We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£19? You can't complain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Gloucester
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“£19? You can't complain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed one midweek night in August and found this to be a straightforward and pleasant stay.

The hotel is on St Ann's Gate - for parking we used the Gloucester Quays Outlet car-park - park by stairwell A. Go down the stairs, through the automatic doors and walk 20m along the path to the Travelodge. I suppose this might be a consideration for those that have a lot of luggage but it was straightforward for us.
24 hours parking is £6 if you get your ticket validated at the Travelodge reception. If you arrive after 6pm and leave by 9am the next day it is just £2. There is a retail park opposition the Travelodge and a lot of cars did seem to be in there overnight - I suppose you take your chance...

Check-in was quick and easy.

This is a newly furnished Travelodge and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The shower was excellent. Everything we wanted and needed was in the room.
There is a Cafe Bar and you can collect meals to eat in your room if you wish.

The Gloucester Quays Outlet place is good (my wife tells me) and there are the usual eateries and coffee shops a short walk away.

We were pleasantly surprised with Gloucester. The cathedral was lovely (even for an Atheist...!) and there are lots of shops for all budgets. The place is a little rough around the edges but this appealed to me more (I found it more honest than snobby Cheltenham down the road).

The quays have been well developed and there are lots of notices regarding the maritime history of the place.

Room Tip: Try Aroma Indian restaurant which is a short walk away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonosmithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    182
    106
    33
    34
See reviews for
123
216
41
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night as I was working in Gloucester for two days. Was exactly what I expected a clean functional room and at the start of the heat wave the air con was greatly appreciated. Did what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

arrived on Friday 12th July for a stopover - had used a Travelodge on A1 near Biggleswade last year and so based my expectations on that most basic of lodges. Gloucester, however, is a far more comfortable affair; we even breakfasted there, and kept it down. Staff were friendly, car parking is extra, about £4 for the night, in the adjacent multi-storey, but safe. Would use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swinchicore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Although the website said this travelodge had been fully refurbished the air conditioning was not working throughout this hotel, so during the hottest summer we've had in a while, we ended up sleeping in an oven. Not a lot of sleep at all and the kids really suffered, especially our 10 month old baby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Gloucester, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Helen K, we are really sorry to learn that you were unable to enjoy your stay due to the temperature in the hotel. We can confirm that we have been experiencing issues with the air conditioning in part of the hotel; during this period the hotel are allocating rooms with air conditioning first and have a number of fans available from reception. Our maintenance team is aware of the issue and they are currently working to rectify the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
285 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely refurbished hotel in easy walking to some nice restaurants. 10 min walk to centre of the town. Peaceful location and the bar cafe had lovely views. Staff were friendly too. Only loses on full marks as room hot and air con was broken!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbsouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

parking is expensive and the staff don't seem to know how you get to the hotel from the car park. We were told there was a direct link from the upper level of the car park to the hotel reception. In fact you have to come down in the lift with your bags, walk along the from of the car park, enter the hotel at the ground level then take the lift up to the reception!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln-england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location on Gloucester Quays above a shopping mall with some nice eating places nearby . A multi storey car park attached to which travelodge have negotiated a good rate( £6 for 24hrs ) . The hotel is newly refurbished with great air conditioning . Our double room was at the back so it was very quite . The bathroom was spotless as was our room with all the usual travelodge features - teamaking flat screen tv etc . It has a cafe bar attached to it for breakfast and drinks etc . The staff were very polite and helpful at check in and with information . I would stay here again if I am in the area .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank lhoultby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gloucester

Property: Travelodge Gloucester
Address: Gloucester Quays | St Ann Way, Gloucester GL1 5SF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gloucester 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing