We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, staff and easy parking”
Review of Angel Chef - CLOSED

Angel Chef
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have often eaten at this buffet restaurant while living in Lydney and having a shopping day in Gloucester, but we have also driven from South Wales since moving just to eat at this buffet restaurant as we are more than happy with the choice and quality of food and with the service given. We had lunch here on Saturday 23rd August, about 6 months since our last trip and there has been no change. The only 'down side' was we felt the chairs were in need of a good clean this time around. Other than that, great place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry l, Guest Relations Manager at Angel Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank You for Your Positive Feedback. We're extremely pleased You enjoyed Your experience at Angel Chef Gloucester after traveling a Great Distance. Indeed, Free Parking is Always Welcome Anywhere! We are looking at making significant changes over the months to provide Even Better Value. As a general guide to All Diners, Please feel free to address any Immediate Concerns to the Duty Manager who is able to resolve matters on the spot. Kind Regards Barry Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

All you can eat deal looks attractive but meals are very similar and in reality you wont get the best value unless you can really pack it away. We tend to go for the aromatic crispy duck as this is usually charged at premium prices at other establishments.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry l, Guest Relations Manager at Angel Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank You for Your Positive Feedback. We're extremely pleased You enjoyed Your experience at Angel Chef Gloucester. We are looking at making significant changes over the months to provide Even Better Value. As a general guide to All Diners, Please feel free to address any Immediate Concerns to the Duty Manager who is able to resolve matters on the spot. Kind Regards Barry Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Total lack of choice and food
Was cold, we would have been better off eating at pets at home as there was more choice of food for the animals than there was here . Seated by the window we were shocked to find more dirt and filth on the window sill than ud see on the pavement outside. If u can't clean the restaurant properly there not much hope for the kitchen. Drinks were over priced and tasted like they were watered down even then the in house koi carp looked liked they'd had enough, if u want a " all u can eat" Chinese I suggest going else where. What a let down..!!

Thank Ole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry l, Guest Relations Manager at Angel Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank You for Your feedback.

I'm sorry to hear that You believe Your experience at Gloucester fell short of expectation.

Please rest assured all quality issues are addressed by the Team. We are looking at making significant changes over the summer to provide Even Better Value.

As a general guide to All Diners, Please feel free to address any Immediate Concerns to the Duty Manager who is able to resolve matters on the spot.

Kind Regards Barry Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say?! What a disappointing meal we had this evening, limited choice or rather limited Chinese choice. There were plenty of alternatives on offer - onion rings, samosas, sausages, chips, popadoms but the Chinese selection was shocking. You can't serve battered fried chicken in 3 different shapes and pretend that they are all different things!
When Angel Chef first opened there were lovely offerings such as duck pancakes to start and a chocolate fountain to finish, today I saw none of that. I walked around and around the display looking for something that appealed to me and struggled to find anything.
The food was hot enough - just. But to be honest, after we'd taken our seat by the window and I saw how dirty the window ledge was I was seriously tempted not to eat. The whole place needs a deep clean!!!
I wouldn't have stopped were it not for my daughter having picked it as the place she wanted to eat and proclaiming she was 'starving'
Wish we'd headed home and ordered a take away instead.

Thank Cluster1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry l, Guest Relations Manager at Angel Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank You for Your feedback.

I'm sorry to hear that You believe Your experience at Gloucester fell short of expectation.

Please rest assured all quality issues are addressed by the Team. We are looking at making significant changes over the summer to provide Even Better Value.

As a general guide to All Diners, Please feel free to address any Immediate Concerns to the Duty Manager who is able to resolve matters on the spot.

Kind Regards Barry Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We visited this restraunt at about 8:30pm when we arrived the place was dead no atmosphere whatsoever. There was no food left to choose from so got lumbered with dried out spare ribs, chips and rice. The food tasted bland and there was not much choice of food at all!! After eating 1 and a half plates of food we decided to leave. And will never ever be returning! I'm surprised this restraunt has lasted as long as it has and am very surprised it's still up and running! Dreadful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Becky91xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry l, Guest Relations Manager at Angel Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank You for Your feedback.

I'm sorry to hear that You believe Your experience at Gloucester fell short of expectation.

Please rest assured all quality issues are addressed by the Team. We are looking at making significant changes over the summer to provide Even Better Value.

As a general guide to All Diners, Please feel free to address any Immediate Concerns to the Duty Manager who is able to resolve matters on the spot.

Kind Regards Barry Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angel Chef also viewed

 
Churcham, Gloucester
Norton, Gloucester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing