We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hatton Court Hotel(Upton St Leonards)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Station Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Central Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Edward Hotel(Gloucester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,801)
Filter reviews
1,801 results
Traveller rating
604
545
364
186
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
545
364
186
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa facilitiesspa breakdry ski slopeswimming poolsauna and steam roomcourse mealleisure clubself servicereception staffrestaurant staffrelaxing stayfood was lovelysconesdouble roomboth nightsbuffet styleshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,687 - 1,692 of 1,801 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed for one night in a well appointed and clean double room (We had an extra single bed put in for our son) The location of the hotel is nice and quiet, no road noise. The public areas of the hotel were newly decorated and fresh. Swimming pool was nice and warm, sadly didn't have time to try the health and beauty treatments. Breakfast was good, efficient service although it did take a little while for some items to be replenished that had run out. Overall a good value break, would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1307CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelLeister, Marketing Executive at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Many thanks for your comments. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll be back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have just returned from an overnight stay (31/03/2012 - 01/04/2012) with my friend. I want to say what a fantastic time we have had this weekend from the time we checked in to the time we left this afternoon.

Our room was clean and very welcoming. We had a twin room with plenty of space.

Part of our 1 night stay package was a 3 course dinner. The food was delicious. The service we could not fault.

As for the bar.. the bar spervisor was working a 12hr shift yesterdayand was back in today. She was probably the most friendliest of bar staff I have ever met. She was constantly smiling and laughing.

Today we had 3 spa treatments. Becky did all three and each one was sheer bliss. We both had the full body massage which left us totally relaxed.

We would definately be returning to this hotel and will be recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurdi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelLeister, Marketing Executive at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thanks you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed for a birthday weekend as a group of 6. The accommodation was lovely with large, well decorated rooms, despite the initial look of the hotel when we arrived. Check in was good and the staff were very friendly/ The leisure facilities were a little dated - but clean and well appointed.

Our issue came at dinner time. Whilst the food was of a very good quality, a number of the items on a fairly limited menu were not available and, having been advised of this, the reordered items were then not available either. This particularly gave a problem to the vegetarians in the group. When the food arrived there were problems with a number of items (missing items/not ordered etc.) and although corrected, left one member of the party without a meal for some time. The white wine we ordered was only at room temperature. By way of apology the restaurant staff offered a complimentary glass of Port - which turned out to be Sherry due to an error by the bar staff!! Breakfast was only mildly improved as although the food was of good quality once again, at no point were all items available on the breakfast buffet so it was a bit of staggered meal - with different items eaten at different times. Tea and coffee was also only available by the cup when the waiting staff came by so top ups were a challenge!
Had the restaurant lived up to the rest of the hotel it would have been a really good value stay - but as it was we came away having had an average weekend that we would not repeat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pobbypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelLeister, Marketing Executive at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for your positive comments about our new look hotel. We are sorry to see your feedback regarding our restaurant, however your feedback is very important to us and as such we take feedback very seriously. We have taken on board your comments and we appreciate that changes were needed. I am pleased to confirm we have reviewed both our dinner service and breakfast service and changes have been made. For larger parties we feel the restaurant is running much more smoothly and whilst we did make a couple errors during your visit, having received service training our staff are working really hard to maintain our normal high standards. We would certainly wish to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

When arriving at this hotel for a special weekend our hearts just sank and from entering the car park was a complete disappointment. The pictures on the website are very disceiving. Firsly it was in the middle of concrete city in a council housing estate and the exterior looked like a prison! The inside was ok but on such a lovely day there was no outside seating area or bar to get a drink and enjoy the sunshine. The spa was more like a council swimming baths with kids kicking footballs about from the pictures the hottub was the childrens swimming pool. WE choose not to stay in the end and turned away and went elsewhere. Definitely wouldn't recommend for the price and definitely wouldn't go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamWooldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelLeister, Sales Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed. Please be assured the images used for all our advertising are actual images of the hotel. The grounds of the hotel are green, tree lined and look lovely in this lovely warm weather we are having. The hotel has a beautiful interior, lovely comfortable bedrooms, wonderful food and the atmosphere is buzzing with happy guests and happy staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I can see what this hotel is trying to do with the refurb and the overall style, however, good decor does not account for a good hotel.

Firstly I must star by saying the food is totally fabulous and it is infant the chef who saves this hotel.. So I hope they value him or her!

Staying with the food, at breakfast we came down to eat and were asked to take a seat in the bar area, dark and dull with no drinks offered... We found this odd as there were lots of empty but dirty tables (uncleared from previous meal) infancy we got so fed up sitting there for 25 minutes we actually counted them, 13 tables ! Also the "breakfast manager" was bellowing room numbers down the bar when a table became "free" it was worse than bing in a queue at a deli counter!!! When we did get a table there was very little or cold food left on the buffet style set up.

The Rooms:

They are ok, bed is two mattresses pushed together with a gap inbetween which they cover with a sheet, no duvets , old style blanket and bedspread , hard pillows.
The walls are paper thin and if you want to hear the couple next door or above beaning "romantic" along with the squeaking bed, then this hotel is perfect.

I would not stay again, nor would I suggest anyone I know goes here.

But I will say the chef is fantastic , so great for just a meal and. Quick escape.

Our only 2 night without the kids was awful and we came back more shattered than we went!


AVOID

Room Tip: Don't choose to stay here.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsD1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but glad you enjoyed the food. Your comments of course will assist us to continue to improve the service we offer. In response to the 'old style' bedding, I can assure you all the soft furnisings were new within the last year during our full refurbishment.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews