We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a few nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Pinoso, Spain
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“OK for a few nights”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here while visiting family for a few days. We were given a ground floor room when we booked in but after the first night we asked to be moved to a quieter room; there was road noise which started at around 6 am and also at the same time a rattle which we think came from exterior air conditioning units when large vehicles went past on the main road. The receptionist who dealt with our move was extremely friendly and helpful and checked our new room to make sure it was on the quiet side of the hotel before she brought our new keys, unfortunately I didn't get her name as I would have liked her to get a mention in this review. If you don't want road noise ask for a room facing the Police Headquarters or the pub (not a late night venue).

Breakfasts reasonable for the price paid. Bread and toasters, yogurts, some fruit and pastries, coffee machines, fruit juices, scrambled eggs, beans and sausages.

If you want a comfortable bed and a decent breakfast this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kestep03650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    294
    101
    35
    13
See reviews for
159
240
34
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Was suprised at how small and shabby the room was considering the hotel isn't terribly old. Good points is the free parking and ease of access to the M5.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selfhuggingjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear selfhuggingjack,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service room accommodations which were unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Location - 5 miles from the M5 and roughly the same distance to the town. Situated on a business park but clever design of outside space with trees etc means it does not feel industrial. Warm welcome on arrival, quick check in and given a groundfloor room at the front of the building as we had asked for a quiet part of the hotel. Room was spacious clean and perfectly functional for a one night stop over, good shower room and comfy bed with a niced size freeview TV. The Bumblebee pub next door served decent food, lots of mains under a tenner and a steak for around £15. Note there is a dual carriageway running past the pub and the rear of the hotel, minor irritation but didn't affect our stay. Breakfast taken in the hotel reception area was a self service affair, cerials etc followed by sausages/scrambled eggs/beans toast etc was excellent. £58 B&B for myself and my wife was a good deal I thought, we wouldn't hesitate to visit again...thumbs up

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room - groundfloor front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Lovely clean airy well equipped room. Excellent self service complimentary breakfast.
Can't fault it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Kath G,

Please allow me the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of our hotel.

We always strive to exceed our guests expectations, and guest satisfaction is at the heart of everything we do.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any assistance in the future please contact me at the hotel on gm@hiexpressgloucester.co.uk

Regards,

Sabrina Dowman-Silk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

A simple two night stay for the family which ticked all the right boxes for a budget hotel:

Good price - £62 per night inc. breakfast - 2 adults, 2 children
Quiet
Clean - room, bathroom, breakfast area
Decent Breakfast
Free parking
Pub next door (Bumble Bee)

That's all you need. One minor point - our first room (210) was marked non-smoking but stank of cigarettes so we asked to be moved. This was arranged quickly and without fuss, but the hotel might like to follow up why 210 was so bad to avoid a repeat...

Room Tip: 304 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciferSam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Initially my review was going to contain all positives, until I couldn't get to sleep for hours due to the traffic noise from the road in close proximity to the hotel. Then I found a piece of brown broken glass on the floor which I think was part of the rim of a beer bottle, luckily we had not stepped on it. The shower was only just warm enough at 8:30am turned up to the maximum heat, and the hair dryer didn't work. 
The breakfast was terrible. The orange juice was insipid, about one part orange to 20 parts water (though I noticed a lady at another table had a more orangey colour to her juice so maybe I got the dregs?), the croissants dry and inedible and the bread was so wafer thin that it dried crusty before it was brown when toasted. Just as well there were corn flakes or I would have been hungry, though I did have to eat these with a teaspoon as there were no clean spoons. My mother had scrambled eggs which were tasteless and the pear was very hard. We are not fussy eaters but this was truly below par.
On the positives there was a really nice girl in reception, Leanne, who explained how to become a priority member and get free wifi on check-in, and the cost of the room was reasonable. Yes, the rooms aren't luxurious but the bed was comfortable and the shower/toilet arrangement is a good idea. By the number of cars in the carpark this must be a really popular choice. The following night we checked into the Premier Inn Barnwood but it was much, much noisier.

Room Tip: Ask for one which faces away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figgy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Figgy69,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found your room accomodations comfortable and our receptionist nice and informative. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the traffic noise and your less than satisfactory breakfast experience. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

stayed for two nights in may came to see my brother .on arriving at the hotel we were allocated a ground floor room even though when i booked on line i requested a high floor room .no problem the staff changed it right away to a high floor room. thaey also got us a table in the bumble bee pub next door witch was lovley had a very nice meal good company good service,our room was spacious and clean tidy the heater was not very good but we were ok we had our own fan heater'breakfast was alittle sparce thay were very busey staff did there best to refill food would stay again.

Room Tip: higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,101 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
791 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
352 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#6 of 21 in Gloucester
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing