We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spa Day”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We visited the spa facilities to enjoy a spa day bought through Groupon. We did not visit the hotel or stay the night so this opinion only reflects our experience in the spa! We thought we were going to enjoy a day of peace and relaxation in spa surroundings but were bitterly disappointed. It was everything a spa is not, more of a tired and somewhat unclean public swimming pool with sun loungers around the outside. It was busy, noisy, a baby swimming class was being held at the time of our visit. The visit included afternoon tea and this was the best part of our day, nicely presented food, unfortunately tainted by rude and unfriendly staff. We also waited a long time for our afternoon tea to arrive. The pool area and changing rooms were very rundown and basic, pump action showers which reminded us of a campsite! The pool looked so unclean that we didn't even swim! A very disappointing day!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
I am very sorry that you had such a disappointing visit, I hope you will contact me directly at the hotel so that I can assist you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    455
    333
    164
    95
See reviews for
215
678
29
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

In no part of the hotels description was there evidence that there are no lifts - fine if the hotel is on the level - but this one is definitely not! My partner, a seasoned traveler, is unable to walk distances and especially not up and down flights of stairs. We have not previously experienced anything quite like this. There are stairs to the front entrance from the car park (although there is a narrow ramp to drive down and you are in danger of running down the smokers assembled outside the front door). Our experience here was dreadful. The first room we were shown to was occupied already - after quite a long trek from reception - probably 6 or 7 sets of stairs and through several sets of doors (with luggage!) We tried another equally far away in the opposite direction but again up several flights of stairs. Our third room (now having almost lost the will to live....) was small, dingy, (the bathroom had no window or extractor) and overlooked the dustbin and rubbish collection areas. This was a fairly busy area, we found! Usually we could get a couple of hours sleep in a row but that was about all. Staff cheerily greeted each other from about 5.30 in the morning. The room was never serviced throughout our stay, the bed was uncomfortable to say the least and the duvet was a hard, polyester version with pillows even harder. The curtains were filthy and the paint peeling off the walls in places. There were a few other points hardly worth mentioning after this lot. We were told there were no other rooms. After having experienced the room we finally had we came to the conclusion that it should not have been let as a guest room at all. No this was not the relaxing stay we had hoped and in fact had had quite enough after two days and checked out. We did get a slight reduction which really was pitiful in the circumstances. Never again! Reception staff and management were aware of our problems and NEVER once did the manager make any attempt to appear or try to talk with us. 4 stars??? no way!

We would however,have to say that there were two staff members in the breakfast/dinner/bar areas who were particularly good and tried very hard to ensure that at least in their areas we were made to feel welcome and as if the hotel wanted guests! They were Sue and Karina. Well done girls - perhaps you should take over from the management!

Room Tip: find another place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VERONICA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
I am sorry that you had such a disappointing visit. Of course I am more than happy to discuss your experience as is the Operations Manager who I thought you had talked to during your recent visit, apologies if this is not the case. It is such a shame that your experience was disappointing after all the positive responses we got from members of the party who visited us this weekend. I am pleased that Karina the Food Services Manager and Sue, F&B Supervisor, both looked after you well during your stay, they are indeed valued members of our management team. We are classed as a four star hotel following a yearly unannounced audit that is completed by the AA, this is the only standard that we can practically work with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Fantastic, lovely room, bathroom, and overall sleeping arrangements.

Gym is well equipped with free entry if B&B is bought, I had a bar meal which although expensive is very nice. Breakfast is equally as good.

Only downside for me was location, it was a windy little lane to get to from Junction 12, but was hugely worth it for the countryside feel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syep2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review, I hope that you will be back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Arrived at the hotel and check in was nice and quick, reception staff very nice and polite.
The room was a nice size with a lovely comfy double bed mmm:-)
Dinner was amazing, service was brilliant, a big thank you to the waitress Nikki and Jake for making our night brilliant:)

I'd definitely recommend this hotel as its such a delight and all the staff are lovely.
Will certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Gloucester again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Remember to take your own towel/robe or you will be charged £5.

We had a Groupon afternoon tea voucher which was good, because I would have been upset if we had paid full price to use the spa.
Certainly very basic. Severe shortage on nice loungers around the pool, we had to wait for an hr for two to become vacant, there are only about 14 loungers so certainly not enough, but possibly all they can fit into the small area that there is.
I never saw a pool attendant, if I had I would have suggested removing all the towels and clutter that a group of women had left on the loungers and then gone off for what turned out to be nearly 2 hours in the end oh and yes they were all English.

The pool is small and was all in need of an update, not our type of place to relax for a day, we actually only spent four hours there in the end.
The afternoon tea was nice. Only problem with the afternoon tea was a 30 min wait which the waitress apologised for and they don't do decaf of any kind, so I had to go to my car to get my own tea bags.
The kitchen door and glass was filthy handmarks all over it, surely cleaning a door that everyone is using is a must.
We had previously thought of booking a room for the night, but we were pleased that we had not as I feel the rooms are over priced for the facilities offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 755patriciaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
I am sorry that we were not to your expectations, we have no plans for a full refurbishment of our Health suite as we believe it is a good facility. I hope you find what you are looking for in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our rambling club comprising 47 people, stayed here for 6 nights. Really, the hotel is best suited for guest stays of 1 or 2 nights, with limited wardrobe space for those requiring more storeage. Although we were in the newly renovated block, it was surprising that bathrooms were not equipped with shaver points, and the spotlights in the bedrooms gave only very basic illumination. Our group were on a restricted menu option, and found the breakfast good, with a somewhat basic but edible choice of main course dinner. The staff were generally excellent, especially the waiting staff. The hotel is in a quiet location near a council housing estate and a dry ski run. Overall, our group enjoyed their stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the renovated wing are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0bJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your balanced review. 90% of our bedrooms have been renovated over the last 4 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Groupon voucher for afternoon tea with spa access with pre-booked massage was wonderful. Booked 2 twin rooms for the night and upon arrival got upgraded to suites. The rooms were great including villerory and boch tea/coffee china and spa products in the bathroom. Amazed that the DB&B rate included the full menu rather than table d'ote. I had warm hoi sin duck bean sprout salad followed by slow cooked lamb and fat chips with mint gravy - the presentation was astounding. We were a little too full to fit in our puds but upon enquiring we were able to take them back to our room(s) for later. Breakfast was equally great. The hotel itself from the exterior and surrounding area is not pretty but don't let that put you off -inside is totally different. Nb the spa charge £5 for robe and towel hire so take your own and flip flops if desired

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear7814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for the generous feedback. It is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Hallmark Gloucester very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
4.7 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Address: Marlstone Close | Robinswood Hill, Gloucester GL4 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gloucester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Gloucester 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Gloucester is perfectly located for explorers or business meetings, just 5 minutes drive away from the M5 and a short taxi journey from Gloucester train station. Within walking distance of Gloucester Golf Club and Gloucester ski and snowboard centre. The hotel has 95 bedrooms including 6 family rooms. Why not enjoy a delicious meal in the brasserie or relax within the bar and lounge. Unwind in the health club with a swimming pool, children’s pool, squash court and beauty treatment area. If you are here for business, we have meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel also has a Civil Ceremony licence and a versatile wedding suite for up to 200 guests. Plenty of onsite parking and free Wi-Fi awaits. Plus, BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gloucester Hotel Country
Gloucester Ramada
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing