We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing? I think not.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing? I think not.”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Me and my husband have travelled the length and breadth of the country in hotels. On business, family trips and couples weekends. This visit was the latter.

Well I wanted to rate this much higher. The hotel looks fantastic. The service on the whole very good.

Basics were missing however. In the bistro at dinner. Not enough water jugs to go around. The bruschetta looked great, until it was slung across the table and went everywhere. A marked difference from the great breakfast experience. Dinner was also very slow service.

Sound proofing was dire. I could hear guests either side and above. Tvs, walking and kids crying. I can live with that. But I could actually hear other guests going to, then flushing the toilet which was pretty disgusting and a first for a hotel.

It's my second night, I am drafting this at 12.45am. All I can hear is the thud, thud of disco music. Guests from a wedding outside, in high spirits, screaming and bashing on windows. Been to complain, the staff don't seem to have a grip on it.

Had breakfast by myself this morning, as we have a busy day and long drive home. My husband is catching up on sleep.

We are going home more exhausted than when we arrived. Quite an achievement. Considering we have a mix of 4 children under 8 and a hectic career in the mix. That's acheivement.

I would be furious if I'd of paid full card rate, or been here on business.

Nearby, Kings Head for food. Gloucester Quays for shopping. A bit further, Forest of Dean is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Busymummymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback, and also your time over the last couple of days in assiting us with looking into your comments in more depth. I am glad that we now have had time to resolve this and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    474
    339
    167
    98
See reviews for
223
697
31
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Great receptionist, a lovely large room newly decorated with a large bathroom, we stayed two nights and had a look around the Cotswolds, the room was spotlessly clean and the food was excellent and the staff were smashing, highly recommended Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Many thanks for your comments, we will be sure to pass on to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the newly refurnished Hallmark Gloucester for a 2 night break. The refurbishments were stunning with modern chic. We felt we were in a very upmarket hotel. The staff were extremely attentive and just could not do enough for us, and when we had the wrong newspaper delivered, not a problem for us, within 5 mins came a knock on the door with a charming member of staff apologising and delivering the correct paper.
Reception was particularly helpful and efficient and we were made to feel so welcome. Special reference must go, however, to the Chef. The food selection was excellent and superbly being creatively cooked and presented. Andy and Viv

Room Tip: Excellent sized rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for your comments and indeed choosing our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards from myself & the team

Richard Platts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Two night stay. Room was Clean,quite large ,flat screen tv.tea/coffee maker,and every thing else you might need.so just pack your cloths. Staff are very friendly.The hotel is about 10 mins from the docks /Cathedral so you will need a car. Food was very good for the price as for service some staff need a little more training. Yes we would go back

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nygee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for your comments and please be assured we will review them and ensure they are used in a proactive manner to assist us in moving forward with customer service delivery.

I hope we have the opportunaity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

With kind regards

Richard Platts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Very nice and friendly hotel, rooms are of a very high spec. and the modern decor is great. Booked in for two nights to celebrate a birthday but a couple of things rather spoilt the experience. First,disappointed that the bar didn't stock Campari,not something you would expect from a hotel of this standard. We had booked and specified a table in the restaurant for the bithday meal but when we arrived on time we found that our prefered table was one of the 3 others occupied in a restaurant of some 50 tables. Never mind -we ordered a glass of wine and waited 25 minutes for it to be brought to the table. The meal was saved in some ways by the food which was excellent, well cooked and beautifully presented. In the main the staff were very good and I would recommend the hotel as it has a lot going for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFaserH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed at Hallmark Hotel Marston NR Gloucester as wanted a 3 day break in Cotswolds to golf and visit the beautiful villages and countryside. Full marks to GolfBreaks who found this great hotel and nearby golf course for us
Hotel has just had a £3 million refurb - beautiful rooms and decor throughout. Food good and staff pleasant. Only one small gripe - we were there during heatwave first week in August and bedrooms could have done with aircon or at least a table top fan as nights were unbearably hot - coming from Scotland we were not used to such hot nights ! Not really complaining as welcomed heat during day but hotel should have more than 1/2 doz fans for guests. Hotel close to Gloucester and main tourist villages. Don't miss Painswick 3 miles away - it's like living in a diff century - so beautiful - so unspoilt.
Carol - Scotland

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandCarolanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.glouc
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel on Aug 5 & 6 and we have had a excellant time, the staff could not do enough for you. Rooms were lovely, made use of the sauna, steam room and pool. Had a really relaxing week end everyone we spoke to had the same view this is an excellant hotel for the money and the service was second to none. Had a couple of problems but the staff bent over backwards to put things right

Room Tip: No air conditioning but fans werte provided when asked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champagnedebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
793 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
4.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
817 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing