We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Pool and smelly rooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Pool and smelly rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Its Not exactly unclean but would only stay if i had to. Staff is friendly though. The carpets Drive you nuts. Cant belief People really Rated this so positive. My bed was very unconfortable and the Sehers had holes:( the steem room is terrible.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Dachsdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Please contact me directly at the hotel as I cannot understand what your comments are relating to? I have recieved no feedback referencing our carpet or smelly rooms, I would like to assist you if possible but need to clearly understand your issue's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    440
    324
    157
    93
See reviews for
209
654
27
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is the 2nd time in as many months, I have stayed at this hotel and can only congratulate the staff on the improvements made in a month. Staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble, (including changing a tyre for us. (thanks Andy). Rooms were comfortable, and very clean.
We will be going back !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for posting such a great review, we always hope to exceed our customers expectations and I am pleased to learn on this occasion we were successful. I hope that you will be back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend in early October with a toddler & a baby.
We thought the absolute best thing about this hotel was the staff. Everyone, without exception, were friendly, helpful, polite... An absolute pleasure. A real credit to the hotel.
The restaurant was great, nice food & comfortable. Good service, loved it.
We enjoyed some time in the pool which I thought was lovely. Kids loved it.
Overall I think this hotel is really close to being great & we did have a good stay.
The only reason I felt I could not rate it higher than 3 overall was a few things pon the facilities front.

Firstly no lift. With lots of luggage for young children plus a pram to have to keep carrying up & down flights of stairs it was a noticeable absence.
Secondly was our room. We booked a suite to have the extra room for children.
The size of the 'lounge' area of the suite was fantastic. Really big & spacious with two sofa beds that make 2 (small) double beds. Brilliant for children.
However, the rooms we had were just a little tired. I don't think they can have been part of the refurb? Furniture a little bit dated and a bit bland.
And it was just the finishing touches... There was a dead bug on the window sill that looked like it had been there a while & if you lifted up the pillows the sheets didn't reach to the top of the bed & there was an inch or two of mattress on show. A damp patch around one of the legs of a radiator... None of it very drastic but just little things you notice.
Also, we do usually get a fridge in a suite which, with babies & toddlers, is so valuable and this is not offered here. But that said the staff were more than happy to store things for us in the main kitchen fridges. It would just have been nice to have this included in the rooms, there's certainly enough room in the lounge part of the suite.
That's all really, as I say overall we had a good stay & enjoyed our weekend. And I would return if for nothing else the space the suites offered - travelling with children - really was great. I just felt I couldn't rate it any higher when there were a few facilities missing to make it really really great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie79_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

I arranged to take my friend for her 40th birthday, after reading some of these reviews I was a little nervous, and as we approached the hotel I was terriffied because the area was not very nice my friend was convinced sat nav had got it wrong...at this point I began feeling ill! This is not the hotels fault and once we saw the hotel we felt much better.
It was a fantastic stay, we had wonderful meals,superb treatments in the spa, comfy room. Brill shower! all staff were great.
I do however agree the pool area could do with looking cleaner but hey I've just booked for 8 people to stay in December and can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicewifie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for leaving us this great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on a business trip. Location not ideal if you need to be close to town centre. Taxis are £10 one way. At first sight, room was large and comfortable. However soon found that it wasn't that great. Very hot although we turned heating down to minimum and windows only opened slightly. Faulty Toilet flush. Pool area fine but, yes, more like a leisure centre than spa.


Nice bar area. Ate at the bar twice, and food was good. The best thing about the hotel by far is its staff. Everyone very pleasant and welcoming, nothing too much trouble.

A good deep clean and attention to detail in rooms/pool area would make a world of difference. But this hotel is +fine for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwdihw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
I am sorry that you did not have a completely satisfactory stay with us. Thank you for leaving us your feedback, it is always helpful to receive fair and constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed for my birthday, ordering a bottle of Champagne for the room and it was suggested we have a 'suite' as our 11 year old son was also with us. The area isn't very nice but that isn't the hotels fault.

The hotel has freezing corridors and we had to plug a radiator into our room as it was so cold. The curtain track was plastic and collapsed when we drew the curtains and the sheets of our 2 beds pushed together were ripped in over 6 places. The bed was also itchy.The 'suite' consisted of a normal room with an adjoining large room with hardly any furniture and obviously just a spare room that hadn't been refurbished. My son found it scary.

Dinner was over priced and anything without chips was very small. Breakfast was very nice and the reception staff very good. The pool area needs a good clean.

We did complain and the Manager did adjust the bill but we felt at any price this was too much to pay for a hotel we just couldn't wait to leave. There were so many negatives that it was pointless trying to explain these to the Manager, we just wanted to get home.

Room Tip: Avoid unless you get a very very cheap deal and you literally just need a bed for the night and brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippincox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Hallmark Gloucester. I did think that we had addressed your concerns, please contact me directly again as we do not like our guests to have a negative lasting impression of us.

I am sorry that you found our corridors cold, it is new feedback for us and we will investigate.

We would have recommended a Suite as these are usually very popular with families, with a separate area for relaxing etc. Obviously we do have alternative rooms available and I do hope that we offered you a choice when you informed us of your disappointment.

Our Suites received a partial refurbishment in 2011, freshly decorated and with new TV, bathroom etc.

Our restaurant is designed to offer great produce and the best value in a very challenging 4 star market, this is a key focus for us at the hotel and we constantly monitor local prices to ensure we are more that competitive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Had a groupon offer of spa access + afternoon tea and had a great time.

Pro's:
- Staff were all lovely and helpful.
- large-ish free form pool with not 1 but 3 jacuzzi's with varying levels of power
- large jacuzzi really powerful and like having a massage
- Steam room and Sauna are fine
- scones were home made and totally delicious
- other sweets included in the afternoon tea which were also scrummy

Cons:
- changing area was basic (plastic chairs / baby change area was just a stained piece of Formica screwed to the wall in a cubicle with no straps to prevent baby from falling off).
- some of the afternoon tea sandwiches were dry and they didnt seem to be freshly made

We had a lovely afternoon. The pool and spa was relatively quiet, and the afternoon tea very welcome. Good price with the offer so overall we were very happy. Many thanks Hallmark Hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisap4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Thank you for the helpful and constructive review. I hope that you will think of us again when you are next in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.4 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
4.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Robinswood Lodge, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique Hallmark Hotel has a lot within its stylish contemporary walls. An awful lot. For starters there's the 95 rooms and suites, all clean modern design with a mix of bold colours and earth tones, richly patterned carpets and good beds. Then there's our acclaimed brasserie. The rather good team of chefs alchemizes fine seasonal ingredients into a menu embracing both classic British and European dishes and Moroccan specials. Small wonder it's a favourite of locals as well as guests. Naturally, you may well wish to burn as well as devour calories. You're in the right place. As well as glass-backed squash court and excellent gym with fitness kit, we've an inviting pool (and another for children), steam room and sauna, as well as a beauty treatments facilities where highly trained therapists work wonders for the body and soul, with everything from stress busting Swedish Massages to Detoxifying Body Wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing