We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly and Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
londonderry northern ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly and Very Comfortable”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We visited our son in Gloucester for a few days this month and stayed at the Hallmark Hotel just outside Gloucester. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was larger than expected and the bed huge. We booked bed and breakfast and were more than happy with the breakfast each morning, freshly cooked food to suit all tasts. The hotel is a couple of miles outside town and we had left the car at home, however there is an excellent bus service into town every 15minutes about 5minutes walk from the hotel.
The hotel is set in large grounds and has tennis courts and a leisure centre. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graduate95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    467
    337
    167
    95
See reviews for
219
692
29
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2011

aircon too over powering and not enough access for the disabled


Mr Jones S Wales

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Had read several reviews before I booked a deal at this hotel with TravelZoo. Realised the location was perfect to visit Cheltenham, Cirencester and Gloucester and the overviews of the hotel were helpful with regard to what to expect. However, even though the reviews covered most everything it has to be said that our experience with this hotel has been exceptional. Something that hasn't been covered is that there is tapas offered in the bar between 5.30 - 7.30. It was perfect for our first night when we just didn't fancy a full meal. Our second night was in the restaurant and the food, as said by many is of a high standard and very good value for money. The attention to detail in every part of our stay doesn''t just happen - It takes much deliberation. From the friendly staff to the standard of the hotel fixtures - management have obviously worked very hard to ensure that customers experience is paramount. Loved the obscured glass in the bathroom door to allow daylight to filter but would have liked a hook or shelf of some kind to hang robes on. Now that's just being silly picky! We thought Gloucester Docks and The Cathedral were well worth the visit.(Cloisters used in Harry Potter films) . Not much else so happy to get ourselves off to Cirencester - around twenty miles away and a beautiful place (Domesday book mention) with Cathedral and Market Square .Cheltenham is also accessible from the hotel and is an ancient Spa town with marvellous architecture. Well placed on the edge of The Cotwolds. We really enjoyed our whole experience here thanks in a large part to the stay at The Hallmark.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PishPash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you for your comments, i am sure many other travellers will find them useful ,as well as myself being able to pass some really posative feedback on to my team.

Glad you enjoyed the Tapas,

kind regards

Richard Platts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

when we first arrived felt a bit dissapointed by the location(friends had booked on our behalf) but once inside the decor was lovely and the receptionist first class. rooms were excellent. staff were superb especially peter who went out of his way to make our stay very comfortable. breakfast service good on the first morning but the next morning when it was busier queues started to form and the staff seem to lack a little guidance as waiting for coffee to far to long. the evening meal included in the price was excellent top marks to the chef.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for your kind and helpful comments. We have looked at our structure at breakfast to help eliminate any issues at peak demand and will contine to keep an eye on this to ensure we can meet all our guest expectations - as we have done for the rest of your stay. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team.

Look forward to welcoming you back at some stage,

kind regards

Richard Platts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Me and my husband have travelled the length and breadth of the country in hotels. On business, family trips and couples weekends. This visit was the latter.

Well I wanted to rate this much higher. The hotel looks fantastic. The service on the whole very good.

Basics were missing however. In the bistro at dinner. Not enough water jugs to go around. The bruschetta looked great, until it was slung across the table and went everywhere. A marked difference from the great breakfast experience. Dinner was also very slow service.

Sound proofing was dire. I could hear guests either side and above. Tvs, walking and kids crying. I can live with that. But I could actually hear other guests going to, then flushing the toilet which was pretty disgusting and a first for a hotel.

It's my second night, I am drafting this at 12.45am. All I can hear is the thud, thud of disco music. Guests from a wedding outside, in high spirits, screaming and bashing on windows. Been to complain, the staff don't seem to have a grip on it.

Had breakfast by myself this morning, as we have a busy day and long drive home. My husband is catching up on sleep.

We are going home more exhausted than when we arrived. Quite an achievement. Considering we have a mix of 4 children under 8 and a hectic career in the mix. That's acheivement.

I would be furious if I'd of paid full card rate, or been here on business.

Nearby, Kings Head for food. Gloucester Quays for shopping. A bit further, Forest of Dean is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Busymummymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback, and also your time over the last couple of days in assiting us with looking into your comments in more depth. I am glad that we now have had time to resolve this and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Great receptionist, a lovely large room newly decorated with a large bathroom, we stayed two nights and had a look around the Cotswolds, the room was spotlessly clean and the food was excellent and the staff were smashing, highly recommended Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Many thanks for your comments, we will be sure to pass on to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the newly refurnished Hallmark Gloucester for a 2 night break. The refurbishments were stunning with modern chic. We felt we were in a very upmarket hotel. The staff were extremely attentive and just could not do enough for us, and when we had the wrong newspaper delivered, not a problem for us, within 5 mins came a knock on the door with a charming member of staff apologising and delivering the correct paper.
Reception was particularly helpful and efficient and we were made to feel so welcome. Special reference must go, however, to the Chef. The food selection was excellent and superbly being creatively cooked and presented. Andy and Viv

Room Tip: Excellent sized rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for your comments and indeed choosing our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards from myself & the team

Richard Platts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
4.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing