We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of The Mulberry House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mulberry House
Ranked #1 of 22 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A fabulous b&b very comfortable. I stayed just 1 night to have a look round Gloucester. Great location for that, only a few minutes walk to town.
Very friendly hosts nothing too much trouble.
I had a restful sleep in a cosy bed. The room was quite spacious and had lots of storage space if you were to stay for longer than overnight.
Good ensuite plenty of hot water.
Tea & coffee in the room with extra supplies out on the landing if you need them.
Delicious breakfast, fruit, cereal, as well as cooked breakfast freshly cooked local produce, so lovely.
Will return when visiting the area again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank big-blue-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
69
26
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Easy to find with plenty of free parking and an easy walk into the centre of Gloucester. We were welcomed with a pot of freshly brewed coffee brought up to our room and Jean gave us numerous recommendations on bars and restaurants we could try, also providing us with a very helpful map of the city. Our room was comfortable with modern decor and breakfast was outstanding. With homemade bread and jams in addition to local produce cooked fresh to order, we couldn't have asked for more. Keith and Jean made us most welcome and we will definitely stay here again if visiting Gloucester.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast 1 night,
We found the owners to be extremely helpful cheerful and welcoming full of knowledge of the area and also of knowledge of many other parts of the world.
The room was clean and well set up.
The breakfast was amazing and everything was fresh and well prepared,
We would recommend staying here.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GemmaClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hosts Keith and Jean are two great people. They know the area very well and are more than happy to share their knowledge with guests to ensure they get the most out of their visit to Gloucester. And more importantly they also take a real interest in their guests, making very good, easy conversation.

Our rooms were comfortable, offering a fantastic nights’ sleep, and the whole place is immaculately clean. There are home baked breads, hand-crafted jams and nut/granola breakfast mix, superb full English breakfasts made entirely to your liking, and what my daughter swears was the best scrambled eggs she has ever tasted. And for someone like myself, who is not easy to please when it comes to the good old British cuppa, they didn’t disappoint there either. They also make great tea.

Tip for any B&B owners reading this. If you want to see how it should be done book yourself into the Mulberry House and take note. It is a superb place. We will certainly be back ourselves in the future and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorEvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Can only reiterate what others have said about Mulberry House B&B; its everything you want in a B&B, its clean & comfy with great breakfasts and superb hosts in Jean & Keith, nothing was too much trouble. Good location for exploring Gloucester City with good shopping and very interesting architecture a short walk away. Very good value too.

Room Tip: We saw both double rooms, one was a little bigger but we found the smaller one fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

You really can't go wrong with this very friendly and well run establishment. Breakfast very tasty with home made jams, bread and fresh fruit plus a wholesome cooked breakfast, just the ticket when you are out for the day. Jeans strawberry jam was excellent and Keith has a soft spot for homebrew! We wouldn't hesitate to stop again should we visit Gloucester. The centre was a 10 min walk, the marina area 15 min and there is plenty to do, with lots of eating and drinking establishments.

If you are thinking of booking act quickly as it gets booked up fast. Thanks Keith and Jean you made our stay very memorable, you are excellent hosts.

Room Tip: There is a larger room to book and for the extra pennies it really is worth it. Book as soon as pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBH648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west ireland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for one night Feb 2014. The location is great, only a few mins walk to Gloucester centre. The owners were extremely helpful with everything, and very pleasant. At £55 it was good value. Breakfast was excellent. The room was very clean but a bit dated. Off street secure free parking was a big help. The only issue i have with the place is the bathroom. If you are in anyway tall or stocky (like me) it is impossible to use the toilet in the room we had, as there is not near enough space. Other than that, we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,118 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
616 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mulberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mulberry House

Property: The Mulberry House
Address: 2A Heathville Road, Gloucester GL1 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mulberry House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Mulberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mulberry House Hotel Gloucester
The Mulberry House Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing