We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swimming pool comment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Swimming pool comment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

The swimming pool and sauna facilities seem dated albeit a recent makeover was only to improve first impressions. I have never know a pool with such a variation in temperature and at the same time the depth of the pool can vary by almost a foot! Recent marketing material stated the pool has a lazy river and water jets however these have not worked for months and the water jets are only used to fill and/of top up the pool. When asked why the lazy river is never in operation the reply came "we are not insured to use it anymore" despite it being heavily marketed!

The changing rooms and hall are always freezing cold with a distinct lack of heating that only reminds me of the olden days in public swimming pools and not 2013 in a four star (yes that's right **** star) hotel. Given hallmarks size it seems they want everything to look pretty but the practicality of it all is nothing short of laughable. Oh and the windows have all been blacked out so you can't see the mess on the other side which used to be a beautiful golf driving range!

Get your wallet out hallmark and make some improvements!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeboatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
I do hope that you will contact me directly so that I can properly investigate your review, you can reach me directly at the hotel. Over the last two years we have spent money updishmenating some parts of our Health club and I welcome constructive feedback on where we should next concentrate, bearing in mind that a full refurbishment may not be realistic in the current economic climate.

Regards

Daniel Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    455
    333
    164
    94
See reviews for
215
677
29
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Myself and my partner decided on a little relaxation break away and through careful consideration chose this hotel. On arrival we were very impressed with the look and presentation of the hotel, it was spotless and the reception staff were warm, welcoming and polite. Check in was quick and easy and upon arriving at our room we were pleasantly surprised at how modern and relaxing it was.
The spa facilities were good although we felt the addition of robes and slippers for guests would of given it an added bonus.
The restaurant/staff was amazing and they should all be proud of themselves for the hard work and attention to detail they deliver every night.The food was of a high standard and our service was always served with a smile. Nothing seemed too much of a ask even when my partner requested if he could have a starter from the previous day's menu.
Breakfast was similar to dinner and although it was in a buffet style it was always replenished and seemed like there was more than enough for everybody.
Thank you Hallmark Gloucester for a lovely stay, and hopefully we will be back without hesitation very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_25458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review. We hope that you will be back to see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Booked as a last minute idea and very glad we did.

The staff were great on the phone when booking and this was matched upon arrival. The hotel was very clean, the room modern and what you would expect.

The package we had breakfasts, afternoon tea and evening meals here. The food (evening meal especially) exceeded expectation – having eaten in a number of hotel restaurants this was comparable to a restaurant in town and well priced given the quality. Afternoon tea does not disappoint either.

Our package included a spa treatment each and use of the facilities – (this was the main reason for booking) and again these were excellent. The treatments were not rushed or kept to a minimum. There are very helpful staff, in clean and well presented facilities.

As an aside note: two members of staff in particular really stood out, not just displaying very good service; but as we both agreed their customer service was above and beyond:
1) Theresa in the restaurant was delightful and attentive too; also remembering our choices from the day(s) before which was a lovely touch.
2) Steve in the Spa / leisure facility really shone, he was exceptionally helpful, friendly and very professional; nothing was too much trouble.
We will revisit here as the area is lovely but the hotel made the trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSL001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for the great feedback and your specific comments regarding the team. It is fantastic to learn that you had such a good stay and we look forward to seeing you with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OXFORD
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I visited this hotel with my children this weekend. We had a family room for the Saturday night and returned to Oxford on the Sunday. We were delighted to see that they offered us tickets for the Cotswold Wildlife Park. The room service was also of a good standard. We were however disappointed with the leisure facilities as we were hurried out of the swimming pool and the facilities were not of a very high standard. We were also very disappointed to have to pay for bottled water which should have been ordinarily placed in our room. This at least is what we would except from four star venues. Also, we had to wait for ages to check out and breakfast was also slow. The reception staff did at least have the courtesy to apologise just before we checked out so thanks for that!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenyantrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
I am sorry for any disappointment you experienced during your recent stay, please feel free to contact me directly so that I can investigate further. Kind Regards Daniel Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Thank you for a wonderful relaxing afternoon at the Hallmark Hotel Gloucester. It is many years since I have been to the Hotel, and what a shock I had. When entering the Reception Area. I was greeted by a friendly receptionist who asked if she could help us. On explaining that we were here for a Spa Afternoon and Tea, she directed us to the leisure/beauty club. When arriving at the Leisure Reception we were told that one of the therapists had rung in sick, and we might have to wait a few minutes, we were asked to take a chair which we did. After a short while we were relaxing on a couch having a back massage. The young lady explained that not one but two therapists had been ill that day, dispite this every thing was running smoothly.
When the treatment had finished we headed to the Bar for afternoon tea.We felt like royalty. After being asked if we wanted tea or coffee, it was quickly brought to us on a nicely presented tray, the cakes and sandwiches on a 3 tier cake stand, how nice to see that this is still being done in hotels.
We stayed in the bar for about an hour and several staff came and asked us if every thing was alright. The Leisure Manager introduced his self to us, asking if we had enjoyed ourselves. We really didn't want to go, but it was getting late and we had to go and get our husbands tea.
I will surely recommend this afternoon treat to my friends, as after a busy week what could be nicer than a relaxing break like this.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzyT291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great feedback. We hope that you will be back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

A clean hotel with friendly staff. Sue, in the restaurant, especially made us feel really welcome and was very patient with us. All the breakfast staff were exemplary. the rooms were cleaned well and changes accommodated promptly.The Suite especially was spacious and ideal for a family. I was initially overcharged for breakfast as booked online and discovered it was cheaper at the hotel itself, but the hotel has kindly arranged a refund.

Room Tip: I would recommend the suite for families. a large sitting area with 2 sofa beds and an additional TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VajahathR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for the balanced feedback, it is great that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Thank you for such a lovely and welcoming stay given to me and my wife. After a horrible drive through the snow we were greeted with a warm welcome and presented with fabulously spotless surroundings. I don't know if its recently be refurbished, but the whole hotel was presented incredibly well, far better than any I've stayed in recently. The room was comfortable and the food was great. Really couldn't have asked for more. Next time i'm down in that area of the country it will certainly be the first place i call to try and book a place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RikwS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
We do appreciate you taking the time to leave us this great feedback, I do hope that your party will be back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
4.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing