We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Gloucester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Gloucester
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Travelodge is a good budget hotel in Gloucester. It is located at the Gloucester Quays shopping outlet, which is about a 15 minute walk from the town centre.

If you have a car, you should park in the shopping outlet's carpark, which is validated at reception. Parking costs £6 for 24 hours. Follow the directions on the hotel's website to get a spot close to the hotel.

We were checked in quickly, and the chap on the front desk was helpful and polite.

The corridors on our level were a bit shabby, but the room was fine. It was modern and clean, with a flatscreen TV and tea and coffee in the room. There are no toiletries except for a small bar of hand soap, so make sure you bring your own. The shower was quite powerful, and the towels were a good size. There is no hairdryer in the room, so you have to borrow one from reception if you need it.

The hotel has wi-fi, but they charge for it, which is a shame.

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay, this is a very good option.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulabelle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    177
    103
    33
    34
See reviews for
118
209
39
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Worth staying and worth every penny. Great location and friendly staff. Very Speedy internet and they do offer discounted car park. I would surely consider staying with them again whenever I need to stay away from home. They offer great rates if booked in advance. Definitely the cheapest amongst the rest but has got everything what we expect.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Praboos2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels worldwide, including the eastern bloc and far flung parts of Asia over the last 30 years. The Travelodge in Gloucester Quays is the first not to provide even basic shower soap/shampoo in all that time. All other budget hotels put a soap dispenser on the shower wall. When I raised this with the night manager she replied "Travelodge never provides it, there is a vending machine over there". It was £5 and I am now feeling royally ripped-off.
To add further irritation, neither of our two rooms had working TV remote controls because their batteries were flat. Left with the impression of penny-pinching and surly staff - I will not hurry back. Bed was very comfortable though.

Room Tip: Take your own shower gel or accept that you are going to get significantly overcharged for products...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Gloucester, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the lack of toiletries provided at our hotel R O. As a brand standard, we do not provide toiletries in our rooms. This then allows us to continue to offer great rates for our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

In my job I travel all over the world.
In my opinion this is the best budget hotel in the country. Its clean, has a bar café to rival a 4 star but the best bit is the staff.
Debbie the night porter, Joe (her son), Dermot and Zoe as well as the manager Matt are a credit to this sometimes criticised brand.
Try Gloucester-see what I mean-excellent-nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Short visit to Gloucester, this was a nice, clean hotel. Check in was very smooth and our room was right next to the reception area. It was easy to get from the Gloucester Quays car park to the hotel it was literally a five minute walk, park in area A. The shopping centre and restaurants are just a few minutes away. The hotel reception will validate your parking ticket then its just £6 for 24 hours. We had the best nights sleep the beds are really comfortable. and the shower is really strong, but bring your own toiletries. Only very small problem we had was that the people down the corridor kept slamming the doors and didnt realize that you can close doors quietly!! Please think your fellow guests. the whole room shook. Really good value for money and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshbabe1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a nice hotel as clean, friendly and in a good location. Cant fault it. Visited it as part of a doggy seminar so only me and the Shetland Sheepdog. Could walk him down the canal 5 minutes walk away so that was very good. Good parking and plenty of food around.

Room Tip: Stayed at the back. Front ones might be noisier but I wouldnt really know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is great! Very accommodating to our tour group. Close to so many things that it made walking the area very easy.The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept.
Several places to eat and a fun pub with a bowling lane around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVZRQA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
0.7 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gloucester

Property: Travelodge Gloucester
Address: Gloucester Quays | St Ann Way, Gloucester GL1 5SF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gloucester 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gloucester Hotel Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing