We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and great value budget option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New County Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
London, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Central location and great value budget option”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed overnight on an impromptu visit to the area and were lucky in just popping in and finding a room available. A lovely old building which I am sure would benefit from further upgrade work (but hopefully not to the extent that it would lose it's unique character). The room was fine and the bed comfortable with a perfectly adequate en-suite bathroom. I am not sure if there was air-conditioning, but if not, I could imagine the place getting very warm in the summer, so beware of that if coolness is a priority for you. The service was absolutely fine - all staff we encountered were lovely. Breakfast at £6 each was freshly cooked to order as well as including cereals, juice etc ... and again, served by a friendly (and busy) waitress. If you're looking for value in a town-centre location, in something a little traditional and with good staff and services, this is a good 'un. A good night's sleep and full tummies after breakfast for £67 for 2 - yes, I would definitely return. Sometimes, from some of the reviews I read here, I honestly wonder what people expect for the money they spend ........

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    73
    94
    47
    76
See reviews for
46
123
26
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Don't really so 'gushing' reviews, however I've never had a bad experience here, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean & comfortable. The bar is stylish, try the excellent food. Thanks to all who work there :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnvenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Friendly staff - however the hotel at times seemed very disorganised and service was inconsistent. We never received a proper confirmation when we booked. Upon check in, the staff were uncertain about whether we had booked a rate with or without breakfast and the price!! [we phoned several times beforehand in an attempt to double check and asked for a full confirmation which we never received]
We had a room at the front which was clean and comfy apart from the incredible noise coming from the 24hour licensed pub across the road and what sounded like glass recycling bins being emptied around 7am every morning!

We understand the hotel came under new management between our booking and staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stay at the New County Hotel at least twice a month for business purposes. We always come away from here feeling blessed we found such a fantastic hotel. The staff are always polite, friendly and could not do enough for you. The new cheff dishes are superb. Thank you Ash, Amy, Paulina, Helen, Brenda for making us feel so welcome on every visit. Keep up the excellent work.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richsmith196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Pleasantly surprised the hotel location was idea situated in the centre of Gloucester with easy parking to the rear of the hotel. The reception team were extremely helpful to both myself and my team.
The evening meal was exceptional value for money as was the breakfast. The Conferance facilities were good with every thing supplied. Tea & coffee supplied throughout the day. The buffet lunch was idea for my and my teams needs.
The accommodation was comfortable & Clean and could not fault it.
My next two conferences have been booked

Room Tip: I had a double room with a pleasant view over looking a garden .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

After a long 7 hours travelling, we checked in late around 8.30pm. We parked our luggage, had a quick freshen up, then down to the bar to meet friends to go out for a meal. Upon arriving back we were met with grim, resolute staff who were loathe to serve us night caps before we retired. After being reluctantly served a round of drinks, the staff disappeared and we took to our rooms to shower then have a good nights sleep before some photographic assignments the next day. We found the shower mixer part to be broken and the toilet continually ran after flushing. The towels were stiff and overly chemical-bleached. We prepared for bed, turned down the covers and found... a pubic hair and two little black things, which we swept off the sheet. Upon further inspection, we noticed what looked like a burn mark on the duvet cover and a further two cigarette burn marks on the nylon carpet. The furnishings smelt of cigarette smoke. We tried to laugh this off, but upon getting into bed, found that all the springs were protruding from the mattress. Too tired, we deliberated as to what to do but decided it was too late to disturb reception as we had had such a difficult time asking for any service previously at the bar. After an unsettled night's sleep, feeling 'unclean', we further inspected our surroundings:
Broken catch/lock on window, thereby rendering the room unsafe.
Beyond the window (which had a massive crack across it's entire width), a battered flat roof with torn vent pipes - from kitchen? and plastic spikes upon a completely rotten window ledge: pigeons cooing on the other window ledge upon awakening.
Breakfast was a joke, staff were too busy stocking the adjacent bar to supply crockery/bread for toast for dummy waiter area or help with queries - a further £6 each was taken from our card for toast, cereal & yoghurt.
We decided we could not stay possibly stay another night. Upon explaining our displeasure re a) the surly staff and b) the state of our room, we were met with yet more disdain that we had not brought our issues to 'Alex' the night before. Upon written email complaints to the manager "Matthew Lannon", we were completely shot down in flames and treated like toffee paper on his shoe. Absolutely disgusting customer relations, unhelpful, disrespectful, truly unpleasant place to stay and if you are unhappy with valid reason to be unhappy, you will not be reimbursed either in respect or £. Beware.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dolphinsmile8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked for two nights here and met up with some friends on the Friday evening. After a meal out, we arrived back and asked the receptionist if we could have a drink in the bar. We were told very abruptly that "the bar was shut". After some negotiation with another member of staff we were reluctantly served.
On retiring to our bedroom, the first thing we found was a pubic hair in the bed, we then realised that, running your hand over the surface of the mattress, you could feel the top of every spring. There were cigarette burns in the carpet and the room had clearly once been a smoking room, there was a distinct smell on the mattress and furnishings. At the late hour we were in no mood to bring it to the attention of the staff.
One of the windows had a large crack and no means of locking, despite being next to a flat roof.
I had valuable photographic equipment for an assignment the next day and was concerned about its security.
The heating did not work, nor did the shower mixer in the bathroom.
We were met at breakfast by very offhand and disinterested waiting staff and were charged £6 for a bowl of cereal and piece of toast.
We were so disappointed with the New County Hotel and its staff that we did not stay the second night and moved to a different hotel.
Despite bringing these grievances to the attention of the manager, we have not been offered any refund for the night we spent there.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if it has ever been a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AndrewHolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#6 of 21 in Gloucester
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
198 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New County Hotel

Property: The New County Hotel
Address: 44 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County hotel is a traditional building, that has been refurbished to a high standard modern interior. It is situated in the heart of Gloucester City, easily reached by the M5 and rail station is only 5 minutes away from the hotel. Relax in our chic restaurant offering modern cuisine, using fresh local produce. Celebrate in style in our magnificent ballroom. Do business in our conference & banqueting suites. Enjoy the quality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Best Western
New County Hotel Gloucester
The New County Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing