We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New County Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We recently did a short road trip and stayed at the New County and the only thing 2 bad things I could say about the place is, it would have been nice If breakfast had of been included in the price and the room was boiling hot. Saying that it was one of the hottest days of the years and a fan was provided.
On the up side, the location was fantastic. Very close to shops, pubs, the fantastic historic Gloucester Docks, restaurants and food outlets where you can easily pick breakfast up for a few pounds. We stayed in room 27 and the view of the church over the way was lovely :))

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Efficient and clean hotel. Building has character but has been tastefully decorated. Pay extra for breakfast normally (6 pounds) but they honoured a mistake with expedia without being asked. Good cooked breakfast, juice, limitless tea etc. Quiet at night if in back rooms. Not sure if in front.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank penguin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My friends & I chose to eat at the New County as we live local & like to support our local businesses.
On entering the hotel we were pleasantly surprised at the lovely modern interior, it was a warm Saturday evening, there was no air conditioning, no fans & no windows to open, it became very uncomfortable.
The two female staff on duty were very welcoming & very attentive.
Two members of our party chose the sirloin steak, despite being £16.99 each, however its was poor, lots of gristle, very chewy & quite small in size.
We are not complainers, but decided to air our concerns to the waitress as she had been very keen to see we were all happy with everything.
The waitress said she would speak to someone, that was the last we heard. not wanting to make a fuss, we paid the bill & left.
Sadly we wont be eating there again, which is a shame as it was a lovely evening except for the food.
The staff are excellent & very friendly & a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank jojocarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

In Gloucester overnight to visit friends. Central position, we unloaded the car outside, booked in and found our room easily. We then parked the car immediately behind the hotel with a reduced price parking voucher. £3.00 for 24 hours. Our ensuite budget room was small, clean with a comfortable bed. Bathroom was fine with wonderful power shower, toiletries and soft towels. Kettle with teas and coffees on hand. We had a good quiet nights sleep and a good breakfast. The cathedral, shops, harbour and quay all within easy reach. Compared to other local hotels the price was incredibly reasonable.We'll definitely stay here next time.

Room Tip: On a Saturday night mid July it was quiet in the area, though the hotel does have functions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnenCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Room was clean and had most of the expected facilities but unbearably hot. No air-conditioning though the hotel did supply a fan (and a 2nd one when I asked) but didn't really help.
No hotel information in the room so was unaware of meal times, wifi etc.
Staff were pleasant enough but I left my phone charger in the room by accident and I'm still waiting for it to be returned.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter than at the front as those look directly onto a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pammy869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We only stayed over here for 2 nights but must say it was good value.

Although we checked in at the early hours of the morning the night porter was helpful and answered any questions we had and swiftly checked us in, we were still able get a quick drink as we were informed the bar was 24hrs to residents.

When we got to our room we were happy with it, good facilities and slept ok.

we were greeted by the waitress in the morning without delay , a good selection for breakfast that was all included in our room rate.

Only downside - there was quite alot of noise from neighboring seagulls!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ms w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Having booked online via Late Rooms I read some reviews here and called the hotel to try and ensure we would not have a similarly negative experience to some other guests. I asked for a room in the quietest part of the hotel possible and was assured that wish would be granted. When we got to the hotel there was only one receptionist and a guest ahead of me who couldn't recall what name he had used to book his room?! After what seemed like an age, the lone receptionist got him sorted and booked me in courteously and efficiently if a little coldly. Having negotiated a warren of corridors, stairs and fire doors (luckily with one small suitcase) I found myself in a decent size room that looked clean and comfortable. The furnishings weren't great but the bed looked comfortable and for £55 I figured it was par for the course - until I looked out the window to be treated to a depressing view of the hotel's service entrance. There also appeared to be a colony of seagulls perching on all the nearby rooftops. Since we were close to the wharf and the river that seemed to make some kind of sense but little did I know, until much later, that they are a
permanent fixture.

Having returned late from a concert in Cheltenham we got to bed at 1pm only to realise these gulls don't sleep! Their constant cries kept us awake all night and they were so loud I saw little point in raising the night porter and trying to secure another room since I doubted it would make any difference, no matter where you were in the building. I gave up on sleep at 6:00pm and went out for a stroll. On returning at 7:50am I asked a young male staff member, where breakfast was served. He said he didn't think they did breakfast but I could ask the bar manager who was in the adjoining bar. She told me breakfast started at 8:00am at a cost of £6 per head at my room rate. My wife and I went down to breakfast at 9:30 but there was no menu. A charming waitress brought us menus upon request and I asked if it was £6 per head irrespective of whether one had a cooked breakfast or just the continental breakfast. She said: "what's a continental breakfast"?! So we had a cooked breakfast which was adequate aside from the somewhat suspect sausages which I would recommend avoiding. Afterwards, check out was reasonably quick and easy aside from the fact that the reception booth was empty and there was no bell to alert staff there was a customer present. But the receptionist soon appeared and all was well. I told the receptionist about the seagulls and she expressed surprise since she didn't usually get complaints about them from guests situated in our part of the hotel?! In other words they are a known and ever present menace which the hotel naturally keeps very quiet about.

I don't blame the hotel staff since seagull removal is clearly beyond their remit but they could at least be open about it and notify prospective guests that it might be a problem if one doesn't sleep like a rock under any circumstances.

I didn't get the feeling that the staff there are a happy and motivated team and would hope they would take more care in cleaning their bathroom tiles, whose grout was blackened with dirt close to the tub which put us off having a shower or a bath.

For £55 for one night, absent the seagulls, it was an OK stay but next time I would book elsewhere and avoid the seagull colony.

Room Tip: Ask to try a room before committing to determine whether or not you can hear seagulls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 21 in Gloucester
216 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New County Hotel

Address: 44 Southgate Street, Gloucester GL1 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: £28 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County hotel is a traditional building, that has been refurbished to a high standard modern interior. It is situated in the heart of Gloucester City, easily reached by the M5 and rail station is only 5 minutes away from the hotel. Relax in our chic restaurant offering modern cuisine, using fresh local produce. Celebrate in style in our magnificent ballroom. Do business in our conference & banqueting suites. Enjoy the quality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Best Western
New County Hotel Gloucester
The New County Hotel Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing