyway, i asked why wasn't it made clear at the time of check-in that the air-con wasn't working. The answer, from a male receptionist was a very feeble 'Sorry'.

The rooms were supplied with fans to help with the situation but it was still very warm. Also, leaving the windows open wasn't an option due to the traffic noise.

Everything else about the stay was ok. The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean etc., and the first receptionist was very helpful with a problem we had with a lost car park ticket so I’d like to thank her.

Room Tip: Ask if the air-con is working. Get clear car-parking instructions/directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laughingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Gloucester travelodge has given us a different veiw of what Travelodge is.
it was clean, it had lifts. AND THE AIRCON WORKED.
At the check in we were told the aircon was not working.
On entering our room I turned it to ON and it worked fine.
there were two very good pillows per person and the bed was very comfy.
having read reports that it was over 200 yards from the car park, I can only assume that exit A was not used. This is the one at the front of the Quays and a very easy trundle to the TL.
spoke to several guest, who said they had trouble finding the car park and had to walk a long way with thier bags .
The car park is in Baker street BUT YOU MUST USE EXIT 'A'

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partintring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gloucester

Property: Travelodge Gloucester
Address: Gloucester Quays | St Ann Way, Gloucester GL1 5SF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gloucester 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing