We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Accomodating”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Requested an extra night and was told it was available. Then had to cancel because of change in circumstances. Again, no trouble at all. Very obliging.

Breakfast - simple, plentiful and more than adequate. A fabulous variety of tea. Self help - which reduces time waiting around hence, I guess, 'Express'.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oriental-grasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a guest review following your recent stay and leaving your feedback.

We hope you had and enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    294
    102
    35
    13
See reviews for
160
240
34
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We recently stayed here at the start of November for 1 night. We regularly visit Holiday Inn hotels so we know what to expect when staying at these locations.

We arrived mid-afternoon at the hotel, and was nicely introduced by the members of staff at check-in. Our room was on the top floor, which was easily accessible by lift. The room had two single beds with wardrobe, desk and big flat-screen TV. The room had a decent view, which directly went out on to the island of the A38, couldn't hear that much road noise. Hot drinking facilities, tall mirror, hair-dryer, free WI-fi and lights above beds were provided. The bathroom was nice and clean with all the basic facilities.

The restaurant on the site 'The Bumble Bee' was great, lovely food and service.

Our sleep on the evening was very good, hardly no road noise during the night. Beds were really comfortable and the room was warm.

In the morning, we had breakfast in the main reception area, which was very busy, not enough tables for everyone. There was a shortage of cutlery, more needed putting out. They offer a wide selection of cold buffet options, with sausage, egg and baked beans for hot breakfast options. The breakfast was lovely. A suggestion would be to provide hot croissants and bacon as this would be quite popular i believe with customers.

It was a great night and service provided by the Holiday Inn team, would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the island are better as noise can be heard when busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Elliot H

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at the hotel. We pride ourselves in the customer service we provide so it's always great to read positive comments about the staff.

Thank you for giving us your feedback about breakfast which helps us to improve the service we deliver to our guests.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here overnight when visiting Cheltenham races in November 2013. Was good value for money, clean, seemed very busy. Bed was very comfortable, and room was warm throughout the night.
Breakfast was a bit of a free for all though, and had to ask for coffee cups to be put out.

Room Tip: Turn the radiators down before bed as it gets warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metaxa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Metaxa78

Thank you for taking the time to write a guest review of the hotel and leaving your feedback. We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Recently stayed in the hotel, reception staff were friendly and helpful when we checked in and out and also when we asked for spare supplies of milk and tea. Room was clean, warm and comfortable. The Bumblebee next door is recommended for a lovely meal in the evening. The only downside was that the breakfast was somewhat disorganised.

There seemed to be limited staff, tables weren't being cleared away and there were people waiting for the cooked food, which had to be eaten in bowls as there were no clean plates!! In the end the cups and cutlery were replaced, not sure whether this is common for this hotel or whether it was just that it was a Sunday.

Apart from this little blip it was a nice overnight stay - shame there wasn't a "good" option as it was the breakfast situation that has lowered the mark! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMMA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Emma J

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at the hotel. It's nice to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I'm sorry to read that we were not able to exceed expectations at breakfast and thank you for your comments which will be addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were apprehensive because of some of the previous reviews of this hotel, however it was fine.
Staff were good, room was clean and warm and breakfast was very good.
Food in next door Bumble Bee was excellent. Having Sky tv channels a bonus.
only negative, and it is being picky, would be that the tiles/grouting in shower a bit mouldy

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForestJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Forest Jack

Thank you for writing a review following your recent visit to your hotel. We are pride ourselves in the customer service we provide to our guests and thank you for your feedback about the staff which I will share with them. In regards to the shower I will pass this on to the relevant department to have this addressed.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Nice room with comfortable bed, plenty of hot water, tea and coffee making facilities, good Wi-Fi throughout hotel, and a decent (though not elaborate) breakfast. However, for the price, it was excellent value. The staff were very efficient and polite. The Bumble Bee pub just by the carpark is excellent for an evening meal.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Joseph B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the hotel. We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 November 2013

There is a big improvement since my visit last year: now there is free wifi in the whole hotel !!! I really appreciate this.

I would call the daily fluctuating price a disadvantage ! Some days are double the price than others.





  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at the hotel and pleased with the Free Wifi which we now offer. This is why is important that we value the feedback we recieve from guests to help us improve the service we deliver to our guests ensuring we meet your expecations.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,102 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
793 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
353 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#6 of 21 in Gloucester
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing