We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business as I do quite regularly.
Rooms are always clean. Staff always found them friendly and helpful.
Pub next door has lovely meals.
Beer garden is great in the summer.
Free breakfast is better than nothing and to be fair, there is a decent selection of cereals and pastries.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LesleyDavies34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear LesleyDavies34

Thank you for writing a lovely review of the hotel following you recent stay,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and returning to our hotel on a regular basis.

We look forward to welcoming you back and once again meeting your expectations.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    291
    100
    34
    13
See reviews for
156
234
34
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice hotel, very clean, helpful staff. Good pub with excellent food next door, breakfast ok. My only complaint is a big one. We had a twin room and both beds had beautiful, very thick double feather duvets on them. Now had I been in a ski resort in winter time I would have been delighted however, this was summer time in middle England and we were both so hot we felt like we were cooking. I had to get up during the night and remove the duvet and jusr use the cover, which wasnt warm enough. Hence a dreadful nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keskarosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear keskarosie

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review and providing us with your feedback following your recent stay. We pride ourselves in the customer service we provide so it's lovely to read that you found the staff to be helpful.

Thank you for providing you feedback about the duvets which I have shared with the relevant departments.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are friendless and efficient. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and it very tasty and good value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are accessible and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara15M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Barbara15M

Thank you for writing a guest review following your recent stay at the hotel. It's nice to read that you had an enjoyable stay and the staff made you feel welcome to which I have shared your feedback with the team.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and brand and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is my second visit one year later. The standard was as high as ever the room clean and stocked the staff a delight to meet and the overall service excellent. Well recommended. I will be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Alan W P

Thank you for writing a lovely review of the hotel following your recent stay. It's great to read that you had an enjoyable stay and your expectations were met to which I have shared your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel because I had an early meeting the following morning in Gloucester. Checked in late afternoon and dined/ate in the nearby pub across the car park (food is good). Nothing much to say about the hotel, few amenities, bar etc. Room was ok, but then it was £79 for the night, shower only - no bath in my room. That said, the room was tidy and the bed comfy. Tea & coffee facilities were available in the room. There was noise between the rooms and from the corridors in the night, I could hear the occupants TV and then snoring in the next room :-/ The cooked breakfast was awful, scrambled eggs were rubbery and the sausages were lacking in meat I would guess, best avoided! There were pastries, cereals, tea and coffee etc

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Mark1466

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at the hotel. We value all the comments we receive at this in turn helps us to improve the service we deliver to our guests, so thank you for your feedback which I have shared with the relevant departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and meeting your expectations.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I accidentally booked the Holiday In in Gloucester instead of Cheltenham and found out only when trying to check in Cheltenham when I learned about my mistake. As I had to work in Cheltenham staying in Gloucester wouldn't have been any option. The hotel in Cheltenham immediately called the hotel in Gloucester to inform about the error but the management of the Holiday Inn Express Gloucester insisted on getting played the full 3 nights. I would have accepted one night just to cover their expences but 3 nights is a real rip-off, especially as I have stayed in a hotel of the same chain several times. Just for this behaviour I would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Arne B

Thank you for writing a guest review and leaving your feedback. I'm sorry to read of your disappointment in regards to booking the wrong hotel. I am happy to discuss this with you to which I can be contacted directly at the hotel.

We are passionate about the service we provide to our guests and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing