We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Felpham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good standard hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Good, clean, comfortable Hotel, in fact just like a normal Holiday Inn but cheaper. Handy to have a lovely pub next door, so we did not miss the standard H-I Bar and Restaurant.
Good size rooms, lack air con, but thankfully it was not too hot.
Staff could not do more for us.
Only grumble is the free wifi kept falling over - not that stable, had to keep logging in. But otherwise a great place, will come again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal-Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Neal-Ball

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the hotel, it's always great to hear positive comments which I have passed onto the team and thank you for giving me your feedback about the Wifi apologies if there was an inconvenience caused.

I hope you had an enjoyable stay and your expectations were met.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    287
    99
    33
    13
See reviews for
154
231
33
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
236 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

What the brand should be! Clean, fresh in good repair with friendly be full staff. Easy to find with a pub restaurant opposite the car park. Decent amount of parking spaces. Disappointed wifi not working but pleaded overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Lady Bernadette

Thank you for writing a lovely review following your recent stay. It's always nice to hear great comments which I have passed onto the team

I'm sorry to hear that the Wifi was not working correctly to which this has now been rectified.

I hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great location just 5 minutes from the M5. Superb welcome and the staff service remained the same throughout.
Rooms as you would expect for this chain and really clean and well presented.
I was asked to change room due to a previous fault which meant they wanted to fix it asap but they helped with the move. Happy as so nice to see them proactively fixing faults.
Negatives - pile of ironing boards at reception felt scruffy, and hot breakfast choice limited however cold buffet more than ample.

Room Tip: some rooms are close to the busy road into Gloucester so try and get rooms away from that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooleynuts969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you recent stay to the hotel. It's great to hear such positive comments and that your expectations were met. I'm sorry to hear that you had to move rooms because of a fault, we try to deal with faults when brought to our attention and it's nice to hear that the staff dealt with this efficiently.
The ironing boards are stored away and available on request but on this occasion it appears they were not so thank you for bringing it to our attention.
We welcome all comments received so thank you for your feedback about the breakfast.

I hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The reception was welcoming and helpful, the room was large and airy, the breakfast was good and the price was affordable especially with a discount for pensioners. Good value all round and the added attraction of the attached was fantastic for the evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Alan W P

Thank you for writing such a great review and leaving lovely comments of your hotel stay, which I have passed onto the team, I'm glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spent a night here en-route to the South West coast. Prior to arrival I had called ahead to see if it was possible to have adjoining rooms, & we were told that it shouldn't be a problem as long as we didn't mind a disabled room. I also checked that a cot would be available & made up for us, once again not a problem. Upon arrival this changed somewhat...we were told the adjoining rooms wouldn't be available (which we understand as these specialist rooms should be a priority for those that really need them), however someone else was checking in & got assigned joining rooms! This also meant that a cot was not made up prior to arrival, but that was quickly rectified after about 20 mins. As mentioned in other posts, breakfast choice is limited & we had to wait for hot items to be brought out, but there was enough to keep us going for the morning :)
HIE does exactly what it says on teh tin....would I spend a 2 week holiday there...no...but a night stop over there are fewer places better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Countyfan2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm sorry to hear of the problems you had on arrival to the hotel which I'm glad they were able to rectify this for you, but please accept my apologies for the wait you had.

Thank you for your feedback in regards to the breakfast which I have shared with the team. We value all the comments we receive as this in turn helps to improve the service we deliver and meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Family room for 4 : £100 for 2nights including breakfast, excellent value for money, good location,clean rooms,lovely pub next door and McDonald's 5mins away. Hotel very busy when we visited but even though staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliscarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Aliscarlet

Thank you for writing a guest review following your recent stay. It's always great to hear such positive feedback. We aim to provide great service so thank you for the lovely comments which I have passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back and once again meeting your expectations.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed for two nights on a visit to meet new great-nephew.
Staff at hotel were efficient and friendly. Room was very good. The breakfast choice might be a little too narrow for some, but it is adequate.
Although next to the A38 we found the hotel to be quiet. Would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: If you are intending to visit Gloucester's attractions this hotel is situated a couple of minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Geoff J

Thank you for the guest review following your stay. It's always great to hear such lovely comments about the staff and amenities which I have passed onto the team.

I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay and we met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing