We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big improvement since november 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Big improvement since november 2012”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

There is a big improvement since my visit last year: now there is free wifi in the whole hotel !!! I really appreciate this.

I would call the daily fluctuating price a disadvantage ! Some days are double the price than others.





  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at the hotel and pleased with the Free Wifi which we now offer. This is why is important that we value the feedback we recieve from guests to help us improve the service we deliver to our guests ensuring we meet your expecations.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    301
    106
    37
    14
See reviews for
163
246
35
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The room I originally wanted was not available, however I received an even better room on the ground floor. It was spacious, lovely and warm, excellent bed and an excellent bathroom.

The lounge area is excellent with comfortable seating and Sky TV.

The staff were amazing, in particular Skandeer who couldn't do enough to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks again Skandeer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank X100CJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear X100CJG

Thank you for writing a lovely review following your recent stay at the hotel. We are passionate in providing excellent service to our guests and it's nice to read that your expectations we met. I have passed your comments onto the team and also a special Thank You to Skander.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

On arriving the staff member who dealt with us was rather miserable to say the least, it immediately puts a downer on our night!

I was told we would have a cot in our room for our 4 month old baby, we was on the top floor which was a bit of a pain. When we got to our room there was the main bed and the sofa bed was all set up as a bed. Did they really think I was going to let my baby sleep in that bed?! We went out for some dinner, and asked for the cot.

A lovely lady came up to the room with the cot, as me and my husband tried to put the sofa bed away - difficult it was! The lady helped us with the sofa bed and we set the cot up.

The room could do with a freshening up as it was a little dirty with marks on the walls and floors etc.

The bed was really uncomfortable, I wish the sofa bed was still up!

Breakfast is now free but is no were near as good as it used to be. Mediocre breakfasts, I'd advise you to go into Gloucester Quays if you want a nice brekky.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Emma C

Thank you for writing a guest review following your recent stay. We pride ourselves in the customer service we provide and I'm sorry to read that upon arrival your expectations were not met to which I will be addressing. There should have been a cot in the room for your child and although you said this was rectified by the member of staff this should have been ready for you upon arrival.
Once again thank you for your comments to which all shall be addressed with the relevant departments.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the future and meeting all your expectations.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for one night at this hotel, yes it is cheaper than the others.The room ok but could do with a little bit of painting.There was three of us staying in one room, me, my wife and our 17 year old son which is not available at other bigger hotel chains which was ideal but although we had towels for three of us and the beds made up for three of us there was only two cups in the room for the tea /coffee making facilities.Also the maids seem to forget to look up when cleaning as the cob webs were hanging from the ceiling (it was the day after halloween!). If you are looking for a cheaper alternative to the big ones then these are generally good value with breakfast included in the price.

Room Tip: We had room 316, traffic noise could be heard in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Nigel1701

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We welcome the feedback we recieve as this helps us to improve the sevice that we deliver to our guests. Thank you for your feedback that shall be addressed with our housekeeping department.

We hope you and your family had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

All you require for a fraction of the cost of the 'big brother' brand.
Staff very helpful and polite and the cleanliness is that of a high standard.
The Pub next door is handy for lunch and dinner and there is a large supermarket within walking distance.
Will recommend anytime.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marang6068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Marang6068

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of the hotel. We pride ourselves in the customer service we provide so it's great to read that you found the staff to be helpful and polite.
We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I do like these hotels as they include the breakfast in the rate and even on the week-end the breakfast is available from a relatively early hour. Also the breakfast does include 3 hot items namely sausage, scrambled egg and baked beans.

The hotel was easy to find (I don't have a satnav) and the check-in took no time at all. My room was spacious and very clean. The hotel is close to a main road so if you need to have the window open this could present a problem. On this occasion it was not necessary. I do like my room on the cool side but the air-conditioning had already cooled it to my satisfaction. I could hear the traffic but it didn't affect my sleep.

Price very competitive. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Probably the quietest rooms are on the right hand side of the hotel main entrance as you enter the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbanorienteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Urbanorienteer

Thank you for writing a great and positive review of our hotel following your recent stay. It's nice that we are able to meet you expectations in our hotels you choose to visit. We pride ourselves in the service we provide to the guest so it's nice to read that you recieved a great first impression from check in.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, with my adult son and grandson 2 yrs.
Clean rooms, public areas and staff very friendly and helpful.
Noisy if you have window open especially overlooking main road.

easy access to gloucester and cheltenham

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Kingswinford

Thank you for leaving your feedbak following your recent stay. I'm glad you found the rooms to be clean and the staff friendly which I have passed onto the team.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,115 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
801 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing