We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Business Stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Business Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great stop on business, lovely pub next door for food and drinks. Rooms basic but comfortable. Bed comfortable and generally hotel quiet. Breakfast is buffet style and basic but all you need to start the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetlePeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    283
    96
    32
    13
See reviews for
153
222
33
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

First time at this location, it was easy to find with ample car parking. As with other Holiday Inn hotels, check in was easy enough, but getting to the room we found the access card didn't work, this was soon rectified.

The room was clean, didn't smell and was the good standard you would expect.

The hotel is situated near the busy duel carriageway, and that night it sounded like Santa Pod raceway with motor bikes whizzing up and down, but with the excellent double glazing soon made it quiet again.

Breakfast was the scrambled egg and sausage surprise that Holiday Inn are famous for, plenty of and did the job.

We didn't sample the take away evening meal or the pub opposite so cannot comment on it's service, but reading other reviews here But sounds ok.

Staff were excellent and friendly, there was one on reception I think her name began with a letter N she was excellent and a credit to the company.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ihavestayedhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, Scotland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stay here regularly, as a business traveller up/down the M5.
Never had a problem with room or staff, good rates available on Holiday Inn website.
Bumble Bee pub/restaurant next door which is quite nice.
Takeaway deliveries also available - "Indian Memories" is usually good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuarttaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Room size was reasonably good as had room for travel cot though this took up most of free space. Room clean and staff pleasant. However, would not stay again as little outside space for toddlers. Hotel geared more to business park customers. Holiday Inn Express best for late arrival and early check-out. Ended up staying longer in room than planned. Other chains (even Holdiay Inn) compete better for my needs at similar price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed here with elderly parents in law to break journey from Scotland to Cornwall. Slight hiccup when we booked in as receptionist asked for our credit card for security and we had to advise 2 rooms were already paid for, however, the rooms are immaculate, beds comfy and bedding beautifully clean and crisp. Bathrooms pristine - very impressed with the cleanliness. Whole building clean, well stocked vending machines in reception for water, juice, sweets etc. Very handy as its 5 minutes from the motorway but no traffic noise can be heard. Nice pub at other side of car park with good selection of food and not too pricey. Good selection of breakfast items, plenty cereals to choose from, ample tea, coffee, toast etc. Never used to comment on these wee stays but have found others travellers comments invaluable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksmum48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Staff were very helpful, rooms were clean and functional. No restaurant on site but across the car park is a nice pub to pay a visit to. Breakfast isn't amazing but it's 'complimentary'! Bumped into Jimmy White and Dennis Taylor there too which you can't say happens everyday!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank headley81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel was clean and bright and the staff were mainly helpful & cheerful. The beds were comfortable and the room was well equipped, except for storage space. Our stay was marred by several things.... Our sleep on the first night was rudely interrupted by the fire alarm at 6:20am. Everyone had to gather in the evacuation area of the car park until the Fire Brigade had arrived & pronounced it safe to go back into the hotel. The staff member in charge spoke poor English & had no organising skills, so the roll-call was chaotic. I later found out that the alarm had been triggered by steam from someone's shower. This apparently had happened before, so the smoke alarms need to be updated to avoid further false alarms. Breakfast is served in the bar/dining area and consisted of fruit, cereals, sauasages & scrambled egg and toast. The staff were always just too late, as one element or another ran out and you were left waiting with sausages going cold while you waited for egg, or vice versa, or more bread to be put out for toasting. Toast was self service, with only two domestic toasters to serve the needs of the entire hotel, so queueing was the order of the day! Upon leaving the Reception area, my head was narrowly missed by a wrapped sweet, thrown (not at me, I just came through the door unexpectedly) by the son of the Duty Manageress. Not a very professional management style! The bathroom has a countersunk screw half submerged in the grout between the tiles of the toilet area of the bathroom, so woe betide anyone using the toilet in bare feet, as it was very sharp! I reported this and the staff took it very seriously and told me it would be rectified, so I hope they do. It had obviously been there some considerable time. Finally at check out, the laundry van had been left completely blocking the arm of the car park where our car was. We were able to drive out by going through some vacant spaces but had an extend walk carrying heavy bags, as all the dirty laundry was stacked behind the van, completely blocking pedestrian access. Staff convenience obviously is more important than guest's!! The van was there while the driver was away around the rooms collecting the laundry, so at least 15 minutes. Despite all this, we did enjoy our stay and yes, I would stay again. Parking was adequate, apart from the van blockage, traffic noise was not bad & the city centre just 3 miles away.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing