We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
swiondon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Top notch!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for a getaway for 1 night.
We stayed in the hotel suite (highly reccomended) and this included a 3 course meal,breakfast,massage and full use of the facilities.the only downside to this hotel is the pool can be quite busy with kids,as its a leisure club not a spa..although we have a child so this didnt really bother us..the service was excellant!the dinner was fantastic and the breakfast we even better.we both thoroughly enjoyed the massage.you get taken to a small room,with lights dimmed and the sound of water falling.perfect setting!we will definately be returning here in the future.all for the price of £188 for both of us!would definately reccomend!thanks for a great night & stay.look forward to seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great feedback, we sincerely hope to see you back with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    474
    339
    167
    98
See reviews for
223
697
31
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

stayed at he hallmark as dinner bed and breakfast and had a wonderful stay - thankyou to the waitress Nikki and Alina for making our meal amazing!

I highly recommend this to anyone as the service is 4* quality like you would expect it to be of the hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josiexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review, it is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will be back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for the weekend on a spa break package! What can I say we were chuffed with everything! Massive clean room! The food by far was exceptional! Place very tidy n clean! Staff ultra friendly! If you don't want to eat in the hotel there is food served across he road at the ski resort and for the cheap prices we were impressed!

Spa lovely!

One thing we didn't like was the lack of a duvet! ( home comforts ) we missed! But overall we were extremely happy n would defi return!

Don't listen to the negatives!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbles18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your positive and constructive feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hallmark Gloucester very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just enjoyed a one night stopover at the Hallmark Hotel in Gloucester and wasn't sure what to expect. It was really impressive. Clearly a commercial hotel midweek, our Friday night stay was very relaxing. The staff were really friendly and the atmosphere very calm despite them being busy. The whole hotel appears very smart and recently refurbished with good quality evident in all aspects.

Had bar food and club sandwich and burger were really good. Especially like the fries served in the mini chip pan holder on the wooden slabs.

After a restful night, came down for breakfast and had a really nicely cooked hot breakfast. Didn't try the health club but will do when we next return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majestic_Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and your fantastic review. It was a pleasure to look after your family and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I don't know where to start really, awful place!
We arrived to a miserable, rude and extremely unhelpful receptionist, not what you expect from a supposed 4* hotel! Told where our room was and where to go for our back massages, treatments were ok cut down by 10 mins though by the time we were taken in and then the therapist left us for a good 5-10 mins to get change, I'm a beauty therapist and we certainly do not leave clients this long, therapist asked if I wanted a light. Medium or firm pressure I said firm and certainly didn't get this it was more a rub so I'd hate to see what the light pressure felt like! Massage oil isn't warmed and no hot towel used to remove oil at the end of treatment, then just shown out no water being offered, so not impressed,
We then went swimming, well what can I say about the local swimming pool changing rooms other than disgusting, you then have to walk through a reception to the pool in your costume(not nice) no robes or slippers offered just a towel, swimming pool is cold and small and full of kids so we spent 30 mins in there at the most, the lazy river wasn't on even though its advertised on the website and the spa site I booked through! We went here for a relaxing weekend away for the one time we had a babysitter for our children. So we wanted a nice spa to relax in and a early night, we went bed early and children kept knocking on our door and running away! 5 times this happened and I rang reception twice to be told they would sort it, obviously it was sorted to late! Room was also freezing cold, no quilt on bed just blankets and no spare blankets so my fiancé had to fold his half on me as I was so cold, breakfast the next morning was ok, afternoon tea was nice, evening meal that night was good apart from the desert we asked for sticky toffee pudding and got spotted dick! The waitress tried to tell us that they use raisins in their sticky toffee pudding but they had obviously ran out and made up an excuse as we saw people earlier in the evening with the right pudding! Plates were left empty for ages despite waitresses looking at them, also asked for a jug of water and this never came, not 4* service at all, then to top it off we went back to our room and we were in a room under a wedding reception! The disco was so noisy and went on until 1am the whole point of us getting away was to chill but no chance of this, again we rang reception and were told they had asked the dj to turn music down. Never happened, then told we could move rooms, why the hell can they not book wedding guests in rooms under the wedding and everyone else away from it this is comin sense? We didn't move as didn't want to pack up at 12 at night!
All in all a totally horrible experience and went away more tired than I started, this hotel should not be advertised on spa sites and certainly isn't a 4* star
I would not recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_nuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Very disappointed to learn that your visit was not as great as it should have been. I do hope you will take the opportunity to contact me directly at the hotel so that I can investigate your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

The swimming pool and sauna facilities seem dated albeit a recent makeover was only to improve first impressions. I have never know a pool with such a variation in temperature and at the same time the depth of the pool can vary by almost a foot! Recent marketing material stated the pool has a lazy river and water jets however these have not worked for months and the water jets are only used to fill and/of top up the pool. When asked why the lazy river is never in operation the reply came "we are not insured to use it anymore" despite it being heavily marketed!

The changing rooms and hall are always freezing cold with a distinct lack of heating that only reminds me of the olden days in public swimming pools and not 2013 in a four star (yes that's right **** star) hotel. Given hallmarks size it seems they want everything to look pretty but the practicality of it all is nothing short of laughable. Oh and the windows have all been blacked out so you can't see the mess on the other side which used to be a beautiful golf driving range!

Get your wallet out hallmark and make some improvements!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeboatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
I do hope that you will contact me directly so that I can properly investigate your review, you can reach me directly at the hotel. Over the last two years we have spent money updishmenating some parts of our Health club and I welcome constructive feedback on where we should next concentrate, bearing in mind that a full refurbishment may not be realistic in the current economic climate.

Regards

Daniel Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Myself and my partner decided on a little relaxation break away and through careful consideration chose this hotel. On arrival we were very impressed with the look and presentation of the hotel, it was spotless and the reception staff were warm, welcoming and polite. Check in was quick and easy and upon arriving at our room we were pleasantly surprised at how modern and relaxing it was.
The spa facilities were good although we felt the addition of robes and slippers for guests would of given it an added bonus.
The restaurant/staff was amazing and they should all be proud of themselves for the hard work and attention to detail they deliver every night.The food was of a high standard and our service was always served with a smile. Nothing seemed too much of a ask even when my partner requested if he could have a starter from the previous day's menu.
Breakfast was similar to dinner and although it was in a buffet style it was always replenished and seemed like there was more than enough for everybody.
Thank you Hallmark Gloucester for a lovely stay, and hopefully we will be back without hesitation very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_25458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review. We hope that you will be back to see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
793 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing