We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New County Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Central Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Albert Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Station Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Edward Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
73
85
104
49
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
85
104
49
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe renecar parklate at nightfull english breakfastdocks areaplenty of hot watercomfy bedvisiting gloucesterexcellent value for moneyblackfriarsncpcathedralquays
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

After a long 7 hours travelling, we checked in late around 8.30pm. We parked our luggage, had a quick freshen up, then down to the bar to meet friends to go out for a meal. Upon arriving back we were met with grim, resolute staff who were loathe to serve us night caps before we retired. After being reluctantly served a round of drinks, the staff disappeared and we took to our rooms to shower then have a good nights sleep before some photographic assignments the next day. We found the shower mixer part to be broken and the toilet continually ran after flushing. The towels were stiff and overly chemical-bleached. We prepared for bed, turned down the covers and found... a pubic hair and two little black things, which we swept off the sheet. Upon further inspection, we noticed what looked like a burn mark on the duvet cover and a further two cigarette burn marks on the nylon carpet. The furnishings smelt of cigarette smoke. We tried to laugh this off, but upon getting into bed, found that all the springs were protruding from the mattress. Too tired, we deliberated as to what to do but decided it was too late to disturb reception as we had had such a difficult time asking for any service previously at the bar. After an unsettled night's sleep, feeling 'unclean', we further inspected our surroundings:
Broken catch/lock on window, thereby rendering the room unsafe.
Beyond the window (which had a massive crack across it's entire width), a battered flat roof with torn vent pipes - from kitchen? and plastic spikes upon a completely rotten window ledge: pigeons cooing on the other window ledge upon awakening.
Breakfast was a joke, staff were too busy stocking the adjacent bar to supply crockery/bread for toast for dummy waiter area or help with queries - a further £6 each was taken from our card for toast, cereal & yoghurt.
We decided we could not stay possibly stay another night. Upon explaining our displeasure re a) the surly staff and b) the state of our room, we were met with yet more disdain that we had not brought our issues to 'Alex' the night before. Upon written email complaints to the manager "Matthew Lannon", we were completely shot down in flames and treated like toffee paper on his shoe. Absolutely disgusting customer relations, unhelpful, disrespectful, truly unpleasant place to stay and if you are unhappy with valid reason to be unhappy, you will not be reimbursed either in respect or £. Beware.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dolphinsmile8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked for two nights here and met up with some friends on the Friday evening. After a meal out, we arrived back and asked the receptionist if we could have a drink in the bar. We were told very abruptly that "the bar was shut". After some negotiation with another member of staff we were reluctantly served.
On retiring to our bedroom, the first thing we found was a pubic hair in the bed, we then realised that, running your hand over the surface of the mattress, you could feel the top of every spring. There were cigarette burns in the carpet and the room had clearly once been a smoking room, there was a distinct smell on the mattress and furnishings. At the late hour we were in no mood to bring it to the attention of the staff.
One of the windows had a large crack and no means of locking, despite being next to a flat roof.
I had valuable photographic equipment for an assignment the next day and was concerned about its security.
The heating did not work, nor did the shower mixer in the bathroom.
We were met at breakfast by very offhand and disinterested waiting staff and were charged £6 for a bowl of cereal and piece of toast.
We were so disappointed with the New County Hotel and its staff that we did not stay the second night and moved to a different hotel.
Despite bringing these grievances to the attention of the manager, we have not been offered any refund for the night we spent there.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if it has ever been a smoking room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AndrewHolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

After staying at the new county I couldn't have hoped for a more wonderful stay. The staff were ever so polite and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. My partner and I had the most wonderful evening meal. Cooked to a very high standard. There was plenty of choice on the menu. The room was simply lovely. Very homely and peaceful. I would definitely recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Gloucester

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsJones1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked this hotel as its on way to the Millennium Stadium (where incidentally we beat the Scottish soundly!) For the money (£30 per night through Late Rooms) I expected basic but I was pleasantly surprised by the beautifully and tastefully decorated single rooms. Beds were comfortable, bathroom very nicely fitted (although water was tepid on both mornings). Breakfast was excellent (even though finding butter and sugar was an unnecessary challenge). Didn't hear any noise from the night club?? Theres a Tesco Express opposite (which is handy for bottled water as the tap tastes horrible). Only one other thing - Room 18 has an old bathroom fan which is noisy and full of dust. Room 17 obviously also has such a problem as it kept me awake for 20 minutes when the occupants decided to have shower at 00:30. A polite request to the night porter the following evening resulted in a change to Room 19 - thanks! All in all a good location. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Don't take Room 18 until they've changed the fan and the one in Room 17!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Visited this hotel for the Cheltenham festival . Charged £250 per night for twin rooms . WC disgusting on check in and had to change room . Single beds tiny , totally disinterested waiting staff at breakfast and poor quality food , can't even poach or fry eggs
Would have been disappointed if I had paid £125 per night , rip off , keep well clear

Stayed: March 2014
6  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews