We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, fantastic hosts, friendly B&B - I can only recommend!”
Review of The Mulberry House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mulberry House
Ranked #1 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Flint, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, fantastic hosts, friendly B&B - I can only recommend!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Working in Gloucester, I used the Mulberry house on many occasions over many months and completely recommend it. I stayed in all the rooms, and although different to each other, all retained the clean, homely feel.
Keith and Jean are wonderful hosts, really friendly and helpful, having stayed at other B&Bs locally I always hoped there would be availability here! The full breakfast is excellent but if you didn't want a full breakfast there was always plenty of other options.
The location is just 10 minutes from the centre of Gloucester with the docks, cathedral, and Gloucester Quays all in close proximity.
Check out other B&Bs, but pick up the phone and book here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Billers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
69
26
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here last week for 2 nights
Made to feel very welcome from the owners keith and jean could not do enough for us
Rooms lovely food excellent with a cooked breakfast each morning
Keith serves homemade bread and both keith and jean made their own jams
They will provide you with anything you want I would recommend this b&b to anyone
You will not be disappointed. This is their home and is definitely home from home and will be back again whenever we are near gloucester.
K&B

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etcheskath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

From the moment that you step through the door of The Mulberry House you feel at home. So much so, that you are quite reluctant to leave. A warm and friendly welcome from Keith (the gregarious one) and Jean promises a comfortable and relaxed stay and you are not disappointed. Spacious, spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom (no cupboard en-suites here), to the delicious breakfast with a range of options to suit everyone including freshly home-baked bread..yum.. You feel very much at home and refreshed for the day ahead. Thank you so much Keith and Jean for looking after me so well. Attention all Aussies! (and everyone else as well) Don't stay anywhere else in Gloucester. A short walk to the town centre, you can leave the car and enjoy the easy walk. I hope to return one day and would not hesitate to recommend most highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for three nights from 14 -16 June. As we were booked to see two Rick Wakeman concerts in Gloucester /Cheltenham we wanted somewhere that was convenient for both places. In fact I had booked the accommodation before the concert tickets as at that time both concerts were going to be in Gloucester.

In researching accommodation it soon became apparent that Gloucester has very little choice and based on the trip advisor reviews I chose the Mulberry. We stayed in the Severn double suite, which had an ensuite shower. I do agree with a previous reviewer that the furniture is a little old fashioned but the room was clean and comfortable and Jean and Keith are very friendly hosts. On arrival we were offered a glass of wine.

The breakfasts were excellent, well cooked with plenty of choice Keith makes his own bread which was wonderful and there was home made jam and marmalade to go with it. There was also a choice of fresh fruit and cereals.

This was excellent value for money at £155 for the three nights. So I don't think you can go far wrong by choosing the Mulberry if wanting accommodation in Gloucester.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is a great B and B. The room was spacious, uncluttered and comfortable, very clean, nicely decorated. It was really lovely. The breakfast was great, and the host kindly suggested the best places I might go on my own for a drink and some food with my book - good, personalised suggestions! The location is excellent, and very very reasonable. The best thing was that it felt really private: many B and Bs, the rooms feel crowded together, but I heard no noise from any other rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I chose this place based on the reviews (it seemed like this was THE place to stay in Gloucester), and I was not disappointed. Jean and Keith are both very friendly as well as very eager to help in any way they can. I was particularly grateful for the ease with which I was able to store my bag at the house on the day of departure until my afternoon train. They are very organized with the information they supply for visitors; I really appreciated getting a good map of the town since I'm not naturally very good with directions.

Breakfast is VERY generous and delicious. The location was fabulous, both in general (just beyond the center of town) as well as for my own purposes (using the record office, a 5 minute walk away). I was also impressed with Gloucester itself. Since I was coming for research purposes I had no particular expectations of the town, but it turned out to be delightful -- and the cathedral is very impressive inside and out.

As a solo traveler, I particularly appreciated the rate -- both are double rooms, but the single occupancy rate for these rooms is about as good as anything I've come across for a smaller, less comfortable room at other establishments. I travel around the UK quite a bit and this was certainly the best deal I've ever had.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinghistorian86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed at the Mulberry house for 5 nights and it was like home from home. Good location only 10 minutes walk from the town centre, where there are plenty of eating and drinking places to visit. Keith and Jean offered us lots of help to find eateries that suited us and other attractions in the area.
The bedroom was large with ensuite bathroom, and had everything you would want and if not you only had to ask. Breakfast had a big selection from tea, coffee, fresh fruit salad, cerals, yogurts, toast and of course the excellent full english and all were very tasty.
Parking wasn't a problem for us but I can see how it could be.

Room Tip: Only a bath in the main bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudlylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,127 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mulberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mulberry House

Property: The Mulberry House
Address: 2A Heathville Road, Gloucester GL1 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mulberry House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Mulberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mulberry House Hotel Gloucester
The Mulberry House Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing