We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Bodmin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one night stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

have stayed here on several occasions as we have family local to the area, every time we stay we have had no problems but this time having just checked out we received a phone call from the hotel saying they had just found a mobile phone on the floor of our room and offerd to post the phone to us but as we were still in the area we picked it up. and so we thank the staff there for there honesty and will return there

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just-sauntering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear just-sauntering

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. We are passionate about providing excellent customer service and thank you for the lovely comments.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    301
    106
    37
    14
See reviews for
163
246
35
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

one of the poorest I have stayed in. tired noisy rooms and staff that don't really seem to care. breakfast was awful and ran out before they stated on the arrival . pub next door is better for dinner, but best just giving it a miss!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intothewild78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear intothewild78

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay to the hotel.

We pride ourselves in the service we provide to our guests and I'm sorry to read that on this occasion we were not able to meet your expectations.

Thank you for leaving your feedback which we be addressed with the relevant departments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and exceed your expectations.

In the meantime if I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly at the hotel and I will be more than happy to assist.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night. Friendly staff. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit chaotic but with so many Munster fans leaving it til the last minute I can understand it.
Had an issue with rate but handled professionally and sorted without much problem.
Would return again no problem.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear jazzWaterford

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at the hotel. It's great to read that you found the staff to be friendly and the rooms comfortable, I have passed on your feedback to the relevant departments. I'm sorry that you had problems with your rate but I'm glad this was rectified immediately for you.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The room was fine; clean and comfortable, although the bed was a little hard! Only criticism was that the tv was very small! However the staff warmly greeted us and were very friendly. Well done to them! But the breakfast was very poor, nothing was pleasant especially the so called sausages beans and scrambled eggs which were luke warm and hard ..yuk!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear susie101

Thank you for writing a guest review of your recent stay at the hotel. We pride ourselves in the customer service we provide so it's always great to receive positive comments about the team which I have passed on.

We welcome the positive and negatives comments that we receive to help us improve the service we deliver to our guests. Thank you for your feedback about the breakfast which I will address with the relevant departments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and meet all your expectations.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband & 2 children as visiting family to deliver Christmas presents. Very clean room at a very affordable price,nice friendly staff & a buffet style breakfast with a good choice.. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenLawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear HelenLawes

Thank you for writing a review of the hotel following your recent stay at the hotel. We pride ourselves in the customer service we provide to our guests and it's lovely to read that we were able to meet your expectations.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had booked for a one night stay to break our journey en route to Devon. On check in, we were quite impressed with our room, bathroom and general cleanliness of the hotel, but after that things went downhill. We had requested a quiet room on booking. Paper thin walls meant we had a terrible night sleep, both from the people in the room next door talking on mobile phone in the early hours to people returning from Christmas party celebrations (not the hotel's fault, but the thin walls meant we heard every word, laugh, screech etc). My partner got up at one point and told them to shut up. We were looking forward to breakfast the next morning before setting off to continue our journey south for our Christmas break - what a disappointment! Watery orange juice, tasteless scrambled egg, insipid sausages, no bacon at all. I ate what I could, abandoned the remainder and settled for a croissant instead. Unfortunately also inedible! It must have been in the warmer for far too long as it was hard and dried out. Third time lucky, I tried one of their warm rolls (like the part baked ones you can buy in supermarkets) and it was actually fine so I settled for that with a watery coffee. Not a very relaxing start to the day, we were glad to be leaving and vowed never to return to another Holiday Inn (we normally stay at Ramada's, which are great and similar price. Holiday Inn advertise their 'free breakfasts' but I would much rather pay a little more and get something edible instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Jo L

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. After reading your feedback I'm sorry to read that your expectations were not met, please be assured that I will be addressing your feedback which you have left with the relevant departments.

We welcome all the feedback we receive as this helps us to improve the service we deliver to our guests.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and meet your expectations.

In the meantime if you wish to contact me with any concerns or comments you can contact me direct at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,115 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
801 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing