We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield (UK)
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed over on our way to Devon on Friday a week ago and found the whole experience very good.
The only niggle was the traffic noise, recommend ear plugs for a good night.
Extra bonus the pub across the car park serving very nice food in a nice atmosphere.
We will stay at this hotel the next time we are traveling from Yorkshire to the south west.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveeboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Daveeboy007

Thank you for writing an online review following your stay at the hotel and providing us with your feedback.

Thankyou for your comments in regards to the noise to which I have shared with the staff.

It's lovely to read that you had an enjoyable stay and also liked the pub next door.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    284
    96
    32
    13
See reviews for
153
222
33
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

What I have come to expect from Holiday inn Express - clean & well appointed rooms with free WiFi, convenient and secure location. It´s not the luxurious option but neither is the room rate and I echo others comments about the staff.... very friendly, efficient and thorough. Check in/out a breeze, breakfast simple but more than adequate (can I seriously complain my croissants were merely lukewarm, not hot?).
Only issues here are the noisy A38 (window glazing could be better) and there´s no air con although the fan provided did the job.
Fast making this chain my first stop when checking hotels for short breaks - would stay here again if visiting the WWT centre at Slimbridge (just 10 mins away by car)

Room Tip: Breakfasts at HIexpress can be a scrum so would advise going early for a more pleasant experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear dish2

Thank you for writing a guest review following your recent stay at the hotel and providing us with your feedback.

We are very passionate about the customer service we provide to our guests so it's great to read that the staff met your expecations upon arrival.

We welcome all the feedback we receive and I have shared your comments with the team, and it's nice to read that you would return and use our chain of hotels again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed just the one night at this Hotel ideally located for M5 Motorway Very Clean and well Managed the Young Gentleman on Reception was very Friendly and Helpfull Breakfast was Basic but Ok The Bumbee Pub is right next door for evening meals

Room Tip: Room was on 1st floor not noisy although our room was by a roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Gordon C

Thank you for writing an online review and providing us with your feedback. It's great to read that you had an enjoyable stay and your guest expectations were met upon arrival and throughout your stay.

Thank you for your feedback which I have shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Hotel location is great and we visited Cotswolds, Bristol and Cheltenham. Staff are very friendly. The only negative aspect happened every morning at breakfast and that was constantly running out of crockery and cutlery items. We spent a considerable amount of time waiting for things to come out of the dishwasher, then instead of a tray of mugs appearing just a handful would turn up which were snapped up straight away. Please invest in more, such a simple way to resolve what was a recurring problem all 3 mornings. Would definitely stay here again though, just hope this is something they address.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmillen1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear kmillen1958

Thank you for writing an online review and provding us with your feedback following your stay at the hotel.

It's lovely to read that you found the staff to friendly and you liked the location of the hotel, but I'm sorry to read that on this occasion you found the breakkast had an impact on your stay.

Thank you for the feedback you have provided which will be shared with the relevant departments and addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and meeting all your expectations.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stay here fairly frequently, but our most recent stay was a real disappointment. First of all, we were sent to a room which was already occupied, though that was sorted quickly. The room we were allocated was badly located, above the air-conditioning units which were noisy all night - ironic really as the room was incredibly hot, but had no air-conditioning of its own!, Also had to put up with a lot of road noise, bright outside lights shining into the room all night and a lot of vans moving about and being unloaded in the early hours of the morning. Room was generally grubby, with a previous occupant's half-used "Ramada" branded toiletries left in the shower tray, which had obviously not been cleaned when they left. Breakfast proved that the staff had no idea how to use the dishwasher, with dried-on cereal on the first 4 bowls I picked up, very heavily stained coffee mugs and filthy cutlery. Seems like the current staff is mainly inexperienced and poorly trained. There are plenty of other options very close (4 Premier Inns at around the same price within a few miles) and despite being a Platinum rewards club member, I'll head to one of them next time.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is facing away from the A38
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear IMUK

Thank you for writing an online guest reveiw and providing your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. We are very passionate about exceeding guest expectations and I'm sorry to rea d that on this occasion we were not able to do this.

The feedback we receive from reviews help us to improve and deliver great service to our guests , the feedback you have provided will be addressed with the relevant departements.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for being a Platinum IHG Rewards member and your loyalty to our brand.

In regards to the feedback you have left if you wish to discuss this further please contact me directly at the hotel and I will be more than happy to assist.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Late arrival after a long but was greeted warmly and check in was quick.
The rooms were good well appointed and clean although a little tired.
We were late for the Restaurant but decided on a Pizza which apart from the US was as good as it get for a but in Pizza
We'll rested the next day Breakfast again was good with friendly staff. A good overnight stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thefbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear thefbi1

Thank you for writing a lovely review following you recent stay at the hotel. We pride ourselves in the customer service we provide to our guests so it's nice to read that your guest expectations were met upon arrival by the staff.

Thank you for your comments which you have provided which have been shared with the team.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here overnight as we were attending a wedding just outside Gloucester.

Typical outside of town hotel. It is a comfortable, clean, modern hotel - functional and fine for an overnight stay, a base to explore the area or a business trip. Good road links.

The staff were friendly and helpful when we needed to borrow an iron and ironing board.

Breakfast was ok - quite busy and limited hot food choice. The bed was comfortable, nice choice of pillows and plenty of room. Only issue was not being able to open window further (we were put on ground floor) so it did get quite hot in the room.

Free wifi worked well, Plenty of parking. Easy to get to and access to main roads.

Functional and absolutely fine, but as with most chains, not a hotel with character or charm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hezel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear hezel13

Thank you for writing a guest review of the hotel and providing us with your feedback following your recent stay.

We are very passionate about the service we provide to our guests so it's lovely to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

The feedback we receive in turn helps us to improve the services delivered to our guests and your comments have been shared with the relevant departments.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Sam Graham
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Address: Telford Way | Waterwells Business Park Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South hotel is conveniently located off Junction 12 of the M5 and is close to Gloucester City Centre. The Gloucester South hotel is 3.5 Miles from Gloucester city centre and 15 miles from Cheltenham. Bristol is just 35 miles away, whilst driving to Cardiff Millennium Stadium will take one hour, for sporting enthusiasts. The hotel is adjacent to Waterwells Business Park making it ideal for visiting both local companies and attractions in Gloucester. Attractions include Gloucester Cathedral, famous for the filming of Harry Potter, and Gloucester Docks. Nearby is Cheltenham Racecourse, home of the famous Gold Cup and Paddy Power festivals. Cradled by the picturesque Cotswold Hills and ideally located in the heart of the country, the city of Gloucester offers visitors a vibrant, lively atmosphere. All guestrooms offer free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All rates include free parking and continental breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Hotel Gloucester
Holiday Inn Gloucester
Gloucester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing