We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never felt so welcomed in a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New County Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never felt so welcomed in a hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment so there was the odd small hiccup such as an unmanned reception desk at times, but the people were absolutely lovely and made every effort to make us feel welcomed and help us enjoy our stay. They were generous, friendly, helpful and personable and staying there was one of the highlights of our trip to the UK. We had dinner in the restaurant which was fantastic, and at breakfast they were very accommodating to our needs and offered all sorts of options. The hotel is in a great location, and yes it can be a bit noisy, but overall felt it was very good value for money and a good experience. Appreciated the free wifi too which is a rarity in hotels it seems!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triparoundandaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    72
    93
    47
    75
See reviews for
44
120
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

There doesn't seem to be a lot of choice when it comes to accommodation in the centre of Gloucester so this hotel is ideally placed to fill a void.
Newly refurbed, the rooms are neat, clean and spacious though the corridors a bit of a maze.
Service is very friendly though at points the reception desk seemed a bit understaffed.
The bar is a nice addition though a bit loud when some of the guest bands played.
There's a really good breakfast menu though disappointingly the excellent breakfast we had on our first morning wasn't in evidence on the Sunday morning when the scrambled eggs seemed to have come from a packet.
Definitely though the best choice of accommodation in Gloucester city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travleydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I stayed here with my family, good central location,rooms were very clean and tidy, some of the staff were helpful, explain in a minute, breakfast was very good a selection for everyone, my husband liked the kippers,didn't eat in for the eveing meal,bar was a little expensive all in all a good stay. Now for the bad bit the first night that we stayed we were kept awake by music coming from the function room, our room was right above it, it was so loud i decided to ring the duty manager, when i got through i told him the problem and he said that it would be finished within 20 mins ok i thought soon be over, well about 45 mins later still going on, i rang again and he said it was just about to finish, i asked if there would be anymore functions within my stay as if there was i would like to move rooms, he assured me there wasn't.The next moring we were woken up again by the music baring in mind this was at 6 45am, so i rang again and was told the speakers automatically come on,5 mins later they were turned off or down, when going down for breakfast i asked them to check about any more functions, i was once again told no there wasn't, well on the saturday night we were kept awake by guess what a function, i would have rang the manager again but we only had 1 night left and it was gone 11 what could be done....no point moving room was there, i expressed my dismay to the receptionist the next morning and all i got was a comment about why didn't i ring down like i had before to complain, a dlight dig there i think. I don't normally like to complain but after being told twice there wasn't anything going on i was a little miffed, would stay here again but would ask not to be above the function room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank symjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

The New County hotel is bang in the middle of town, and it's a hotel I used 10 - 15 years back, for work. I have to say that the newly refurbished hotel is as good as it was back then!
We stayed for a leisure weekend, this time. Our room was spotless and comfortable and, on the two occasions that we 'ate in,' the food proved to be excellent and great value. The staff were, without exception, both friendly and helpful, and we will definitely use the hotel again next time we are in Gloucester.
The only disappointment for us was the early check-out time (10am). In every other respect, we wouldn't change anything!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamurlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Stayed here just for one night on a business trip.
Recently refurbished - and the room was clean and functional. Comfy bed, decent tv and pretty much everything you'd want.
Breakfast was excellent - good choice of hot food, cooked to order. They use good quality ingredients, too. Certainly a notch up on the horrible buffets put out by 4 and 5* chain hotels.
Well located for City Centre and Quays - bit of street noise at night but not too bad mid week. No parking, but good discount on a local NCP.
No lift, if you'd struggle with cases and stairs, ask for a first floor room.
Overall, I was very impressed, great quality for the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Had Sunday lunchhere - good choice of menu well presented by friendly staff. Meal was excellent - choice of full a la carte plus two roasts. Very pleased that this hotel hasreopened (again) hope it does well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We have had a few meals in this hotel. The food is excilant. always well presented hot and tasty. The staff are very friendly, helpful.

lovely pace to go for a quiet drink of an evening as well .

just what gloucester needed

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy261082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.1 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New County Hotel

Property: The New County Hotel
Address: 44 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County hotel is a traditional building, that has been refurbished to a high standard modern interior. It is situated in the heart of Gloucester City, easily reached by the M5 and rail station is only 5 minutes away from the hotel. Relax in our chic restaurant offering modern cuisine, using fresh local produce. Celebrate in style in our magnificent ballroom. Do business in our conference & banqueting suites. Enjoy the quality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Best Western
New County Hotel Gloucester
The New County Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing